Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,592 ratings
4,202 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

PP
Apr 24, 2020

She teaching very well! Easy to understand, her accent is very clear to understand, lesson is very useful to and might can use it for real. Thank you for lovely teaching and lovely lesson\n\nThank you

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

Filter by:

3751 - 3775 of 4,155 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Tuyền H T

Apr 29, 2020

It's really a course for beginners, easy to understand and slow enough to practise speaking on your own.

By Irene

Nov 22, 2020

Explanation is clear with some explanations. Minor mistakes in the tests should be improved. Thank you.

By Jose A M B

Jul 23, 2020

The whole content and examples are really good for a zero knowledgeable person. I totally recommend it.

By Samridhi J

Nov 24, 2019

The way of teaching Chinese is commendable. Looking forward to see some Chinese people soon.😊

Xièxie!!!

By Fung Y L

Mar 7, 2021

It can be add more week because useful in tourist and learning Chinese skill. It is too easy to learn

By Venus C P G

Jul 20, 2020

I wish we I had learned more about grammar. The teacher was awesome, i liked so much her explanations

By Robin P

Apr 10, 2021

The content is easy to understand and it is a great way to get acquainted with the Chinese language!

By Tomas P

Oct 17, 2020

Very educattive, the lessons were complete, well-explained and I had a good time learning. Thank you

By ARIEL R B S

Aug 21, 2020

Me gustó, bastante bonito, aunque aveces pecó de monótono,pero en términos generales no estuvo mal.

By Sajid M

Apr 15, 2020

It was a wonderful experience and I enjoyed so much and will be use this language in my local life.

By Germán A Q

Jan 19, 2018

Muy bueno el curso , pero la traduccion en subtitulos español no estarian bien. Habria que revisar.

By Mauricio G

Sep 17, 2017

Very interesting, a little bit more difficult quizzes would be nice but i really liked this course

By Marcel

Jan 6, 2018

Great examples and also not to hard to learn so i managed it to successfully solve this course :)

By Nell R

Nov 5, 2015

It was fun, and a nice refresher for me as it has been nearly a decade since I spoke in Chinese.

By Elizabeth N C

Jun 16, 2020

the only thing confusing is giving addresses but I would also have added the chinese characters

By Pitchaya C

Apr 27, 2020

I have gained the knowledge so much. It's very useful for beginner both words and pronunciation

By Samuel K

Mar 4, 2017

This course is very useful for beginners without any knowledge of Chinese language and culture.

By Erik H

May 22, 2016

Really good course. But you need to study hard, because not everything is written on the board.

By Victoria

Feb 26, 2016

Курс хороший. Но жалко, что совсем не говорят об иероглифах и о том, как их собственно понимать

By valentine g

Feb 23, 2017

Pour commencer le chinois à l'oral ce cours est un très bon début et se révèle assez complet.

By Jantima N

May 6, 2020

I have reciewed the basic Chineses language used to study and get more vocabulary. Thank you

By Nino C

Aug 4, 2017

Very helpful! Added more motivation to my studying such a rich language! Thanks to teacher!

By John W S A

Oct 2, 2020

Very helpful for beginners. Might be good to learn some chinese characters from the start.

By Vivian

May 8, 2020

It's great, I hope there's another level or more advanced level for this course. Thank you

By Patrick M

Jul 9, 2020

The quizzes are a bit boring and not very creative. The teacher and the videos are good.