Chevron Left
Back to Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese for Beginners by Peking University

4.8
stars
14,727 ratings
4,237 reviews

About the Course

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people who are interested in Chinese culture and language. And it is useful to know about the language when coming to China for travel or business. This is an ABC Chinese course for beginners, including introduction of phonetics and daily expressions. After taking this class, learners can have a basic understanding of Chinese Mandarin and make basic conversations of daily living such as exchanging personal information, talking about daily arrangements and food, asking about price, introducing the city and the weather, telling your hobbies etc. Selected topics and situations come from real life scenarios and can be used for everyday communications. In addition to the dialogues, the selection of reading materials and practice activities will make the content as rich and varied as possible, in order to stimulate the learners’ interests. This is an elementary course on Chinese speaking. The learners don’t need to study Chinese characters, so it is easier to follow and complete this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jun 16, 2020

Awesome experience it was a comprehensive and informative course. I learnt alot. Thank you coursera for providing us such a nice and global platform to enhance skills and knowlegde by sitting at home.

SS
Sep 16, 2016

Thanks for this course. I like it and this language really so necessary for me and my job. My company in New Zealand - ESKA Ltd (www.eskaltd.co.nz, eskaltd.com) and we are work with aliens from China.

Filter by:

4101 - 4125 of 4,188 Reviews for Chinese for Beginners

By Rylissa-Amor T

Sep 8, 2020

The course was very educational and interesting but in my opinion the tutor spoke too quickly in some of the videos.

By Laura

Apr 30, 2017

It would be even more interesting if the chinese caracters were written with the Pinyin (and not just the pinyin).

By M N H

Nov 29, 2020

It would be better if she can explain the words more. Because just listening can't help us to say exact like her.

By hselgaynyein

Jul 7, 2020

clear to understand as its well structured of explanation and its very useful for the starter of learning pinyin.

By Jerônimo J

Mar 16, 2016

I had loved this course, because they teach you a lot of in Chinese and we can improve your language cultural.

By 森村洋行

Dec 24, 2020

漢字が分かる日本人にとっては少し物足りないかもしれません。しかし、ピンインからしっかりと学びたい方にはお勧めです。特に、各テストではリスニング(単語)がメインなので、中国語の発音をもう一度復習するいい機会になりました。

By MD. A - A

May 5, 2020

Although Mandarin is hard enough to learn but the instructor make it easy by her effective communication.

By Beth W

Jun 7, 2017

Good range of topics, but very little practice materials given, and the instructer is unnaturally formal.

By Gayle C

Oct 31, 2017

Good as a refresher for people with some Chinese already but not thorough enough for a complete beginner

By Ro

Mar 15, 2020

It would be great If there were a two way contact with the teacher to get corrections on pronunciation.

By Migiwa R

May 28, 2020

It only gives few vocabularies. Chinese characters aren’t shown so you only get to hear pingying.

By Serena G

May 28, 2020

Nice for who wants to learn basic expressions, however no ideograms and grammar rules explained

By Marisa J

Oct 29, 2020

This course is easy to follow. However enough time is not spent focusing on pronunciation.

By KLB

Mar 29, 2021

Very high level class. An introduction. Not sufficient to get the basics nor HSK1.

By NIDHISH V S

Aug 4, 2020

should have vocablary and sentence forming first than going directly into sentence

By Laura D M

Oct 16, 2020

Me decepcionó un poco que sólo sea de pronunciación y no haya nada de escritura.

By Penny M

Sep 29, 2015

I´ve missed Chinese hanzi.

But apart from that the course and tests are all good.

By el g c

Mar 6, 2016

I think, for beginners, it's a good job but the quiz is really hard to use !!

By Khaliunaa E

Aug 13, 2019

it is very good but i dont understand why they dont teach the writing hanzi

By Hannah J

Jul 28, 2020

Covers a lot of basic topics, didn't learn a lot of characters though.

By Laura S

Feb 28, 2021

I think that wuold be usefull also introduce the writing scheme

By john c

Jul 24, 2020

please do a quality check on the couse. I found some errors!

By Ramasubramanian

Aug 4, 2019

It has to be more intensive about pronunciation.

By Diana L

Aug 3, 2020

Hizo falta que se incluyan los caracteres chino