Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
34,363 ratings
8,801 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 8,774 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Joanne F M

Apr 9, 2020

I have learned a lot. I gained much confidence in speaking and making simple sentences that I can use in interacting with my Korean friends and other Korean language learners. The modules are well-organized especially the way Professor Seung Hae Kang explained each lesson made it easy to learn and understand. Thank you so much Professor for the wonderful learning experience you taught us.

By Cheng-Yin T

May 28, 2017

the lessons are designed well for a beginner. It build up my confidence to recognize the Korean alphabets through the dialogs. Meanwhile, repeating the form of the sentences get used to speak Korean for learners. Daily life conversations sometimes matched with Korean dramas I watched. With clear and slower speaking speed I can understand the sentence easily. I like this course very much.

By PRAVISHA P

Jun 21, 2021

I'm really interested in learning languages.So I've chosen korean to learn and I got really a very good experience and knowledge about korean language. The Instructor explains every term and words very clearly and explains them in a easy manner to understand them properly. I really enjoyed and learned a lot while learning this course. It will surely help for our future career. Thank you.

By Ignacio S L

Nov 27, 2020

It was a very good course. I never tried to learn korean before, so everything was new to me. But, thanks to this excellent teacher and the very clear way the lessons were explained, all the information was easy to understand.

Thanks to this course, I would like to keep learning korean and I hope, that maybe Coursera, will bring to us a new korean course, like "a second part" of this one.

By Ихсанова А С

Jul 12, 2020

Those 2.5 weeks passed by so quickly and I am more than satisfied with the results. First lessons were very welcoming, therefore easy to follow. I did not have any knowledge of Korean at the beginning, but now I am considering to look up for some more courses and materials. I really got used to the lady in the videos, and both her English and Korean speech were comprehensible. Thank you!

By Cecilia R

Jun 28, 2020

It is a really well organized course, I really enjoyed it, I know Japanese and ,definitely, that helped me to understand better. I should say I will need to practice more to reinforce, mostly , writing, If you could also add a section on how to write Korean in pc would be great! Thank you very much, (I can't write in Korean because I don't have Koren keyboard added yet) ¡Gracias! ;)

By Maryann X

Jun 6, 2020

This is a great introduction to the Korean language for beginners! Speaking, reading, and writing are equally stressed and Professor Seung Hae Kang delivers her lectures in a very clear and organized style that is easy to follow. I would highly recommend taking this course if you're at all interested in Korean because it really helps set the basic foundations for learning the language.

By Tonatiuh B

Nov 3, 2016

This course is excellent for beginners interested in Korean Language. The course teaches in a clear and concise manner. It relies on the student to take extra time working on pronunciation outside of the "study time" suggested by the course. Withing the first two weeks i was able to read korean words with fairly high accuracy! thank you First Step Korea for making such a great program!

By Astrid H F

Aug 31, 2020

A great approach to learning korean if you already know the basics of Hangul. Eventhough the vocabulary is not presented in a specific order, or at least it could be better suited for each week's lessons, it is very useful. I assume this course would be a better help to foreigners already living in Korea, rather than students trying to learn korean abroad. Overall, a great experience!

By David A L

Jul 30, 2020

Por lo general, las personas hispanoparlantes adquieren cierto temor a aprender idiomas asiáticos, esto debido a que se nos hace confuso el hecho de aprender y comprender un nuevo alfabeto ajeno a nuestra zona de confort. Mas sin embargo, este curso tiene un manejo y enseñanza de tal tema el cual hace más amena, fácil e inclusive divertida la asimilación y empleo del alfabeto hangeul.

By Sian

Dec 20, 2020

감사합니다 저는 너무 행복하다. 정말로!!! I used to feel so intimated by it all, but this course has truly made me feel a lot more at ease. When I used to practice with a book I ordered over the internet I used to give up due to the sheer confusion and a (slight) lack of motivation and a lot of procrastination.

하지만 this course was a wonderful discovery and I would recommend it to ANYONE.

감사합니다, 교수님.

By Adriana M

Aug 28, 2020

I really liked the course and it gave me a lot more motivation to continue studying Korean on my own! Also, it helped me overcome the initial doubt of “I can’t do it” because studying a new language can sometimes be overwhelming so I would definitely recommend this course to people thinking of studying Korean! Professor Kang nicely explained everything and her lectures weren’t boring

By Nick O

May 25, 2020

Incredible course. The pace is perfect and Kang선생님 is an intuitive, thorough instructor. Starting with no experience in Korean language I feel that I have a great beginner's knowledge now and am ecstatic to pursue it past this course. I wish there was a followup, I would take another class with Kang선생님 in a heartbeat. If you're interested in Korean, even with absolutely no background

By lingeo

May 4, 2017

it is very good for the Korean language beginner. the teacher not only tells us the right pronunciation but also shows the rule of pronunciation. you can find it very easy to learn Korean language if you know the rule or the grammar of the Korean. BTW, it will be better that the course's content can include the difference between the formal Korean language and the informal language.

By Talitha F F

Jul 15, 2020

Thank you, Mrs. Seung Hae Kang for the thorough explanation! Her explanation is pretty easy to understand for a beginner like me. I recommend you who wants to learn Korean to enroll in this course since it's very helpful. I learn from zero where I have no idea how to read or write hangeul and to finally finished the course with so many insights and knowledge about Korean. 고맙습니다 선생님!

By Marllon L

Oct 28, 2017

Excellent course that is helping me a lot to learn korean on the correct way.

I'm really happy to have a chance of making a course from Yonsei University. I'm just bit sad that i cant pay for the certificate and maybe help them to develop more courses but as soon thaat i get a job, i will surely buy it :)

Recommend that course to everyone who wants to have a good first step in korean

By Francesca S

Jun 6, 2021

I really want to say that this is a great course to learn korean, it was difficult for me since i have school at the same time and it is very demanding, but i was able to find space to give my self the time to learn. Now i will practice what i have learn and probably at the end of the year i will start the second course of korean. Thanks u coursera so much for this amazing course!

By Tracy T

Jul 9, 2020

This course was very informative and useful, through allowing students to learn by practicing their reading, writing, listening, and speaking skills! I really enjoyed how each lesson introduced new vocabulary and cultural insights as well! This course is very well-rounded, and I believe that is what ultimately makes it engaging and something students look forward to keep studying!

By Surabhi S

Aug 2, 2019

I've been learning Hanguel from various online sources but the way it's being taught here on Coursera through Yonsei University is very refreshing, engaging and easy to understand. Thankyou to Professor Kang Seung Hae for the lectures, it felt like I'm attending real classes. I hope Yonsei University comes out with more such courses at Advance Levels. Thankyou, great work Coursera

By Mir K

May 23, 2021

Realmente he aprendido mucho de este curso. Este tiene las herramientas necesarias para entender bien cada lección, ahora siento que puedo comunicarme mejor en el idioma, pero aun así seguiré practicando lo que he aprendido para mejorar mi nivel de principiante. ¡Estoy muy agradecido de que exista este curso completo! y estoy muy feliz de dar el siguiente paso en coreano. 감사 합니다!

By Geovana G H

Jul 2, 2020

Este curso me pareció muy bueno, a pesar de ser en línea la profesora Seung Hae Kang explica muy bien, y le entiendes a todo. En este momento me siento feliz porque aprendí mucho vocabulario muy útil como para tener una conversación pequeña con una persona que hable Coreano. En verdad le agradezco a la Universidad Yonsei por proporcionarnos este curso completo de manera gratuita.

By MANISH L

Jun 1, 2020

Had a really interesting learning experience with the course and the instructor seung hae kang, And i feel that a pattern should be designed to remember the verbs, nouns and vocubulary. i genuinely thank the Yonsei University and Coursera for making this possible for us. Looking forward to coursera and the university to continue making the other levels of this course accessible.

By Zinny A

Apr 17, 2020

This course really good for who begin to study Korean starting from basic in Korean to can speak normal conversation such as How to talk about youeself and your family, Times and Date when you say to someone for make appoinment, Number in Korean and how to use in the each situations, Grammar in basic and Pronunciation likes Korean people speak this course really good I recommend

By Kunjira S

May 21, 2020

It was one of a nice classes that I've ever learned before. This is my first class Korean but I think it is a great starting with Yonsei University. Thank you "Seung Hae Kang" teacher you made this class full of happiness and everything you taught it's easy to understand even I am Thai people but I understood your description. I'm so thankful for free class by Yonsei University.

By Brenda A S M

Sep 28, 2018

I just want to say 고맙습니다 you helped me A LOT with this course when I started I didn't knew anything and my pronnuntiation was very bad, thank you for giving me the oportunity to learn this beautiful language (nobody teaches korean in my city) and I have a lot of grateful things to say, keep teaching korean to foreign people and keep spreading this beautiful culture to the world.