Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.8
stars
6,491 ratings
1,890 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD

May 02, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

CS

Jan 07, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,863 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Nat W

Apr 26, 2018

Great and helpful course. Easy to understand even for non-native English speakers. Recommended if you are new to this language but require a bit more practice after lesson.

By Monie

Feb 12, 2018

Very good for starting from zero! I recommend writing everything you see on screen in terms of vocab and scripts, the writing practice helps with retention and readability.

By Yuxuan C

Sep 15, 2017

I found the way the professor taught the course materials was very effective. She taught so many useful words that are useful in daily conversations. Love this class a lot!

By gabrielle

Nov 19, 2017

This course has been extremely helpful in aiding me for my embassy examination for Korean Stage 1. Very informative and the lecturer is experienced and great in teaching !

By Maria L C

Aug 02, 2017

Um curso muito muito bom. O comecei sem ter conhecimento algum de hangul ou coreano e o terminei sabendo ler hangul e conhecendo várias frases e palavras. Recomendo muito.

By Erika J B C

Jul 21, 2017

Muy bueno el curso lo unico es que al final en la semana 4 y 5 no hay subtitulos en español, lo cual hace que el curso se complique, ya que yo entiendo el ingles muy bien.

By Viktoriya S U

Mar 11, 2018

The materials were easy to get a grasp on and the way 해강씨 (I hope I spelled it correctly) taught was understandable and interesting. An overall extremely helpful course.

By Truong V T S

Jul 17, 2017

This course is the solid first-step to learn Korean for everyone. I will recommend my friends who want to learn Korean should enroll this course to start to learn Korean.

By Wendy S P

Mar 03, 2019

Hola:

Te cuento que aunque ya había tomado un curso, esto ha venido ha reafirmar mis conocimientos y disipar dudas anteriores. Lo recomiendo ampliamente. Mucho éxito.!!

By Xin Q

Oct 02, 2016

The lecturer was so instructive, and has shown her passion in teaching Korean language to Foreigners. 정말 감사합니다!

Cannot wait to see Second Step Korean ready on Coursera!

By Rachel L

Sep 30, 2016

This was a good introduction to 한글 (Hangul) and 한국어 (Korean). I believe that it prepared me well for Learn to Speak Korean 1 and I started that course with confidence.

By Jean G

May 09, 2016

Very well done as introductory course, easy to follow and detailed in the explanations. Helpful for whom wants to get closer to the Korean language for the first time.

By HARISH S

Aug 20, 2019

Good for a basic introduction to Korean. But unless this is followed up with part 2 consisting of tenses, grammar and more it hardly scratches the surface on its own.

By Elise P

Jun 15, 2018

This course is great for people who don't understand even the simplest words. I plan on moving to South Korea in a few years and this course has definitely helped me.

By Shihying L

Jul 31, 2017

It is a good course for Korean lovers to start with. There are several episodes per week and it takes only few minutes per episode. Every suitable for commuting time!

By Rafael H d M O

Mar 11, 2017

Excellent course and great teacher. She teaches very slowly and explains very well everything she says. In no time you can read and write korean in a passable way :-)

By Lakshmi p

Oct 22, 2019

It was so easy with understanding and good modules.i enjoyed learning and all the small

Graded quizes ..thankuu to yonsei university ..looking forwardformore modules.

By Mugdha M K

Apr 28, 2019

A very helpful course. all the assignments and tests make it interesting. the instructor is well skilled and helpful. a best way to learn basic Korean for beginners.

By Monika A L

Oct 26, 2017

Very helpfull and well organised. As foreigner for both: English and Korean I'm able to practice my skills and to improve my knowlege of Korean. Thank you Professor!

By Veronica T

Apr 17, 2017

I've learned a lot with this course, the teacher explained very well and I was able to understand everything, thanks for having spanish subtitles, it helped me a lot

By Pathomporn T

Mar 03, 2020

It’s a good course. I don’t have basic in Korean language but while I learn this course I watch Korean drama I understand a lot of they say. Thank you so very much.

By BrittanySmith

Aug 28, 2019

I am so happy i was able to find this course, I have been looking everywhere for one and i finally found one, Thank you Coursera, You have made my life a lot better

By Valentina B C

Nov 23, 2018

Excelente curso, se aprende y se pone en practico todo lo que se va viendo, es una lastima que tenga que pagar por el certificado, pero quitando eso, es excelente.

By Maria F I O

Feb 10, 2018

Aun no lo he finalizado, sin embargo, el material, la forma de explicar, es muy buena y gratificante. Mucho mas el hecho de que me enseñen esto de manera Gratuita.

By Andre O

May 22, 2017

Para aprender el básico es muy útil, si bien el audio es en Inglés se llega a entender todo a la perfección, no hace falta usar el traductor que viene en el curso.