Chevron Left
Back to Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark by IBM

3.9
stars
915 ratings
231 reviews

About the Course

This course will empower you with the skills to scale data science and machine learning (ML) tasks on Big Data sets using Apache Spark. Most real world machine learning work involves very large data sets that go beyond the CPU, memory and storage limitations of a single computer. Apache Spark is an open source framework that leverages cluster computing and distributed storage to process extremely large data sets in an efficient and cost effective manner. Therefore an applied knowledge of working with Apache Spark is a great asset and potential differentiator for a Machine Learning engineer. After completing this course, you will be able to: - gain a practical understanding of Apache Spark, and apply it to solve machine learning problems involving both small and big data - understand how parallel code is written, capable of running on thousands of CPUs. - make use of large scale compute clusters to apply machine learning algorithms on Petabytes of data using Apache SparkML Pipelines. - eliminate out-of-memory errors generated by traditional machine learning frameworks when data doesn’t fit in a computer's main memory - test thousands of different ML models in parallel to find the best performing one – a technique used by many successful Kagglers - (Optional) run SQL statements on very large data sets using Apache SparkSQL and the Apache Spark DataFrame API. Enrol now to learn the machine learning techniques for working with Big Data that have been successfully applied by companies like Alibaba, Apple, Amazon, Baidu, eBay, IBM, NASA, Samsung, SAP, TripAdvisor, Yahoo!, Zalando and many others. NOTE: You will practice running machine learning tasks hands-on on an Apache Spark cluster provided by IBM at no charge during the course which you can continue to use afterwards. Prerequisites: - basic python programming - basic machine learning (optional introduction videos are provided in this course as well) - basic SQL skills for optional content The following courses are recommended before taking this class (unless you already have the skills) https://www.coursera.org/learn/python-for-applied-data-science or similar https://www.coursera.org/learn/machine-learning-with-python or similar https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science for optional lectures...

Top reviews

CL

Dec 12, 2019

Really really REALLY enjoyed this course! The instructor does a masterful job of going from simple examples and building up complexity in a very logical and thorough way.

M

May 01, 2020

I like the example given and step by step tutorial given. The explanation of why things are the way they are designed certainly helped me understand the concept. Kudos.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 231 Reviews for Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark

By Chokdee S

May 04, 2020

Learning material is pretty good for getting started with Apache SparkML. Everyone who leaps into Scalable Machine Learning this is one of your choice

By Brandon S C

Feb 18, 2020

I found this course incredibly beneficial. Moving forward, I would like to see a bit more explanation of concepts and few extra workable examples.

By Stefan W

Jan 22, 2020

Course was nice and avoided peer-graded assignments (which I appreciate) but code was written in Python 2 which led to un-maintained code.

By Shahtab A K

Jul 26, 2020

In some videos, it shows one thing in the video and then there is a prompt to follow another one. It gets a little bit confusing there.

By Itamar A T

Mar 28, 2020

I found difficult to understand the concepts, for sure I must have to review the class.

Thanks for the dedication in helping us.

Itamar

By shashank s

Feb 23, 2020

for the last assignment we should have got the opportunity to code in the notebook instead of just running it and reporting results.

By Sarath C G K

Apr 16, 2020

He has good knowledge. Though his language is ok , He covered very important topics in very short span of time with high quality

By Alaso L K

Apr 04, 2020

Nice course with real details and opportunities to practice. We just need some more private study to cement skills learnt.

By Shanmukha S S Y

Apr 12, 2020

I felt the week 3 and 4 were rushed a bit. But everything else was well done. It was like a well defined "pipeline" : )

By Stephane A

May 01, 2020

Nice course. I really understand big data and how to manipulate data in data centers. I can use better Apache Spark.

By Paruhang K

Feb 02, 2020

Explanations could be a little more detailed. Felt like I was missing chunks of information while watching videos.

By yan l

Jun 18, 2020

very systematic way to learn ApacheSpark (esp pyspark). It would be helpful to include more hands on excercise

By Daxkumar J

Feb 21, 2020

This course gives you a basic idea behind the pyspark. If you are a beginner so this course for you.

By JOSE J M C

May 25, 2020

Instructor pronunciation is not the best for someone who are not usually listening explain so fast.

By Jochen G

Jan 15, 2020

Cool course with a slow paced start and then interesting examples to work with Apache Spark ML.

By YASH K

Jun 27, 2020

Overall its an excellent course but I think more programing exercise should be there.

By Zijie

May 21, 2020

It would be perfect if the coding showing screen could be more clear.

By Roberto M

Jun 16, 2020

Good course, but the instructor sometimes seems to be a little off.

By YERRAMOTHU G S

Apr 01, 2020

TRAINER IS GOING BIT FASTER BUT HAD FUN WITH THIS COURSE THANK YOU

By Vijander S

Apr 01, 2020

the programming environment is complex it should be explained

By Maurício C B

May 27, 2020

Precisa ser atualizado. Possui correções em alguns vídeos.

By Ilham R

Aug 02, 2020

this is a complicated course especially for beginners

By fulvio c

Jun 09, 2020

The lines of code provided are extremely valuable.

By Utkarsh B

Jan 16, 2020

There should be some more exercises for practice.

By Devarshi G

May 10, 2020

Would've loved if more practice tests were given