Chevron Left
Back to Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark by IBM

3.9
stars
977 ratings
246 reviews

About the Course

This course will empower you with the skills to scale data science and machine learning (ML) tasks on Big Data sets using Apache Spark. Most real world machine learning work involves very large data sets that go beyond the CPU, memory and storage limitations of a single computer. Apache Spark is an open source framework that leverages cluster computing and distributed storage to process extremely large data sets in an efficient and cost effective manner. Therefore an applied knowledge of working with Apache Spark is a great asset and potential differentiator for a Machine Learning engineer. After completing this course, you will be able to: - gain a practical understanding of Apache Spark, and apply it to solve machine learning problems involving both small and big data - understand how parallel code is written, capable of running on thousands of CPUs. - make use of large scale compute clusters to apply machine learning algorithms on Petabytes of data using Apache SparkML Pipelines. - eliminate out-of-memory errors generated by traditional machine learning frameworks when data doesn’t fit in a computer's main memory - test thousands of different ML models in parallel to find the best performing one – a technique used by many successful Kagglers - (Optional) run SQL statements on very large data sets using Apache SparkSQL and the Apache Spark DataFrame API. Enrol now to learn the machine learning techniques for working with Big Data that have been successfully applied by companies like Alibaba, Apple, Amazon, Baidu, eBay, IBM, NASA, Samsung, SAP, TripAdvisor, Yahoo!, Zalando and many others. NOTE: You will practice running machine learning tasks hands-on on an Apache Spark cluster provided by IBM at no charge during the course which you can continue to use afterwards. Prerequisites: - basic python programming - basic machine learning (optional introduction videos are provided in this course as well) - basic SQL skills for optional content The following courses are recommended before taking this class (unless you already have the skills) https://www.coursera.org/learn/python-for-applied-data-science or similar https://www.coursera.org/learn/machine-learning-with-python or similar https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science for optional lectures...

Top reviews

AC

Mar 26, 2020

Excellent course! All the explanations are quite clear, a lot of good quality information provided from amazing teacher. Additionally, response times for any question is very fast.

CL

Dec 12, 2019

Really really REALLY enjoyed this course! The instructor does a masterful job of going from simple examples and building up complexity in a very logical and thorough way.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 246 Reviews for Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark

By Harsh K

Apr 12, 2020

There is a lot of audio problem and content is also not updated.

By Branly F L

Feb 14, 2020

This course needs more spark towards the student.

Thanks.

By Victor B

Mar 22, 2020

Videos are not informative.

By kexin

Jan 01, 2020

A lot of errors in lecture.

By Kirivitige A S F

Apr 07, 2020

So many errors in the codes. Especially the ones the instructor is showing us in lecture (his files run on python 2.7 and i'm running on python 3.6- has not updated some programs to run on python 3.6 with spark 2.3). He doesn't specify which file at the beginning of the video, nor does he have a link to the sample code he is showing us, nor does he specify which file to insert a spark session and to where can we find that specific file in GitHub. It's a huge confusion for a person who has zero programming knowledge and It took me a lot of time to fix the errors in the codes to get back on the lecture. I am utterly disappointed with this section. Didn't have any issue with the last session of this course. I wasted a lot of time. I'm utterly disappointed with this course.

However I must appreciate his lecturing is excellent. I was able to fully understand the theoretical part he explained. I did however fail to quickly understand the programming aspect due to multiple errors in the code.

By Alistair K

Jun 04, 2020

In a word - Abysmal, the first indication of the quality of this course is the intro video which the lecturer filmed in his car!! Very unprofessional - he explains that he doesn't work from the office much, but surely he could put some effort in...

Things don't get better, a number of in-video quizzes simply offer 2 possible answers - "OK" and "OKOK", the majority of lectures are simply the lecturer typing code with little explanation.

And don't get me started on the quality of his code - possibly some of the messiest code I've ever seen, inconsistent style, massive blocks of empty lines....

If it wasn't for the fact I am doing the specialisation, then I wouldn't touch this course.

By Narasimhan, S

Aug 22, 2020

At the end of the course the only thing i could say is for a professional certification this course falls short of all parameters. Be it courseware, assignments, the way it was delivered etc were all too high level and didnt really make me enjoy it. The least i say about the instructor's english slang which was very difficult to understand and the coding part was too fast.

The big data methodology and its applications has some really good use cases which i think needs to be covered as part of the course and the course in itself has to be revamped at its best.

I reiterate for a professional certification this falls short and i was disappointed.

By Samuel K

Jan 20, 2020

This course has a lot of room for improvement (not to say plainly it's a waste of time). The video lectures are useless. They consist on the instructor coding some lines to show basic commands in Apache Spark. An introductory course on Apache Spark would be much more useful than this one. The basic stuff on regression and classification methods is really poor as well. The Quizzes and practice exercises only teach some basic Spark functionalities, which could be the only somewhat useful elements of the course. Avoid this unit if you can, I just took it because I enrolled in the AI Professional certificate on Data Engineering.

By Suman S

Apr 13, 2020

I don't even know, what I learned from the course. To me, its a waste of time because of the way it was arranged and presented, almost in a hurry. I am not confident in whatever, I learned from the course. I will look for a similar course to learn spark and would not recommend this course at all. I think people end up taking this course because it is included in the specialization. It is a horrible experience and complete waste of time and effort, if anyone takes my word.

By Gopal I

May 14, 2020

This was a poorly written course that did not explain much of the Spark fundamentals. It was really hard to understand the instructor's line of thought, added with bad instructions and poor resolution videos (tried changing video settings too). In addition although IBM Watson was supposed to be free somehow this ended up as a metered service (different from Course 1). Instructions again were not updated. This course needs a complete revamp.

By Leon B

May 15, 2020

Learn about the diffs between rel-databases, no-sql and blobs on disk. Learn (again!) what mean, stdev, median and kurtosis mean. Plotting with MatPlotLib, brought as the 1st world wonder.

Intro to Spark and your final challenge: execute a provided notebook and just copy-paste the results.

No need to think, just know how to apply CTRL-C & CTRL-V in the end.

Al in all, can be done on a rainy Sunday afternoon instead of 4 weeks.

By Alexander D

Mar 13, 2020

Don't take this course. It's poorly made, and should not be a part of this specialization unfortunately. I do like the subject matter, but the IBM cloud framework is a headache. I struggled with it and barely passed the final project because some cells wouldn't run.

I did do what I could to absorb the information by looking at the notebook and testing myself, but to be honest, I just wanted to get it over with.

By Mike A

Sep 18, 2020

Very disappointed with this course. The class seems like a walk through rather than a platform to actually learn anything of value. It's terribly designed and overall lacks a professional touch (I feel like there is better YouTube content). The professor is hard to understand and seems to want to show off more than actually teach. Wish they would overhaul this course. The final is an absolute joke.

By Timur U

Mar 29, 2020

The course - Scalable Machine Learning on Big Data using Apache Spark has too complicated instructions for Labs. This course should be more properly organized like another part of IBM Professional Certificate, Intermediate Level - Machine Learning with Python. I don't understand why this course was included to this certificate. I'm not motivated to continue this course.

By Alexander W

May 21, 2020

The course is a patchwork of incoherent and outdated videos, apparently mostly reused from other courses. Additionally most videos already contain retroactively added comments correcting, mistakes or outdated content. In my opinion it should be obvious that this course requires a complete makeover with updated videos.

By Jafar P

Jul 28, 2020

This course could be much better. It is not as clear and explained as the first one "Machine learning with Python". It would be good to keep the same way of explaining. It should be "easy" to understand for someone who has never studied AI before (which is the case for the first course).

By Tong J

Apr 22, 2020

Compare with the other course in this professional certificate, this course didn't provide clear information to people want to learn. I spend very tough time on this course comparing to the other courses, I just recommend someone make a better spark course to replace this one.

By Eric

Jan 20, 2020

The instructor breezed through course preparation and gave lectures from his car. Very easy course that doesn't challenge you or hold you to any standard of learning. One would be better off learning from YouTube and Apache Spark guides. Don't pay for this course!

By Irfan S

Jul 14, 2020

Worst course i have ever took in Coursera. I would request IBM to replace this junk course from IBM AI specialization. This course doesnt teach BigData and neither teach Apache Spark. Too some extent it covers Machine Learning.

By Enrico B

Aug 16, 2020

I am rather unsatisfied of the quality of this module. The pace is too fast and many things remain unclear even at the end of the class. Also I have found appalling that the trainer has broadcasted videos from his car.

By Ashutosh K

Apr 22, 2020

very very superficial, there is no way anyone can learn apache spark. I feel like I have wasted so much time but not learnt anything at all. Really disappointing stuff from coursera

By Li

Apr 20, 2020

Poor delivery of course material, even worse video.

Instruction on quiz and assignments confusing.

You may get a bit hands-on experience of Spark but you LEARN nothing substantial.

By Pierre-Antoine M

Apr 20, 2020

Started nice with the first two "weeks". But week 3 and 4 are jokes with little to no content and final project is just running a pre-existing notebook and reading results

By nauman s

Aug 04, 2020

HEY, TO BE HONEST, I DID NOT LIKE THE TEACHER DUE TO MANY REASONS: 1. HIS VAGUE ACCENT, 2. HIS SPEED WHILE PRACTICINF CODE WAS HIGH AND STUDENT DO THE PRACTICE MEANTIME