Chevron Left
Back to Making Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Making Architecture by IE Business School

4.8
stars
1,236 ratings

About the Course

Making architecture offers a unique insight into the mind and work of an Architect, starting with the basics of the profession and culminating with the production of a scaled site model. The course should act as ideal preparation for those interested in undertaking an undergraduate degree in Architecture, although its flexible, intriguing and enjoyable content makes it accessible for all those looking to increase their knowledge in the field. Delivered primarily by Professors from the IE School of Architecture and design in Segovia (Spain), the course begins by examining the mind-set of an Architect - asking how they think and what they do to train their creative minds, moving on to using inspiration from the environment to stimulate design ideas. Finally, the course concludes by looking at some of the more technical aspects of Architecture - such as composition, form, space and hierarchy - and stressing the importance of creating a story that helps define your design. This fascinating content is delivered principally from the stunning design studio at the IE school of Architecture and features external videos from a few beautiful locations in the city of Segovia. Finally, it includes interviews from Pritzker Prize executive director - and Dean of the school of Architecture and design at IE - Martha Thorne, with a number of award winning practising architects such as Sarah Wigglesworth and Cristoph Ingenhoven....

Top reviews

SK

Sep 7, 2020

The content is really good for beginner architects, the instructors were amazing and supportive. Examples of project and their analysis is really interesting so perhaps more examples could be added

OM

May 2, 2021

I love this course.It is very nice.I would like to thank all the proffecers and all the crew.I really enjoyed this course and got some important tips for the life.Thank you very very much.!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 402 Reviews for Making Architecture

By Dr. S N B

Jul 1, 2021

Awesome

By Estelle R

Feb 15, 2021

PARFAIT

By deepak m

Aug 13, 2020

Awesome

By shashi K K

Jun 19, 2020

Awesome

By Kamil B

Oct 30, 2022

super

By Ekaterina H

Oct 27, 2020

super!

By JIABUR R

Jun 20, 2020

thanks

By NAGA P A

Nov 29, 2020

great

By ABHANGE I N

Aug 6, 2020

Nice

By Akhil R

May 25, 2020

Good

By Mayke v K

Jun 18, 2022

I

By Jean P M P P

Jun 27, 2022

.

By Helge F T

Jun 8, 2020

This is a very good, hands-on introductory course in the mindset of architects and how to analyse and design structures and buildings. Although entry level, the course touches on many aspects of design and architecture and explains the design process and gives relevant examples by known architects and buildings and structures. The assignment is a hands-on exercise taking you into the design process and allows the student to understand design thinking and develop their own ideas. Three different lecturers prove each their personal view and own experiences.

By JORGE G F

Jan 1, 2022

Excelente curso, tuve una experiencia grata sobre la manera en cómo se abordó el curso. Es cierto que los conceptos que el curso tiene sobre el diseño arquitectónico son muy elementales pero si pone a que el alumno realize un sentido crítico sobre las necesidades de un proyecto para responder a una demanda del usuario con la manera en que desarrolla todo su proceso en cada tema.

Quedo muy contento con el curso..

By Kundan P

Jun 27, 2020

After completing this course, my point of view towards an architecture is totally changed. I learned a lot from this course and i am very confident to observe, to analys, to get inspired and to design the project or buildind by convergent and divergent thinking. Thanks a lot to all the professors and their team members to give us wonderful knowledge about the architecture.

By Stephanie A S

May 22, 2020

Loved the way the whole course was presented and planned and the final project and assignments were so interesting and fun to make, I did not see it coming. It made me realize that it's very possible that I have the potential to study architecture later on. Overall, this course was enjoyable, entertaining and eye-opening, big thanks to the team who assembled it!

By Thomas K

Jan 25, 2021

This course is honestly amazing and I would absolutely recommend it for anyone who is interested in architecture and doesn't know where to begin. I gave it 4 stars because after the 3d week it starts becoming repetitive and a bit boring. Nonetheless I learned so many things that completely changed my perspective on the process of a design.

By Carel W

Oct 24, 2020

Really loved the course, would have even liked it more if some of the main concepts were explored in more depth. I understand that peer-review is the only practical way to do grading for all students, but I didn’t get very detailed or much constructive feedback from the other students. Still was a great course, thank you!

By Sumaiya T

Feb 23, 2021

The course is overall fun and it taught me how to think outside the box or how everything can be related to each other. I didn't rate it 5 stars because I didn't exactly feel like as if I was actually studying architecture. In this course they only teach you how an architect thinks and you can think in the same way.

By Preeti L

Jan 24, 2021

I absolutely enjoyed taking part in this course, I didn't have much of a background in architecture but this course really incorporated beginners and architecture. Through this course I learned the value of hierarchy and balance which I think is applicable to many aspects of life.

By Tarun s P

Jul 1, 2020

The course was great, with each video being short and crisp. My only issue was that the intro for the course videos was too long (27 seconds) taking into consideration of the length of the actual course material per video.

By Elodie C

Sep 15, 2021

I learned a lot with this course and it made me optimistic for my future. The tutors have a simple and yet efficient way to explain architectural concepts. I would have enjoyed a more advanced version too.

By Patrycja S

May 6, 2020

Really good quality materials to learn but I didn't like scoring system, only my peers were reviewing me, I thought that someone who knows architecture etc will be rating my tasks.

By Olivia I

Dec 13, 2022

My experience was enlightening and absolutely wonderful! I enjoyed the assignments and lectures, and I was delighted at the conciseness of the course.

By REN J

Apr 10, 2020

The contents of the course is very intriguing and the assignments are very helpful for me to apply what I have learned from the videos into practice.