Chevron Left
Back to Making Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Making Architecture by IE Business School

4.8
stars
1,317 ratings

About the Course

Making architecture offers a unique insight into the mind and work of an Architect, starting with the basics of the profession and culminating with the production of a scaled site model. The course should act as ideal preparation for those interested in undertaking an undergraduate degree in Architecture, although its flexible, intriguing and enjoyable content makes it accessible for all those looking to increase their knowledge in the field. Delivered primarily by Professors from the IE School of Architecture and design in Segovia (Spain), the course begins by examining the mind-set of an Architect - asking how they think and what they do to train their creative minds, moving on to using inspiration from the environment to stimulate design ideas. Finally, the course concludes by looking at some of the more technical aspects of Architecture - such as composition, form, space and hierarchy - and stressing the importance of creating a story that helps define your design. This fascinating content is delivered principally from the stunning design studio at the IE school of Architecture and features external videos from a few beautiful locations in the city of Segovia. Finally, it includes interviews from Pritzker Prize executive director - and Dean of the school of Architecture and design at IE - Martha Thorne, with a number of award winning practising architects such as Sarah Wigglesworth and Cristoph Ingenhoven....

Top reviews

SK

Sep 7, 2020

The content is really good for beginner architects, the instructors were amazing and supportive. Examples of project and their analysis is really interesting so perhaps more examples could be added

OM

May 2, 2021

I love this course.It is very nice.I would like to thank all the proffecers and all the crew.I really enjoyed this course and got some important tips for the life.Thank you very very much.!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 428 Reviews for Making Architecture

By Mehrnoush R

Jun 14, 2020

Where to begin!

This course was beyond good and useful! I have learned so much! My perspective has been changed completely!

Thank you so much for preparing this course for us!

By Richard H

Jan 9, 2017

Really enjoyed the videos; I felt I learnt a lot and I enjoyed the presentation. Many thanks.

By mirelle

Mar 9, 2020

I don't really like that the teachers don't grade you, but it is a great course and I definitely recommend it... Everyone is so supportive and you learn a lot.

By Shafiul I

Jun 4, 2020

The architectural explanations are too good but fluent speakers of English language should be adopted.

By Konstantinos N

Dec 8, 2020

The content taught and the projects were interesting and useful. Being graded by peers is not as beneficial as it would be if we had been graded by professors. I had expected that I would get a certificate stating that I have completed the course and mentioning the name of the University that provided the course in order to use it in my application to college.

By Zoe T

Jul 19, 2022

Very basic. Teachers don't grwdr any work. It is all peer reviewed.

By amineh g

Aug 15, 2021

very bad on submitting and get the grads, not like it at all,

By Juan S C

Jan 9, 2019

Excelent Course for Everybody, dinamic, clear, the videos are worth seeing once and again.

By Rakesh K P

May 24, 2017

REALLY GOOD

By Tanyawan T

Apr 7, 2017

Good introduction for someone who has zero knowledge on architecture

By Suzanne K

May 6, 2020

This is a very interesting course. It does somehow make you fall in love with architectural studies, its details, and the wide answers and questions you might face. It does tell you become a different person as an architect.

It is really appreciated if they also share the difficulties, and the negative situations you might face as an architect.

By Hossein A

Apr 13, 2020

Boring and nothing new

By Jeremy F

Jul 30, 2020

Not enough content, explanations can be quite roundabout/ not particularly concise

By Salma S K

Sep 8, 2020

The content is really good for beginner architects, the instructors were amazing and supportive. Examples of project and their analysis is really interesting so perhaps more examples could be added

By Antonina T

Mar 13, 2017

It is amazing course, which gives you great knowledge meanwhile you doing your assigments.

By Sara O

Jan 16, 2017

a very good course, it helped me to evaluate my thinking in a creative way.

By Muhammed T S

Nov 4, 2017

this course is very efficient .I like it!

By Amanda

Feb 28, 2017

Very inspiring and interesting course

By Lu C

Mar 12, 2018

Very useful course for freshman

By Muhammad B

Apr 16, 2019

best course ever

By Vadim K

Oct 27, 2016

Very promising!

By Isha H

Oct 31, 2016

amazing course

By Doris S d A F

Nov 22, 2016

Great course!

By Henry R E

Apr 8, 2019

excellent

By Natthamon W

Jun 2, 2020

Overall, I enjoyed doing something creative during this lockdown period (making models!). The lectures are generic concepts that are easily understandable but hard to execute. It pushes your creatively if you aren't working in this type of field. As the course name implies, you are making a piece of architecture. What I dislike is the introduction of the video, I wont judge if they have it for the first video of the week, but it takes 20 secs which combines to many minutes.