Chevron Left
Back to Making Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Making Architecture by IE Business School

4.8
stars
1,311 ratings

About the Course

Making architecture offers a unique insight into the mind and work of an Architect, starting with the basics of the profession and culminating with the production of a scaled site model. The course should act as ideal preparation for those interested in undertaking an undergraduate degree in Architecture, although its flexible, intriguing and enjoyable content makes it accessible for all those looking to increase their knowledge in the field. Delivered primarily by Professors from the IE School of Architecture and design in Segovia (Spain), the course begins by examining the mind-set of an Architect - asking how they think and what they do to train their creative minds, moving on to using inspiration from the environment to stimulate design ideas. Finally, the course concludes by looking at some of the more technical aspects of Architecture - such as composition, form, space and hierarchy - and stressing the importance of creating a story that helps define your design. This fascinating content is delivered principally from the stunning design studio at the IE school of Architecture and features external videos from a few beautiful locations in the city of Segovia. Finally, it includes interviews from Pritzker Prize executive director - and Dean of the school of Architecture and design at IE - Martha Thorne, with a number of award winning practising architects such as Sarah Wigglesworth and Cristoph Ingenhoven....

Top reviews

SK

Sep 7, 2020

The content is really good for beginner architects, the instructors were amazing and supportive. Examples of project and their analysis is really interesting so perhaps more examples could be added

CS

May 26, 2020

Even though it is a very short course, the skills, ideas and knowledge learnt is very useful. I can already think of different ways and new ways to approach my work, designs and daily life.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 426 Reviews for Making Architecture

By Faten S

Apr 18, 2020

I loved this course, especially the practical part of it where you got to build a model of your design. I learned some new skills from this course that I definitely think will help me in my future in architecture. What was also great is that, as a 15 year old, I didn't struggle with this course so I would definitely recommend it to teens too!

By Ahmad k g

Jul 9, 2022

If you are a beginner in the field of architecture or want to choose it as a future major, I advise you to take this course. I really can't express it. She was so wonderful and wonderful. I thank all teachers for their efforts. I am very grateful to you for everything. My interest in architecture has grown more than ever.

By Toby L

Sep 11, 2020

I have learnt a lot of core knowledge in and around architecture. I now understand key design principles and processes required in architecture, and have more of an understanding of the iterative processes and development of a design. This has helped me a lot, would recommend to anyone with an interest in architecture.

By Filip B

Sep 9, 2020

I really like the course, as over the time it adds different perspectives on how architecture works. It's quite simple, yet satisfying to acquire new skills. It comes handy when one wants to understand the space and place better in the context of community and possible activities. I definitely recommend this course!

By Zümra T

Feb 4, 2022

That was a really amazing course. the instructor' style was understandable and clearly. Assignments are essential for practice and learning. It became more understandable with the assignments given. It was also very entertaining and educational. I would recommend it to everyone. Definitely a course you should take.

By Shalton N

Sep 21, 2020

Honestly this has been a very powerful course, even for some of the projects i was personally doing i gained cliental respect as they found me to be with direction...many thanks towards your patience humility and considerate attitude beloved professors for walking us this wonderful journey in MAKING ARCHITECTURE.

By Mugambi m m .

Jul 16, 2020

I take this opportunity to appreciate Coursera together with IE university for their interesting sponsorship program that has really helped me and many like me from Africa to take the first step in changing our countries and giving them a brighter future and the change we would like to see. Thank you very much.

By Ira R

Aug 2, 2019

I really enjoyed this course! I think it's a great way to develop a beginner's mind to architecture's most basic principles, to excite and intrigue someone who is thinking of pursuing architecture as his/her career. The videos were really informative and I loved doing the hands-on activities too. I loved it! :)

By URIEL P J

Jun 28, 2021

Este curso me ayudo mucho a seguir pensando e imaginado diferentes lugares a través de una metodología razonable, no solo colocar elementos porque si, si no a pensar el impacto que estos mismo tendrán en dicho lugar y así optimizarlo más. Excelente curso para seguir mejorando

By Gail A

Mar 29, 2021

I have always loved and followed architecture resources but this was my first. personal deep dive into the topic. Instructors provided a wealth of information and the peer ratings were very helpful. I highly recommend this course if you are starting your architecture journey.

By Moussa-Charbel E H M

Jul 14, 2022

Finding good online courses isn't easy.Because of Coursera, I learned this course that was extremely helpful.Videos and readings are easy to understand and I gained an immense experience doing the assignments.It helped me remarkably while searching for careers opportunites.

By Siti F A Z

Sep 13, 2021

English is not my first languange and I'm so pleased that they don't use difficult language so it's easy for me to understand all the topics and assignments. This course also give me motivation to continue my study in Architecture. Thank you for amazing experience!

By Kim A R

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you IE School of Architecture and Design for this wonderful opportunity! As an architecture student I found this course really helpful - it pushed and strengthen my creative and designing skills. I learned so much in just a couple of weeks! Really recommend.

By Mame D M

Dec 23, 2022

I loved this course, as a student about to go into my first year of bachelors in architecture, this course taught me a lot of the basics and I feel much more prepared to go into my first year. The addition of the practical assignments is a good practise as well.

By Ahamed A A

Nov 11, 2020

With this course i have learnt how to over come thinking and known about super structural buildings and where the nature is important and where should we use.

And at last exercise i have known to place the spaces at correct position and the use of natural light.

By Piyush K

Jun 7, 2020

It was really an amazing experience with IE school. I am a student of Civil Engineering with keen interest in architecture. This course is designed so nicely to have a good concept of architecture.

Thanks to IE school especially Nenad Sir and Romero Sir.

By SHELLY T

Mar 15, 2021

Great overview course and activities that illuistrate the concepts.

Suggestions: 1) provide grading rubric with assignment information; 2) provide notification by email when there are peer projects to review (so a person doesn't need to repeatedly check)

By Toolsie P

Oct 25, 2020

This course was never how I imagine it would be but it was much better than how I pictured it to be soon I'ma go to a architecture school in Canada and I'ma start my career there from scratch and prove that architecture was the right career I chose

By Abhishek P G

Jun 16, 2020

I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. The week assignment was just enough, so i could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

By Megan A C

Nov 6, 2020

It made me choose Architecture to be my course in college next year. It definetely opened my mind what to expect about this discipline. The instructors were fantastic, very insightful and clear. The assignments were very practical and useful.

By Yanan L

Dec 21, 2020

Five Stars beyond a shadow of doubt. This is my first enrolled course on Coursera and I will not forget the wonderful time I had with this course in the past few weeks. Thank you for making it possible for me in current difficult conditions.

By Rodolfo N

Nov 26, 2020

Very good fundation course of architecture design, for those who want to initiate in the architecture world and learn the basics, and put in practice a liitlle of this basic concepts in a practical case. I recommend widely this course

By Claire F

May 17, 2020

This course gave me a great insight on the designer's mindset and the process of design in general. Everything is very well explained, having he video and transcript is very helpful, and the assignments are really interesting to do.

By Fortunate C

Jun 15, 2023

It has been an amazing time learning all about architecture most especially on hierarchy structure. I've now got the ambition to continue from where I left and see how far I can go with my built imagination skill and flows.

By MAHTAB H K

Oct 7, 2022

as an architect student , when i watch this course i learned alot in terms of different point of view about architecture ,i think it is a good fundamental course for who have intrest in architeture ,thanks all tutors.