Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
9,730 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,572 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Gianina C L

Feb 4, 2021

The course is educational, engaging and challenging. I would like to thank the instructor & the University of Minnesota for sharing this course with us. I am also very grateful to Coursera for approving my financial aid.

By Ma W T

Mar 12, 2019

Thank you Professor Budd! This introductory course is very motivating and I am confident to finish this specialization with an in-depth knowledge in human resource. This could lead me to figure out my future career path!

By H'ng Z H

Oct 5, 2021

This course provides a very good introductory components to people who are interested in the HR specialization. All topics are well-discussed with adequate examples, interviews, and other materials. Overall it is great.

By Yash M

Apr 15, 2020

Very enriching experience. The tutor is awesome. Language used is very simple and understandable easily. The animation used to teach is very good and helps to learn more easily. Overall the course is worth of doing it.

By Ophelie B

Oct 16, 2020

It's amazing to achieve something! The course is well done and clear. I learned so much and for sure it's going to help me in my career. The energy of the teacher and speakers make you feel like you're in a classroom.

By Tracey-Ann D

Apr 22, 2019

I am very happy that I took this course. As a professional who is transitioning into HR from law, this course provided valuable information on the topics I will need to consider as I fulfill my role as an HR Manager.

By Ekereobong M

Oct 29, 2018

A exceptionally great introduction! Enlightening literature, funny interjections, practical examples! I loved this introduction and I am certainly going on to complete the other courses in the specialisation package.

By Trena K B

Mar 29, 2021

As someone new to HR management, I appreciated the wellrounded presentation of all the complexities involved in being successful. I also enjoyed the insights from different proffesionals in the industry. Thank you.

By Mariam K

Aug 12, 2023

It was an amazing opportunity to understand the basis of HRM. Big thanks to Mr.Budd, University of Minnesota and Coursera of course. I'm so grateful! It's just the beginning of a wonderful and interesting journey!

By Amtul B

Dec 13, 2022

Its an excellent course with in - depth knowledge of the Human Resources functions.

Highly recommend to all those aspiring for a great career in Human Resources and also to take up the entire specialization course.

By Md M H

Jun 13, 2021

I would suggest to all to read the course which give a basic idea of career development and resume and cover letter writing. For all student and job hunting people should study this course to cater a good career.

By Pajriah P

Jun 1, 2020

I enjoyed studying in this course because I learned about good management, HR management, the foundation of being a manager, HR laws and norms, and lots of knowledge that I can learn and practice in my daily life.

By huda h

Dec 22, 2017

it was made in easy way, matching our lifstyle, in which we can study when time available, also the sequences of the subject was very clear, made the understanding more easy

I would like to Thank all Coursera team,

By Abigail B

Sep 27, 2020

Very dynamic course. I enjoyed all aspects and this was the first online course i completed at this level. My Lecturer was very authentic and engaging in all aspects of the course. Would recommend this to anyone.

By Omotayo A

Mar 17, 2020

This course has been an eye opener into human management. A very detailed course outline with a great facilitator in Mr John. I greatly recommend this course to beginners and any one looking into the field of HR.

By Akanksha D

Jun 17, 2020

Being from a non-hr background, I did not had any previous knowledge about it.But this course was very informative, engaging and useful. I highly recommend it to everyone who wishes to begin his/her HR journey.

By Francine L H

Mar 28, 2024

I started the course and realized this is not where I am currently in my career. I decided to abort this course and take HR Associate Professional instead. Though I couldn't find how I unenroll in this course.

By Nabeel M

Nov 20, 2022

I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow so I could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

By Muhammad H A

Sep 1, 2023

Highly valuable and recommended This course will let you know how you grab the position of human resources a lot of information and tips to face challenges in your upcoming life thanks University of Minnesota

By umang

Nov 24, 2020

I loved the course overall. The way the course was linked to current scenarios and current theory was great. Generally the courses are age old with no recent development in content. But this one was good one.

By Anmol R

Jul 15, 2023

Hello Sir,

I had amazing time learning this course. The teacher was very good and he was clear in whatever he was explaining. Thank you so much. I enjoyed it. I hope this all helps me for my future endeavors.

By Janel M

Jan 2, 2020

This course helped to broaden my understanding of Human Resources. It was insightful and easy to understand. I like how the course is mapped out and gives valuable examples of how to understand the material.

By Rudray R G

May 30, 2020

This has been a very interesting and interactive course. every time a small assessment keeps ckeck on whether learning is satisfactory or not.

Proper instructions helps in completing the work in given time.

By Pamela C M

Mar 11, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, because it gives you in a very friendly way, the foundation for this HR Management Specialization, the teacher was really nice and the information they give you is very useful!

By Elodie C

Feb 14, 2017

Good course with a great teacher! A lot of useful and interesting information about HR Management and being a manager. Interesting videos, never boring, good use of pictures, graphics, videos and examples.