Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,252 ratings
542 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

NR
Mar 4, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

PD
Jun 29, 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 527 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Tim D

Mar 25, 2019

I just want to say thanks to Prof. Keith Devlin. I have never been quite comprehend the proof techniques and usually have to prove statements arithmetically directly. Thanks to this course, I finally see how I can approach the problems more systematically, thus being able to find the answers faster and more consistently

By Adam M

Mar 25, 2020

A great assignment-based introduction to discrete math with an emphasis on communication and thinking. This is a course to improve how you approach problems, and although it provides highly useful skills for university math courses, the disciplined thought process outlined in the course is applicable to the real-world.

By Jaime R

Oct 28, 2020

This class has a very well laid out approach to learning online. The videos were to the point and applied to each week's theme of the course. It was especially helpful to have some of the answers to the practice sets shown in a separate video. The professor does a very good job of teaching a very difficult subject.

By Anhad S

Oct 28, 2019

Great course for someone trying to get back in touch with college level mathematics after working professionally and/or more usually, someone trying to get started on graduate level mathematics. Dr. Devlin is quite a thorough professor and I wish I had more professors like him during my undergraduate years as well.

By Megan M

Apr 3, 2021

The professor is fantastic as he thoughtfully and thoroughly explains the material. Ultimately this course is about YOU taking the time to slow down and think about a variety of mathematical concepts. The goal is to help you increase your abilities in thinking mathematically and communicating clearly with others.

By Anatoly S

Aug 27, 2020

I did not learn much new facts, but the course helped to structure and put in order what I already was familiar with and what I could remember from school and university. This was an interesting, productive, and thought-provoking experience. I believe it will motivate me to further work on my mathematics skills.

By Minh D

Dec 11, 2018

The course name itself is a importance not only for individual but for the world. The development of Mathematic can significanly boost if we not only know calculate, how to calculate the formation, but know how to think (Mathematical Thinking). Huge potential course that can change our community! Thank teacher!

By Giovanni P

Oct 21, 2020

El profesor que dicta este curso es sin lugar a dudas un profesional sumamente capacitado y referente en lo que yo considero educación de calidad. Ha causado gran satisfacción de mi parte al realizar este curso y me ha brindado herramientas que me serán sumamente útiles una vez que ingrese a la universidad.

By Elmer N

Aug 27, 2019

Excellent instruction and pacing. As a veteran Professional Engineer, I found the course challenging and informative. I enjoyed especially the real-world examples. I would recommend this course to anyone with a desire to discover the fundamental principles of number and set theory.

Elmer A. Norvell, PhD, PE

By Vishal

May 15, 2020

it is a very fantastic course which improves our ability of thinking. It is a easy course at the beginning but little bit challenging in last weeks of this course also assignments some how hard but overall course is very fantastics and also well design. Thank you sir Dr.Keith Devlin for your guidance .

By Sagar P

Sep 28, 2017

The 9-week mathematical journey taught me a lot and made fall in love with mathematics back again. I wish , I had worked harder and earned a better grade but commitments to my family and job did not let me do so. I await for another opportunity to get tutored by Dr. Keith Devlin and Stanford Univ. again

By Serhiy O

Aug 12, 2020

My true thanks to Standford University staff that made this course happen. I believe, this course is a firm stepping stone toward many sorts of precise sciences. With this course, one may: 1) improve consistency in reasoning; 2) learn accurate word usage; 3) get to know a bunch of smart people.

By Luiz F

Jul 29, 2020

This course is extremely good. I just got out of High school and the vision of mathematics this course gave me is totally different. My way of reasoning certainly changed and now I can recognize the importance of the use of language when comunicating, does not matter in what way it's been doing.

By Chloe L

Jun 7, 2020

I never appreciated math or thought myself capable of doing math well. Now I am excited about real numbers and integers and solving puzzles! This course was a great life experience, and I am indebted to Prof. Devlin for the excellent design and meaningful principles that he put into the course.

By Assaad E

Jun 11, 2020

just an awesome course that anyone should take. Since I began in this course, I saw mathematics in a new way that is more brilliant and effective, also my grades at the university goes up as well as my understanding of math and science materials.

Professor Keith Devlin will make you love math!!

By Thein H A

Mar 7, 2021

Love it. The professor is really keen and helpful in his delivery of the lectures. Very clear explanation for most of them, but for some, be prepared to struggle especially if you are not familiar the rigorous mathematical proofs. Well, this is why we are here anyways. So good luck and enjoy.

By Sharad S

Dec 21, 2017

This was a very good course which helped me to increase my horizons in the field of mathematics. I am no longer intimidated by the complex looking symbols and am able to make statements precise. I also do not rush to find an answer through a structured methodology. Prof. Devlin was superb.

By Deleted A

May 23, 2019

This course starts slowly and clearly with the beginner in mind. I had to refer to other on-line material to really grasp the concept of the material conditional. Nonetheless this is a fantastic course, and any person starting a rigorous study of mathematics should take this course.

By Mohammad M A

Jan 28, 2017

The course is really awesome and very much help full, as a student I can say every students that they want to go to universities they should join to this nice course which is provided by the coursera the best plat form for education.

Thank you for providing such a help full course.

By MELGAREJO E A

Jan 6, 2021

The professor gave us a course of excellent quality. The tutorials are great and encouraged us to be professional mathematicians. The teacher encourages communication, cooperativism and respect among students. Thank you for your time and dedication. I learned more than logic!

By Moses P P

Sep 29, 2020

The Introduction to Mathematical Thinking is a very profound and intuitive course. My favourite part of this course was on the opportunity given to evaluate other student's work, this gave me an opportunity to see other approaches and methods of solving different problems.

By CHENG K

Aug 8, 2017

It is a very interesting course and over my expectation on what I could learn from the course. Apart from various technique taught in the course for solving mathematical problem, as Dr said, the most interesting thing learnt is the way of thinking to approach the problem.

By Sajjad A

Nov 16, 2017

This course has really changed my way of thinking towards life in general, and Mathematics in particular. I feel every student above the age 14 should take this course, not just once, but should repeat it every year or so! Thank you Coursera. Thank you Professor Keith!

By triki m

May 2, 2021

this course was really amazing, I learned a lot from it, I gained the ability to think properly and how to use logic to solve problems. Thanks, Coursera for this opportunity, and thanks to Keith ( the course's instructor) for the very beneficial lectures he gave.

By Patrick L

Mar 25, 2021

Ausgezeichneter Kurs. Der Dozent ist didaktisch hervorragend. Jedem, nicht nur angehenden Mathematikern zu empfehlen. Sprachwissenschafter profitieren ebenso wie Juristen und Philosophen. Der Stoff sollte Pflichtstoff für jeden Universitätsabsolventen sein.