Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong by Yale University

4.9
stars
1,266 ratings
473 reviews

About the Course

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

Top reviews

DW
Sep 27, 2020

Well organized and informative content. Dr. Wilson was an engaging and knowledgeable faculty member; I look forward to enrolling in another course under his leadership.\n\nCalvin E Woodland, EdD, PsyD

LT
Apr 29, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 474 Reviews for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

By Carlos D P C

Jun 2, 2020

Es un curso excelente. He aprendido mucho y de una manera muy didáctica un tema que es relevante en la actualidad.

By Elizabeth o

Jun 23, 2020

You have the magic to teach statistic as a funny subject . I really don't wanted to finish the course. Thank you

By Jenny O

Jun 1, 2020

Great course. The presenter is very engaging, the material is extremely interesting and very clearly presented.

By Matt

Jun 19, 2021

Incredible course!! Super thorough and host and content were so interesting the time studying actually flew by!

By Dr. V B K

Sep 7, 2020

Wonderful presentation. Complex issues are presented in a simple way so that everyone can understand. Thank you

By Chelsea P

Jul 5, 2020

Very informative, even for someone with a fair amount of science classes in their past and working in medicine.

By Anna

Jul 8, 2020

Wonderful, entertaining and also very insightful course. Kudos to the great instructor - Mr. F. Perry Wilson!

By Cara H

Jul 19, 2020

Took a while but it was worth it! Great Instructor! Loved his examples on the Campus with the Yale students!

By Belakhdar A

Jun 8, 2020

one of my best cours ever with an outstanding teacher!

highly recommendable to all medical students

thank you

By Martin P

Dec 27, 2020

Absolutely fantastic and very helpful course. Thanks so much Dr Wilson and team for your hard work on this.

By Ken B

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course. Dr. Wilson did a wonderful job explaining the material and making the course interesting.

By Mary A

Oct 26, 2020

Very engaging speaker, everything made simple but very informative, a good overview for medical research.

By shaimaa

Jul 19, 2020

Thank you so much Dr. Wilson, this is really very well structured course. it was very interesting course!

By Gigi M

May 27, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and Dr. Wilson. I feel that I do better understand how medical research works.

By Thundon N

Feb 1, 2021

GREAT course GREAT Talk I love it!

Thanks F. Perry Wilson who made epidemiology and biostatistics simple!

By gregg k

May 11, 2021

Excellent course on a sometimes very confusing subject matter. Dr Wilson is an outstanding instructor!

By Janine P

Apr 27, 2021

Excellent, informative and well executed--I audited it for a refresher and loved the layout and speed.

By Tracy D

Aug 24, 2020

Great course! Lots of valuable insights. Broke down big concepts into digestible chunks!

Two thumbs up.

By William R T

Apr 15, 2021

The best Coursera course I've taken yet. Timely, informative, great instructor, very well presented.

By Kate N

Mar 4, 2021

What a thrill. I loved every moment of this course and found it profoundly helpful. HIGHLY recommend.

By Cindy R

Dec 31, 2020

Excellent course with a fun, knowledgeable professor. I wish every course was so engaging. Thank you!

By Madhvendra S

Jul 14, 2020

This course is excellent . Anyone interested in learning about medical research can take this course.

By Adriana A

Sep 14, 2020

Very well explained, very interesting classes, very good way of teaching to help us remember it all.

By Areeba Q

Aug 9, 2020

Great course, love the prof he explains things so well. Had a lot of fun with the examples he use :)

By Malek A

May 23, 2021

Great course and amazing instructor

I really enjoyed the journey and leaned a lot

I am so grateful !!