Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
6,352 ratings

About the Course

Modern Art & Ideas is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. You will look at art through a variety of themes, including Places and Spaces, Art and Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art and Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects key works of art to the theme. You’ll also have access to interviews with artists, designers, and others who speak about their materials, processes, and sources of inspiration. Through the discussion forum prompts you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with you....

Top reviews

AM

Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT

Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,600 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Maggi N

Apr 28, 2020

This is my first Coursera course and I have thoroughly enjoyed it! I would recommend Coursera to anyone looking for a MOOC that stretches the intellect with information quizzes and a final assignment.

Great stuff!!

By Valeria E D G

Sep 5, 2015

Great video lessons and extra reading material to expand concepts and ideas. The course has also very good rhythm and short tests at the end of each lesson are great to understand the important points of the course.

By Leanne M

Mar 13, 2023

Thoroughly enjoyed this course as with previous studies with Coursera and look forward to the next in this specialisation program.

Great educational resources

Seamless system processes.

Much appreciated, thank you.

By Giulia M

May 15, 2020

An interesting overview divided in five, very easy-to-assimilate chapters with a good structure and nice "in depth" sections. For whoever wants to get inspired in their own work — even if it's not in the art field.

By Sophia B D C

May 4, 2020

I have learned very much from this course and I know my fellow course takers as well that they would say the same. There are many more things to find out about modern art and this course provided those information.

By Suresh S

May 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and found it to be very informative. The final projects were a great way to bring together the topics covered in the class. Looking forward to taking another MoMA course on Coursera.

By Lukas K

May 14, 2020

This has been my first online course! I have explored new ways of refreshing my knowledge about modern art and exploring new themes and artists. The short video introductions and links have been so very helpful.

By Stephen J

Mar 23, 2019

Very interesting course that makes you work your brains into thinking what art truly is about. It has definitely helped me opened my eyes and perspective in appreciating and knowing what modern art is all about!

By Mariia S

Dec 7, 2020

Modern Art & Ideas! I recommended it if you want to open your mind or for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art.

My favorite parts Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society

By FARAH K

Aug 9, 2020

Great learning through this course, Kindly guide i have joined througn my university, it was free for me how to get the certificate under the collaboration of my university, Lahore College for Women University

By Teresa O

Aug 18, 2018

My only suggestion is just a bit easier navigation. For example, I wanted to see the rubric before I wrote my responses, but never did see it. However, I learned so much and thought it was expertly delivered.

By Pramodana U

Jun 3, 2017

Good courses, easy to understand, Thank you very much. It was very useful course and art provided very insightful information. I look forward to participate at your next course. All the best. Thanks Coursera.

By Daniela G

Aug 24, 2020

Es un gran curso, didáctico y con mucho material de consulta, me hizo adentrarme en el arte, conocer y aprender más, además de valorar todo el enfoque artístico que hay alrededor de la creación de una obra.

By Diego F V M

Sep 15, 2019

Great course! It presents awesome topics to discuss and think about the role of the Modern art in our lives, exploring different topics such as the representation of the identity in the creations of people.

By Julieta M

Oct 11, 2016

This course gave me a new understanding of modern art, and also about the artists and the works selected for the course. The content has been carefully selected and the reading material is very interesting.

By ED C A

Sep 30, 2020

So happy this was the first coursera class I took because it’s very interesting. Definitely learned a lot and have grown a deeper appreciation for modern arts. Very excited to take more classes from MoMA.

By Ros H

May 23, 2020

Highly recommend. I have been learning to paint for nearly 10 years now and I have struggled to understand the language used to describe art. This course has been an important stepping stone. Many Thanks.

By Heather G

May 21, 2020

I thought this was a very comprehensive overview course. The resources were varied and accessible. The material was interesting, and I feel more confident in viewing, reviewing, and discussing modern art.

By Yu S

Dec 4, 2015

The required reading is a bit long, and because it's all written, it's hard to go through at one time. So would there be some videos source instead I could use to facilitate learning in a more visual way?

By zehra k

Jul 10, 2023

The Modern Art and Ideas online course has been an invaluable experience, greatly enhancing my skills and knowledge. I am grateful for the exceptional support and guidance provided throughout the course.

By Ranjeet L

Jul 23, 2020

Well this is well designed course to get the idea about how art is created; as a fine art graduate I will recommend this for first year fine art students who may have difficulties understanding the art.

By Malena D R

Nov 3, 2020

Me encantó el curso y aprendí un montón sobre el arte, los artistas y su vida en relación a lo que realizan. Me pareció súper interesante si querés aprender a ver más allá de solo lo visual de la obra.

By Karla N

Jun 15, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The introduction to new points of view, helped me enjoy and understand modern art. Meeting other artists, and the inspiration they left in me. Thank you very much MoMA!