Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
5,593 ratings
1,429 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Top reviews

AM
Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 1,417 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Steve A R

Jul 27, 2020

I have take quite a few classes online. This was by far, one of the most fun and informative classes I have taken. Thank you!!!

By Christine

Jul 13, 2020

Educational, informative and very enjoyable class, with the right balance between readings, videos and straight-forward quizzes.

By Filippo P

May 5, 2020

Very interesting, I liked above all the unit about Society. The activities of producing my own work of art stimulates very much.

By Chia C L

Mar 24, 2021

Thanks! I believe if I go to art gallery or museum the next time, I definitely will be able to enjoy and appreciate the artwork

By Juan F Q B

Sep 13, 2017

Esté curso me ayudó a comprender mejor el arte moderno; además, abrió mi perspectiva para la apreciación del mismo. Recomendado

By Ella K

Oct 29, 2015

Good video production, successful combination of video content and reading resources as well as very interesting weekly topics.

By Elisa R

Jun 19, 2020

Well designed course. With cool introduction videos, profound background information, interesting quizzes and inspiring ideas.

By leahhs

May 16, 2020

I love MoMA. Thank you for this course! Feeling like doing virtual exhibition tours everyday across time and space. Thank you.

By RinavandenBrandt

May 2, 2020

Very well done this course, I liked the different methods of learning very much, especially the documentaries of the artists.

By Lillianne R T

Apr 24, 2018

Great course, discovered or re-discovered and better understood amazing artists. My only wish is that it had been longer! :)

By Monica S

Feb 14, 2017

The course was very interesting. The organization of the material was very creative and professional same as the methodology.

By Kim N N

May 25, 2020

I've learned so much more in depth between the art, artists, and various themes. Learning about the themes were my favorite!

By Miguel A G

Apr 29, 2020

I think it is very interesting since it provides original points of view on the approach with which art has to be approached

By Catriona G

Jun 6, 2020

Each week looks at a really interesting and varied selection of works, so I feel that I have learnt a lot - thank you MoMA!

By Laurence R

May 23, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I confirmed me that I am totally in my element while being in the art sphere. Well done MoMA!

By Marc G

Apr 10, 2020

A very interesting course about how to describe and interpret modern art. I learnt a lot and very much enjoyed this course.

By Nivedha A

Dec 4, 2017

This course is awesome...... it is cool to learn about my favorite painter Vincent Van Gogh who has drawn THE STARRY NIGHT.

By Emanuel S P

Jan 20, 2021

I really enjoyed the course, the concepts and the ideas here presented made me think of art from a totally new perpective.

By MJ

Nov 25, 2019

Very good course. I learned a lot and the tools all worked very smoothly. Maybe you can set-up part to for advanced level?

By Luis G R

Dec 22, 2020

GREAT COURSE! By far the best art course in this plataform. It really open your eyes to art in general. Super recomended!

By Christina E

Nov 29, 2020

An amazing course that totally changed the way I look at Modern & Contemporary Art. Looking forward to more Moma courses!

By Danilo D

Oct 4, 2020

If you are a professional from engineering area, this is a perfect course to understand what is art and how this is made.

By Maribel Z

May 27, 2019

I'm so happy of my first accomplishment with coursera. I am now a certified completer of coursera and I'm so proud of it.

By C H

Mar 31, 2017

I gain a very important knowledge in learning the modern art which is very useful for my basic understanding towards art.

By Diego S

Jun 9, 2020

Great course to introduce yourself on modern art, it has a lot of videos, lectures and resource which you can go deeper.