Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
5,652 ratings
1,444 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Top reviews

TT
Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

AM
Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,436 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Luisa F S R

Nov 3, 2021

H​a sido una experiencia maravillosa el poder conocer más sobre el arte en cada una de sus presentaciones.

By Ines A

Jul 6, 2020

Excelente curso con un apropiado acercamiento al arte moderno, me gustaria seguir en contacto con el MoMA.

By Anastasiia G

Apr 26, 2020

Good course with great assignments and interesting educational materials, lots of photo and video content.

By Luisa S

Mar 22, 2018

I like this course a lot, i enjoyed and I learn so many things. Im very satisfied with the course content.

By Agnieszka J

Sep 13, 2020

It's the most interesting online course I've ever attended!

I am going to continue learning with Coursera.

By Fiona P

Apr 27, 2020

Fun and interesting, recommend if you have some spare time to learn more about modern art and it's themes

By Pauli A C

Jan 6, 2020

A well organized, thoughtful and comprehensive course on modern art featuring the collection of the MoMA.

By Marie S

Feb 23, 2018

This course is simply amazing. Well structured, nicely presented, a to-the-point selection of art pieces.

By DAN Z

Apr 5, 2021

Good introduction and guidance of Modern arts. Hope there are more themes to be continued in the future!

By Amelia E

Jun 22, 2020

Me encantó el curso. Me hubiera gustado que durara más tiempo y abarcara muchos más elementos y países.

By João M N

Aug 17, 2019

Simple, perfectly organized course that allows the student to understand the fundamentals of Modern Art.

By Luzan G

Mar 29, 2017

Amazing course! I am really glad I took it and for sure will take any other courses imparted by the MoMa

By Lindsey

May 20, 2020

A lot of great information and ideas shared in this course is an easy-to-grasp, concise way. Thank you!

By Lluvia A D A C

Apr 18, 2020

is an incredible course, you gonna learn a lot of things and get a lot of inspiration. 100% recommended

By Piyathida C

Apr 18, 2020

If you love art and eager to know more deeply about it. Just enroll the course immediately! Trust me :)

By Luis E V R

Apr 1, 2018

Very complete course, with a lot of information and clear ideas about art in diferent ways of thinking.

By Jon

May 29, 2017

Good to have an outlet for engaged critical thought in regards Modern and Contemporary art. Thank you.

By Ester M

Mar 8, 2017

Very entertaining. It gives a very nice overview of Modern Art in a positive, cretive and engaging way.

By Phoebe T

Aug 17, 2016

Amazing resources, fantastic discussion points; a great course for art students and art teachers alike!

By Elyse C

Aug 8, 2016

This is a fun course that will change how you view the world and introduce you to lesser known artists.

By Alexander S

Dec 9, 2021

Great course, thanks for videos, for russian subtitles, for reading materials for practice quizzes etc

By Jeffrey P C

Oct 17, 2021

I found the course extremely useful. It was a privilege to learn about the art in the MoMA collection.

By Avadhi D

Mar 30, 2020

This course offers deep insights into the world of art. anyone can take it and gain immensely from it.

By Ines M S

Jun 22, 2019

Loved this course! It provided me with tools to better look and analyze art. Great insight! Thank you!