Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) by Wesleyan University

4.8
stars
970 ratings

About the Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

NM

Jan 7, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR

Aug 1, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 268 Reviews for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

By ajay r

Dec 25, 2017

I Like How Professor Roth remains objective throughout the course without letting his personal opinions hindering his teaching in any way.Enjoyed the course Very much!Highly recommend.

By Susannah R

Feb 1, 2018

The lectures were excellent, and I really enjoyed the course... However:

the reading was always quoted at 10 minutes per week, when often the reading was much longer, and was complex ideas,so quite a slow read. Madame Bovary in 10 minutes? I don't think so. More like 10 hours.

Now I know that by writing essays the info really sticks, and the understanding is greater. But this is a part time interest for me. After two essays, I had had enough, so I just watched the lectures from that point forward.

By Lynne R

May 20, 2016

This course is wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. BUT, it is not well monitored, the peer review process is broken and questions are not answered, making it frustrating. For example, I wrote an essay and received a non-passing grade. I re-wrote it and submitted it. The comments back were very good, but the grade remained a non-passing one. Very difficult to figure it out. I posted a request for clarification and received no response. So, course GREAT, administration of course, not so much.

By Connie M

Dec 24, 2020

Although I firmly believe that writing essays is a superior way to learn (vs multiple-choice tests), I think having peers review each other's work is almost worthless. For one thing, it is like "the blind leading the blind". In order to access another person's essay, you have to know more about the topic than was is featured in the lectures. This being the case, you have to specify where and how the student is going off the track. Peers can't do that. For example, several times I thought a student was wrong about some comment, but, I was not sure. Perhaps they knew more about the topic that I did, thus, rendering my impression mistaken. But I wasn't sure. So, I gave them the benefit of doubt. But, if I was right and they were wrong, then they kept their misapprehension. Not exactly, good education.

And, then sometimes, I, myself, was unsure of a point in my essay. The chances of a peer correcting it was pretty nil. Lots of peers do not have the time for lengthy commentary (their comments tend to be too brief to be of much help) and they often don't feel qualified to make negative (but tactful) corrections.

One last thing: sometimes students don't really write anything. They just input random letters or numbers. One student inputted the assignment directions instead of composing an essay. In these cases, I gave them a 0. I felt bad about that, but aren't these examples of cheating?

On a positive note; I thoroughly enjoyed the readings and the lectures. I also liked the fact that I can access a transcript (although a garbled one) and I LOVE the variable speed dial on the lectures. But, most of all, I LOVE that I can audit these courses and am very grateful to all of you who have made this possible. You have made my retirement more enjoyable. I plan on taking the second part of this course. Thank you allsoooo much.

By Naman M

Jan 8, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

By Cindy H

Dec 29, 2020

Excellent course. The lectures were engaging and very informative and broad with the inclusion of a variety of thinkers. I also appreciated learning about the paintings of the post-modern period.

By conor c

Feb 6, 2018

extremely informative! with both a strong historical aspect and theoretical side to the lecteurs i think it is a must for people going to further study of art, philosophy or history.

By Jan R

Aug 2, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

By Shams

Mar 8, 2019

If it is possible I would give the course 10 stars not just 5 !

I came from a very different background, I'm a pharmacist from Middle East - Egypt- where English is not my mother tongue. But this course has given me the type of knowledge I was searching for not knowing where to find it .

A very interesting to-the-point presentation for western history ... serves the different ideas in the course which covers almost the remarkable thinkers we hear about with the key ideas for them .

I think this course is a must for everyone interested in the history of modern ideas and how we became what we are .

I'm studying now part ii and looking forward to join more courses about that topic .

Special thanks for Mr.Michael S. Roth for his interesting way in lectures and mastery this topic every will.

By Cecilia P T

Oct 13, 2018

Amazing course! Professor Roth guides you through philosophy, history, literature and art in depth but also in a simple, enjoyable way!

It took me more than seven weeks to complete the course as there were some readings to be done which were quite time-consuming and having a full-time job it wasn't always easy to devote as much time as needed to this pretty demanding course, but I enjoyed every lecture and managed to always find even the tiniest bit of time to watch the videos and complete the assignments.

It's been a great experience so far, I'm looking forward to Part 2 now!

By Jeyana M

Apr 27, 2016

Thank you for this course!

Professor Roth, I love your teaching style. Such course can easily be made boring, but I was excited and interested every minute of your lectures.

During last few month (luckily for me, the course is self-paced) I've read more of serious literature than during all my life.

The most resonating for me was Baudelaire and the "flâneur" aesthetics.

And, quite strangely, reading Nietzsche makes me happy :)

Thanks again to everyone, who was involved in creating this course.

By Richard M H

Oct 27, 2020

This really is a great course. I'm an English literature academic at a British university myself, and took the course to refresh my memory about the areas covered. However, this course provided me with much more than a refresher of familiar materials. Professor Roth not only covers these areas in depth in a manner that is accessible to new comers to this area of thought, but also gives new and original insights on the material and takes the thinking into these areas. Unlike many academics, he does not treat the ideas or theories discussed as holy writ, but perspectives that themselves may be challenged. Professor Roth delivers this course with an infectious enthusiasm that is compelling.

By Danai M P

Mar 10, 2018

Starting this course coincided with my having to stay at home due to a cold. I became so engrossed that staying in and studying was not only a palliative measure for cabin fever ennui but actually what I really wanted to be doing. As a result I finished the course well before its deadline. I appreciated having Professor Roth describe the perspectives of all these different thinkers so clearly, so simply, so intelligently. His enthusiasm was contagious. All the references to texts were really helpful. The course also gave me the opportunity to read texts I never normally would have done. I am already on to The Modern and the Postmodern Part II. Thank you, great experience.

By Saranya F

May 16, 2020

Prof.Michael Roth's insight and enthusiasm sustained my interest to complete the course through the last 7 weeks. The material is engaging, the method simple and the course design is free flowing. I am convinced this will help me teach my undergraduates with a broader worldview and a better command over the subject of Modernity. I have just enrolled to Part 2 of the course. It is well worth the time and attention.

By Adalberto V

Sep 3, 2022

Excelete curso para entender el concepto de modernidad, para los que la historia nos apasiona este es un curso excelente para entender la historia de la filosofia y abre un gran paso para entender el mundo actual.

By Viviane G

Jan 11, 2024

One of the most unique and rich in knowledge course that I've made, I recommend this course if you're into philosophy or if you want to start learning it. Writing the essay was a challenge but fun.

By Merlin E

May 29, 2022

Thats really a fantastic course to dive in for greater understanding of the key ideas and figures of the modern and the postmodern. Goona enroll for part II as well... Very much delighted..

By Julie M

Mar 12, 2023

Fascinating journey through Enlightenment thinking, bringing poets, philosophers, scientists and painters into informative juxtaposition.

By robin s

Dec 22, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. Professor Roth was a dynamic speaker who kept my interest .

By Lorenzo D S M

Nov 5, 2020

Really good course. The professor was particularly engaging . The topics were really interesting. I did not expect to see Darwin in a philospohy course.

By Aleksandra B

Jan 13, 2022

The course itself is excellent. But the organization of checking assignments is HORRIBLE. I handed in all the assignments on time and paid the money for the course. My final essay has not yet been reviewed and I have not been issued a course completion certificate. I ask to check my work and give me a certificate or refund my money for the course. https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-postmodern-1/peer/U8MRp/third-writing-assignment/review/pmaVs3HbEeygEQ7VPP1a4Q

By Adrià T

Sep 3, 2020

The classes are very interesting, as are the readings. However, the same cannot be said of the methodology regarding the exercises. First of all, the absence of the teacher, replaced by correction between classmates - some of whom are unsympathetic - leaves much to be desired. Secondly, the third exercise is incoherent with the topics raised, seeming to want to make easy money rather than educate in teaching quality.

By Joyce U

Jul 4, 2019

For me as an Artist; I am challenged , having to listen to the lectures several times to get it. The professor's presentations are AWESOME. The knowledge that I am acquiring is well worth it. It has been a few weeks... struggling so not being able to complete the essays; I tried to at least finish the lectures. I wasn't allowed, disappointed.

By Rayser R

Sep 30, 2020

The course is the equivalent of a first year survey course. However, I have two honours degrees from Canadian universities and a community college diploma and have taught for many years. In all of my educational experience I have rarely come across a professor who is as difficult to listen to or attend to than Professor Roth. He has the mannerisms of a nervous man who is thinking well ahead of what he is saying and is making up his points as he goes. He stammers perpetually and many of his sentences contain numerous repetitions and often end without completing a thought. I tried to read the transcripts of the videos instead to spare myself the aggravation of listening to him, but the transcripts are a hopeless shamble of typos, misspellings, and nonsense. Here is an example of what I mean. "Morality is an expression of power. And in the first essay of the Genealogy of Morals, which is an account of, of, of morality, you've only been assigned the second essay. In the first essay, he says, it, it, he does say that morality is an expression power but is really perverse in the west." Here is another example: “You, because society's the ultimate creditor. And a strong society is a society that can say, you know, forget about it. You know? You, you, you did something really bad, you're at Wesleyan, you get 2 points. [laugh] 4 points now, right? You just[UNKNOWN] points.”

In short the course is moderately informative and interesting but destroyed by the presentation.

By Sang Y D

Mar 25, 2016

I advice NOT to take this course.

Why: the professor is never there to read your assignments. He leaves that totally to other students like yourself, to grade your written assignments, and, they do not read and give you a RANDOM grade in 2 seconds.

Don't take it, you will waste sooo much time on this one.