Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) by Wesleyan University

4.8
stars
629 ratings
140 reviews

About the Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 139 Reviews for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

By EFRIN G

Feb 19, 2019

Simply excellent course!

It is dynamic, well constructed and easy to follow.

The essays are challenging and focus on the materials.

By Clarissa P

Sep 04, 2015

Interesting and thought provoking, the professor has an engaging style and it encourages me to explore these areas in more detail.

By Damián L

Oct 24, 2016

Excellent course! Very educational and an interesting refresher on college-level philosophy courses. Waiting for part 2!

By Bergthor S

Oct 01, 2015

THE most interesting lecturer I have found in recent times.

Wonderfully enlightening approach to the subjec.

Thank you

By Petro S

Mar 21, 2017

Extremely well organised, breathtaking lectures. Strongly recommend to those who are interested in philosophy!

By Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

By Daniel Z

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures. Dr. Michael Roth is an excellent intellectual historian.

By lin x

Sep 13, 2016

It's very informative in terms of content while interesting with the speaker's personal style.

By David A S

Sep 11, 2016

Roth is the professor I spend every semester's first week hoping my professors turn out to be.

By Drayson N

Sep 04, 2016

Imperative to a responsible understanding of the contemporary world and what brought it about.

By Anna C

Feb 20, 2016

I have found this course excellent and I am still enthusiastic about its interdisciplinarity.

By Remington C

Jan 02, 2016

Great teacher, fascinating ideas. The reading was pretty intense, but I loved that about it.

By penn w

Apr 11, 2016

This class is wonderful and i'm looking forward to re-taking it when it becomes available.

By Fogan A

Oct 26, 2018

Help know how was the modern time, and the different school of thought that forged it...

By Jian Z

Sep 28, 2015

Professor Roth is awesome breezing in all major modern and postmodern philosophy, litera

By Mandy

Jun 17, 2017

This is a great course, it is coherent and interesting. Just very well put-together.

By daniel f d p

Dec 10, 2019

muy interesante, textos sencillos de leer y explicaciones sencillas y argumentadas

By Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

A great and accomplished scholar presents his subject matter in a compelling way.

By rex e

Oct 06, 2015

I really enjoyed your lectures-Great communicator of ideas-Look forward to next

By Taweechai Y

Aug 14, 2015

I wish to have a course about Existentialism too if it's possible, thank you!

By Peter M

Feb 21, 2018

5+ Highly recommended! Interesting, informative, and very well presented!

By Darren G

Nov 22, 2015

Great course with quality instruction for introduction to the material.

By Dasa M

Oct 17, 2015

Excellent content, very good explanation, interesting lectures. Though

By Abdul G

Jul 26, 2019

Extremely useful for graduate and postgraduate studies in Short time.

By Cindy B

Oct 24, 2015

An excellent overview of the history of philosophy and its influence.