Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) by Wesleyan University

4.8
stars
975 ratings

About the Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

NM

Jan 7, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR

Aug 1, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 269 Reviews for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

By Ronald C

Dec 29, 2023

My The Modern and the Postmodern (1) was amazing and the instructor Mr. Roth is one of the greatest instructors I have ever seen.

By Rizwan B

Oct 29, 2022

I am glad I came across this course. it has been a wonderful experience going through this course with a very dynamic professor.

By ASHOK K

Oct 26, 2020

Excellent, outstanding and very informative. Prof. Roth is excellent. Would like to see more courses like this in Coursera.

By Sergio e p p

Dec 3, 2021

Muy interesante y dinamico, una vision general a los grandes pensadores que moldearon el pensamiento moderno y posmoderno

By Damián L

Oct 24, 2016

Excellent course! Very educational and an interesting refresher on college-level philosophy courses. Waiting for part 2!

By Bergthor S

Oct 1, 2015

THE most interesting lecturer I have found in recent times.

Wonderfully enlightening approach to the subjec.

Thank you

By regina m

Oct 13, 2020

I like how the lecturer teaches very well and clear. The subject is also interesting. I've never learnt this before

By Ni N

Aug 12, 2020

This course is well-structured and well-developed. The professor is very inspiring. This is an exciting experience.

By Petro S

Mar 21, 2017

Extremely well organised, breathtaking lectures. Strongly recommend to those who are interested in philosophy!

By Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

By Asa Z

May 4, 2020

A great course with very clear and insightful teaching. Readings can be a lot but very rewarding in the end!

By Daniel Z

Jan 5, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures. Dr. Michael Roth is an excellent intellectual historian.

By айнаш м

Oct 10, 2022

Thanks for the course! Many previously read works have received additional meaning and interpretation!

By Randall L B

May 7, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Exploring the Communist Manifesto was especially interesting.

By Cristina D

Aug 25, 2020

This is one of the best classes offered by Wesleyan at Coursera.

The reading material is superb.

By lin x

Sep 13, 2016

It's very informative in terms of content while interesting with the speaker's personal style.

By David A S

Sep 10, 2016

Roth is the professor I spend every semester's first week hoping my professors turn out to be.

By Drayson N

Sep 3, 2016

Imperative to a responsible understanding of the contemporary world and what brought it about.

By Christian T

Jun 4, 2020

A great course, adequate subject matter, points were made clear by lecturer. I will recommend

By Anna C

Feb 20, 2016

I have found this course excellent and I am still enthusiastic about its interdisciplinarity.

By Remington C

Jan 2, 2016

Great teacher, fascinating ideas. The reading was pretty intense, but I loved that about it.

By Chenyan Z

May 8, 2023

Well structured lectures covering a wide range of topics with good reading recommendations!

By penn w

Apr 11, 2016

This class is wonderful and i'm looking forward to re-taking it when it becomes available.

By Fogan A (

Oct 26, 2018

Help know how was the modern time, and the different school of thought that forged it...

By Jian Z

Sep 28, 2015

Professor Roth is awesome breezing in all major modern and postmodern philosophy, litera