Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) by Wesleyan University

4.8
stars
974 ratings

About the Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

JR

Aug 1, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 7, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

Filter by:

251 - 268 of 268 Reviews for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

By frank t

Oct 18, 2015

Hey,

Was a learning course. Ben learned more about the treatment time. I simultaneously following a different course on art: Gogh History of Impressionism which was about the same period.

Regards Frank Terpoorten

By Chris R

May 19, 2020

Great course. As stated in the title this is very much a part one and lays the foundations for the topic by looking at the enlightenment and build up to modernity, which are covered in more detail in part 2.

By Pat M

Oct 1, 2015

Very interesting lectures. I found this to be a very good learning opportunity. The professor has a very good grasp of his topic.

By Tobias G

Oct 12, 2015

The presentation of Kant's philosophy is quite inaccurate. All in all, though, this is a great course!

By SANJIV M

Sep 9, 2020

One of the amazing tutor I came across, was totally immersed by the lectures.

By Gloria J M

Aug 31, 2020

Excellent content and lectures. Expectations for writing assignments unclear.

By Douglas B

Feb 24, 2021

The peers review assignments were challenging. Be warned....

By Uttam S

May 17, 2017

Great course! Writing assignments were really helpful.

By Warren C

Jan 25, 2019

Fascinating overview of what 'Modern' might mean.

By nhuconcay N

Aug 7, 2023

nice

By Richard B

Sep 4, 2015

though the flow of ideologies eventually became distinguishable, the comments on the several artists and philosophers noted were woefully uninformed and inadequate, even distorted, and the professor's eventual humming and hawing, irritating in the extreme, suggested that he was not at all prepared for his lectures - the final presentation of paintings without commentary at all was thus both a relief from his indecision and, at all of twenty minutes, an outrageous waste of time having left all of these however masterful works without any appreciable context

By İLKİN B

Oct 20, 2015

On scientific and philosophical reflections there are unbalanced focusing and biased approach to Enlightenment tradition of thoughts and Utilitarions views in particular, on the very contrary to what Prof. Shapiro explains in his MOOC "Moral Foundations of Politics".

By Shem

May 7, 2020

通識向,入門級,科普西方現代性,教授人很可愛,但是講話經常有結巴,相比之下在耶魯的mooc會是我更喜歡的風格。脈絡不是很統一,尤其是從理論學說突然轉變成詳細介紹福樓拜小說,現代性思想的變更是著重於理論的,突然好幾課著重介紹小說文本本身的句子有多美,我覺得欠考慮,著重其帶來的思想意義和社會變革比較符合課程的核心。

By Andressa C M d S

Sep 14, 2015

It's a little annoying, because the videos are the same all the time... but the professor is very good, he knows so much about filosofy!

By Glenn O

Jun 22, 2016

Only average. Much is said, little information delivered.

By Deleted A

Mar 1, 2016

Interesting start to week 1, looking forward to week 2.

By Paul M

Apr 20, 2017

Only one star as it was not made clear you could also get 1/5 points in assignments noted as ties but no further explanation. I don't think I will bother with part 2

By Deleted A

Aug 8, 2020

very bad