Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) by Wesleyan University

4.8
stars
975 ratings

About the Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

JR

Aug 1, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 7, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 268 Reviews for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

By Antek J

Jun 8, 2020

Great course!

By Xie

Oct 26, 2019

good lecture

By Jon C

Apr 12, 2016

Great class!

By Mónica M

Aug 14, 2016

excellent!

By Beatriz S

May 19, 2016

Wonderful!

By Mike H

Oct 21, 2015

very clear

By Wen Z

Jun 2, 2020

worth it!

By Aparicio C C

Jan 19, 2020

Excelent.

By Claiton V V d S

May 30, 2018

Perfect!!

By Carolina P d S

Aug 5, 2017

wonderful

By Hossein D

Dec 22, 2017

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

.

By Ben Z

May 8, 2023

Superb.

By Duan Y

Mar 9, 2023

great!!

By Deleted A

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

By Tooba Z

Apr 23, 2022

.

By Armie M

Feb 4, 2018

I

By John

May 21, 2016

Q

By Camila A

Jun 2, 2020

I really enjoyed the readings and videos. Also, I liked the assignments because they were challenging but possible to do. And I think the correction system works. But I think the forum organization could be better. When I was writing the essays I wanted to post ideas, questions, resources, but everything was invaded by requests from peers to correct their essays. I know everyone is anxious to get their corrections, but maybe all of the posts related to that topic can be gathered in one place so other discussions can take place. I think ideas and resources exchange is a big part of studying, and as in this course the classes are not live, the forum is the only available place for that.

I just wanted to say that because I enjoyed the course and really liked professor Roth's classes. I'm really thankful for that.

By Patrícia R P

Oct 3, 2021

The course has strong references, mainly in the areas of philosophy and classic literature. I was delighted while exploring all the different approaches and impressions made by such renowned figures. It offers extended material and insight for access knowledgeability on an array of diverse subjects. Delving deep in the long readings and accessing the week's assignment on time can be quite a challenge. I am currently delving into Part 2 of this course, as I mostly want to engage with different philosophical viewpoints while making the necessary adaptations following my thought and life view.

By Divulgación f

Jun 16, 2021

Tengo una sensación agridulce del cuirso. El contenido y desarrollo del mismo adelantado por el profesor es inmejorable: excelente didáctica, gran campo de contexto nada que mejorar. Sin embargo, me pareció terrible el sistema de evaluación de los escritos, no me parece este sistema algo serio, pues no se sabe realmente quien realiza la evaluación y la competencia que tiene para realizar dicha evaluación. Este último elemento desvaloriza la riqueza que el mismo curso ofrece.

By Eimeren M

May 11, 2020

I am not so much knowledgeable with philosophy. This course has been informative enough to give me understanding about different figures and their philosophies such as: Kant, Rousseau, Marx, Flaubert, Darwin, Baudelaire, and Nietzsche. Professor Roth is very charismatic during his online presentations. I may have given this course a five-star review only if all of the recommended reading materials are available in the link provided by the university.

By Lynne H

Aug 4, 2020

This course was excellent; Michael Roth is an excellent lecturer who clearly knows his subjects very well.

My only wish is that this online course would find additional learning methodologies, other than lecture/videos for the entire course. (I chose not to do the written assignments and discussions). I particularly liked the final segment giving more context to the subject matter, through painting.

By Madhushree K

Jun 20, 2020

Wish the course would provide a framework within which essays ought to be written. For ex: One of my essays got marked as "plagiarised" because I didn't cite my sources. The thing is, I have never written academic essays after high school. I didn't even know there are supposed to be citations, or that there are different ways to go about them.

By Emmanouil P

Apr 4, 2017

This course, as well as part 2, is a great opportunity to put things in order. Modernity, the Enlightenment, shaped our present and the course does a great job in acquainting with the basic thinkers of this period. My only improvement proposal is to make access to texts easier by providing handouts in e-book format.

By Katy S

Oct 15, 2015

Prof. Roth has covered a great many schools of philosophical thought...which, in turn, as driven me to look up more information out of curiosity. He takes an often-difficult course of study, and makes it not only easier, but makes it enjoyable.