Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) by Wesleyan University

4.8
stars
629 ratings
140 reviews

About the Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 139 Reviews for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

By Liu y

Aug 24, 2015

Extremely-interesting course!

By Luis L

Sep 16, 2015

Excellent course, thank you

By Anne S C

Oct 13, 2015

I enjoyed this very much.

By Fable Z

Apr 03, 2019

That is very good class

By José L C

Feb 28, 2016

Very clear expositions.

By Muhammad A

Nov 03, 2016

Exciting material.

By Julia P

Dec 06, 2018

Very insightful.

By Joyce Z

Jan 24, 2016

very systematic~

By Marcelo R

Jul 08, 2017

extraordinaire!

By Accelerator

Oct 26, 2019

good lecture

By Jon C

Apr 12, 2016

Great class!

By Mónica M G

Aug 15, 2016

excellent!

By Beatriz S

May 19, 2016

Wonderful!

By Mike H

Oct 21, 2015

very clear

By Aparicio C C

Jan 19, 2020

Excelent.

By Claiton V V d S

May 30, 2018

Perfect!!

By Carolina P d S

Aug 05, 2017

wonderful

By Hossein D

Dec 22, 2017

A

w

e

s

o

m

e

.

By James

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

By Armie M

Feb 04, 2018

I

By John

May 21, 2016

Q

By Emmanouil P

Apr 04, 2017

This course, as well as part 2, is a great opportunity to put things in order. Modernity, the Enlightenment, shaped our present and the course does a great job in acquainting with the basic thinkers of this period. My only improvement proposal is to make access to texts easier by providing handouts in e-book format.

By Alexandra L

Oct 16, 2015

Prof. Roth has covered a great many schools of philosophical thought...which, in turn, as driven me to look up more information out of curiosity. He takes an often-difficult course of study, and makes it not only easier, but makes it enjoyable.

By frank t

Oct 18, 2015

Hey,

Was a learning course. Ben learned more about the treatment time. I simultaneously following a different course on art: Gogh History of Impressionism which was about the same period.

Regards Frank Terpoorten

By Patricia M

Oct 02, 2015

Very interesting lectures. I found this to be a very good learning opportunity. The professor has a very good grasp of his topic.