Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) by Wesleyan University

4.8
stars
974 ratings

About the Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

JR

Aug 1, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 7, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 268 Reviews for The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

By Cecilia E A d F

Apr 11, 2020

I just loved it! I've learned a lot and it will definitely help me a lot in my teaching career! Anxiously looking forward to studying part II of the course.

By Víctor D L C

Dec 25, 2017

Excelent course, I love it and I´m learning too much about moderniy and philosophy. The professor is so good and with great empathy and so much knowledges.

By Muhammed J M

Jul 21, 2020

Great experience... Discussion forum could be more creative... there should be a video interactive session among peers under the guidance of course mentor

By Paola R

Nov 19, 2020

Love it much! ♥ I am very much obliged to all those who were involved in bringing about this beautiful project. Thank you for making our lives better.

By Laura L

Sep 22, 2016

This is my favourite course . The professor is so enthusiastic and passionate to share his knowledge, and is doing a great job. Best course ever !

By Javier C

Sep 25, 2020

muy buen curso, se reunen lecturas de diversos ámbitos. Lo mejor son las clases que logran situarse en el tiempo y comprender mejor a los autores

By Farhad A

May 14, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. Thank You our dear professor, Mr. Roth, and wonderful Wesleyan University. Thank You, Coursera!!! That was great.

By Chris

Feb 17, 2019

Cool ideas. Very engaging instructor. Finally I understand the Simpson's and the odd Nietzschean qualities of our modern and post-modern world.

By Neha W

Jun 25, 2020

Under Roth sir's tutelege the concepts became really easy to understand. Had a great experience sharing and learning along side other fellows.

By Michael F

Jan 18, 2017

Хороший курс. Для тех, кто смутно представляет, что происходило в 19 веке в Европе с точки зрения философии, политики и культуры, - самое оно.

By Mark P

Jun 18, 2022

This course introduces us to authors and writings that we might not ever read. The commentaries provide interesting context and insights.

By Dr. M K P

May 6, 2020

It was indeed a well-organized course and the contents were really of high grade and it certainly enriched our intellect. Thanks Prof Roth.

By Sudhir D

Apr 25, 2017

This is an amazing course - I loved every bit of it and learned so much. I am going to listen to all the material yet again. Thanks much.

By Patricia

May 29, 2020

I enjoyed this course from the beginning to the end. The professor makes the readings utterly interesting. I highly recommend this class

By Ethan T

Mar 14, 2021

A good course with good reading material that gets you to think about what the modern is and its most important concepts and attitudes.

By Katalin V

Jul 22, 2020

I've found Professor Roth a fascinating lecturer, using exactly the right ingredients to make this hard subject more easily digestable.

By D V

Mar 3, 2017

Enjoying the lectures again. This is my second time listening to the lectures and doing some of the readings. Thank you Professor Roth.

By Nurit G

Dec 5, 2015

I enjoyed the course. The lecturer skillfully mixes philosophy and art sources to get us into the world of enlightenment and modernity.

By Nishant A

Jan 12, 2021

This is simply one of the best online courses, I’ve ever pursued. Michael Roth is an amazing professor. Thank you for the opportunity.

By Maria E H

May 8, 2017

The professor is highly engaging and explains the material in a succinct and enjoyable manner as well as making the course a pleasure!

By Yamuna B

May 28, 2020

Really informative, and life-changing. I finished both parts and I am really content, and better off in life because of the course.

By Éfrin G (

Feb 11, 2020

Simply excellent course!

It is dynamic, well constructed and easy to follow.

The essays are challenging and focus on the materials.

By Maria M

Apr 12, 2020

Thank you Pr. Roth! One of the best professors i've ever had! Enthusiasm + passion + tons of informations = an excellent course!!!

By Clarissa P

Sep 4, 2015

Interesting and thought provoking, the professor has an engaging style and it encourages me to explore these areas in more detail.

By Ronald C

Dec 29, 2023

My The Modern and the Postmodern (1) was amazing and the instructor Mr. Roth is one of the greatest instructors I have ever seen.