Chevron Left
Back to Economics of Money and Banking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Economics of Money and Banking by Columbia University

4.9
stars
1,099 ratings
303 reviews

About the Course

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top reviews

BG
Jul 16, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK
Nov 17, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filter by:

276 - 297 of 297 Reviews for Economics of Money and Banking

By Nusrat J

Jul 22, 2020

I

By Jacqueline K

Aug 25, 2020

Having not been present in money, finance or the world of economics for some time the first couple weeks of this course were rather intimidating. As the weeks progressed and the progression of the course became more clear, I found the course very interesting and insightful. I took this course as a personal interest course and not as a "credit" course and learned a great deal not only about the differing views regarding money, but also about the events surrounding money and the powers of banks.

By Biagio B

Jul 16, 2017

Overall I really liked the course. Many real world examples are provided, the course covers all topics mentioned during the examples and it gives you insight in many world's banking mechanism. Negative aspects: too long, some chapter can be cut off, you need a minimum background in economics to fully enjoy the course.

By 肖均

May 9, 2020

The content of this course is very relevant to the real-world financial system, and provide an alternative way to understand how the financial system works and how they relate to each other. This is the biggest difference from those standard books of the money and bank. Overall, it is a very good course.

By Поморина М А

Oct 28, 2019

The course content is very interesting and provides a broad view of the history of the development of the theory of money and banking.

However, tests are not always correct. The choice of answer is often ambiguous. We need slides that briefly present the essence of the problems under consideration.

By Maximilian S

May 27, 2020

I learned so much about an important topic and Prof. Mehrling keeps you interrested in the course throughout all lectures. I enjoyed the connection to the real world through the real world examples. Just 4 stars, because I missed some balance sheet quizes or more mathematical questions

By Ryan K

Apr 27, 2018

Excellent Course.

Well crafted syllabus and text that builds on material and continual ties ideas together.

Stay Liquid and Survive!

Negatives:

Dated materials, article links that do not work, some of the video editing. Quizes are not really benficiall to learning

By Julian H F

Feb 24, 2017

Very good course, teacher is great and content is very insightful.

On the less good side, students should not expect all concepts to be clarified from the beginning, so a good deal of research has to be self made.

By umwoosung

Jan 9, 2017

I can get the useful knowledge on origin of Fed and other basic source about American finace.

So I want to deeply recommend this course to all of you. Thanks

By soto h

Jun 30, 2020

It was awesome to know and learn economics from a different point of view from a view which I'm learning in Japan

By Arti K

Jun 28, 2017

A very structured course and content. Interesting teaching methods made it easy to grasp.

By Deleted A

Apr 23, 2020

Awesome instructor, great sharing of knowledge

Thank you

By Yifei H

Jul 6, 2020

Really an interesting course. Filled with knowledge

By Oludamilare A

Nov 22, 2018

Very Insightful and extremely intense.

By Miguel P

May 28, 2018

Excellent data and explanations

By Richard K

Oct 26, 2017

very informative.

By Atul J G

Dec 4, 2016

Excellent course

By Santiago C

Jan 18, 2017

mmmmm

By Lam Y C

Jul 2, 2018

Good

By VIALA C

Mar 10, 2017

It is tottaly unacceptable to have to pay to pass quizz !!!

I cancel my participation

By Suraj P

Jul 10, 2020

Confusing lecture. Explanation is not proper.Its mix up.

By Shubham K

Jun 5, 2020

Currently not in my use