Chevron Left
Back to Economics of Money and Banking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Economics of Money and Banking by Columbia University

4.9
stars
1,123 ratings
311 reviews

About the Course

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Top reviews

BG
Jul 16, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK
Nov 17, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 305 Reviews for Economics of Money and Banking

By Paul C

Jun 30, 2017

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the banking system as it really is. This course is one of the best courses, if not the best course, I have ever taken.

By Jace T

May 17, 2020

One of the best course that i had in coursera that made me have a different free in the banking world moving away from finance and economics view, giving me a much fresher and wider perception of the world.

By Panayiotis A

Sep 6, 2020

Difficult course for an individual like me with no academic background in Economics. My understanding now of the field and some its major terms has advanced. Utterly an enlightening month full of learning!

By Barbara G

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

By Petar K

May 29, 2020

The "Economics of Money and Banking" course provided an inspiring look on the modern international finance system. Definitely, recommending it for both newcomers and already experienced students.

By Santanu K

Nov 17, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

By Prathamesh M

Jun 27, 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

By Shawn S

Dec 6, 2020

Very well explained and easy to follow for a non-finance/economics person. If you want to have a deeper understanding of the Financial Times or The Economist, I highly recommend this course.

By Sonia L S

Jan 16, 2021

Great Course! It even exceeded my high expectations! Instructor's explanations very interesting and well presented. I would definitely follow more courses lead by P. Mehrling.

By Dan Z

Jul 13, 2019

This was an excellent course. I really enjoyed the way it was delivered and the was the Prof explained the concept. He is extremely knowledgeable and communicates very well.

By Perikli P

Dec 4, 2016

Prof. Mehrling's ability to explain such complex items is just amazing. His passion in teaching as well as his neutrality are really thrilling. Thank you very much Professor.

By Vusal T H

Dec 10, 2017

This course is something priceless. Best course about money and banking in internet. The tutor was great. There is not a word to discribe the perfectness of this course.

By karey d

Jul 27, 2020

Very helpful course. Professor is very knowledgable in the field and way of teaching is easy to follow. Help to understand the modern money system and capital market.

By Morgan M

May 19, 2020

This course is definitely not for everybody; then the insights are crucial to understand the current economic and financial situation amid the COVID 19 induced crisis

By Udit P

Aug 15, 2017

Probably the best course I've ever taken! The money view approach is very unique in itself. Professor Mehrling's old school way of teaching is very refreshing indeed!

By Alexandra F

Oct 8, 2020

Perry Mehrling is an amazing teacher and his course is so interesting and detailed! It was a great way to spend the summer in a time like this. Highly recommended.

By Priyam o

May 25, 2018

Best course if you want to study about the mechanism of banking system and flow of money from the top.And the prof is one of the best prof from whom i have studied

By Gudmundur O

Jan 12, 2018

Great presentation of Money and Banking.

Perry's introduction of a complex systems are very well delivered in simple peaces that all come together at the end.

By Jeferson J

Dec 25, 2020

Fantástico material e bem didático. Recomendo a todos que buscam uma base para o mercado financeiro e entender o valor do dinheiro e instituicoes bancárias.

By A W

Sep 20, 2020

It's a good quality course with a great lecturer. The feedback in the test is not helpful though. Feedback such as "Nope" for a wrong answer is not helpful.

By Meet S

Aug 31, 2020

Very relevant considering the enormous impact the FED and other central banks are having by infusing unprecedented amount of liquidity into their economies.

By rohit r

Nov 2, 2016

As far as I have come, the course is depth driven having real life applications than most of the other courses I have come across and completed. Thank you.

By Stefan P

Jul 24, 2020

Truly inspirational and Prof. Mehrling is unquestionably one of the brightest minds of this generation. He teaches in a very vivid and comprehensible way.

By James K

Feb 25, 2020

I loved the structure and the content of this course. I cannot thank Professor Perry enough for posting his lectures online for all to see and learn.

By Chen L

Jan 21, 2017

The course teaches systematically, links up money markets and capital markets and at the end opens a new way of thinking about economics and finance.