Chevron Left
Back to Moral Foundations of Politics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Moral Foundations of Politics by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,583 ratings
903 reviews

About the Course

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top reviews

MS
Sep 16, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS
Jul 1, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 893 Reviews for Moral Foundations of Politics

By Poka C

Aug 9, 2017

has lots of interesting views and argument. He provided discussion and examples to demonstrate the intangible theory to be easily understood.

By Jessical C

Jul 5, 2020

I think this Course is amazing, I have learnt so much and the Professor was very clear and interactive during the classes. very enjoyable.

By Sandini S

Jul 13, 2017

I didn't really know what to expect, but this course has been very interesting and ideal for anyone considering studying PPE at university

By Abdul R s I S

Sep 4, 2020

It was an enjoyable learning experience. I have embraced new concepts and ideas which I can utilize to explain issues in politics better.

By Henry J A T

Feb 8, 2016

What a wonderful teacher, and also a great performance from the students. Office Hours is one of the several highlights of this course.

By Hao Z

Nov 16, 2015

This course is both rewarding and a bit challenging. Strongly recommended for anyone interested in political issues and moral philosophy.

By Emil K

Jan 27, 2021

Useful course for political and economic thinking. Good supplement for Business Administration, Economics or Political Science students.

By MARELEN S P D L R

Aug 18, 2020

A passionate presentation of the moral foundations of politics. Highly enjoyable and remarkably well presented by the professor Shapiro.

By Vilmos F

Jun 30, 2020

This course made me understand the general political philosophies better. Prof. Shapiro explained all of the course's topics very well.

By Carlos F C J

Feb 12, 2016

Ótimo curso, o melhor do tema que já tive conhecimento, vou tentar completá-lo pela segunda vez. Parabéns professor, e muito obrigado!

By NALIN M

Sep 30, 2020

The Professor, course content and course structure are all absolutely brilliant. I would highly recommend this to everyone out there!

By Timothy B

Nov 8, 2020

Very engaging and entertaining professor. Reasonable and well-thought introductions to the various systems outlined in the syllabus.

By Neringa B

Jun 4, 2017

Great course, lively presentation, interesting ideas and one afterthought of mine: " Existential knowledge cannot be monopolised ".

By daren a

Nov 27, 2015

It is a wonderful course and the professor is excellent.

I really learn too much and I hope to take another course about this topic

By Leila A

Oct 16, 2016

A very systematic and comprehensive course. Thank you for the new insights into the moral underpinnings of contemporary politics.

By Skirmante Z

Jan 22, 2020

Outstanding and very informative course, touching fundamental questions that every politician or research should ask. Well done!

By Felipe I C A

Jun 19, 2020

Un muy buen curso, que me entregó herramientas y argumentos muy importantes en cuanto a los fundamentos morales de la política.

By Manuel V

Feb 21, 2019

Excelente curso que analiza en profundidad grandes temas relacionadas con la política y el pensar filosófico de algunos autores

By Tom T

Apr 9, 2017

I enjoyed this course. The information was presented in an interesting way, and the student dialogues reinforced the knowledge.

By thobela c

May 10, 2020

The moral foundations in politics are true guidance to understanding the political approach in this dispensation of modernity.

By Tilen

Nov 14, 2015

Since i finished philosophy studies and continue economics, this is a big insight of the development of liberal thought. Great

By Saar B

Sep 4, 2020

Easy to follow. The tests at the end of each section are based on actual content. You can take your time. Really good course.

By Sebastian K

Jun 14, 2020

120/5000

It´s an excellent course, really very complete and interesting. It provides the necessary knowledge in a short time.

By Andrea N S V

Oct 28, 2020

Sin duda un curso espectacular para entender los diversos sistemas económicos y de justicia que han imperado en la sociedad.

By Miguel A

May 24, 2020

Muy informativo. Te saca muchas dudas sobre las diversas corrientes políticas que han dominado al mundo durante su historia.