Chevron Left
Back to Moral Foundations of Politics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Moral Foundations of Politics by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,407 ratings
871 reviews

About the Course

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top reviews

SS
Jul 1, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
Sep 16, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 862 Reviews for Moral Foundations of Politics

By Paz O

Mar 12, 2019

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho para la reflexión y poder plantear mis inquietudes de mejor forma con mayor fundamento.

By Terry Y

Jun 25, 2018

It is an amazing course that provides you an understanding on the different political traditions and how are they used.

By Jorge M C

Jun 1, 2017

Extraordinario curso, para quienes estén interesados en una guía para profundizar en el mundo de la filosofía política.

By Maisarah B A L

Jun 13, 2020

great starting point if you are looking for an introductory course to politics from a western (mostly USA) perspective

By Justin D

Nov 30, 2016

It's a great course. You'll wish that you could take a course from Shapiro on anyone of these traditions to go deeper.

By Liyuan F

Nov 29, 2020

Very in-depth lessons and explanations on the foundations of politics. Definitely an eye-opening course to enroll in!

By Dominica C

Mar 20, 2020

This course was incredibly engaging and managed to effectively convey the content in a unique, conversational format.

By JIANG C

Jun 20, 2020

The lectures are easy to follow!! Definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to start learning politics :)

By Ernesto M P

Jun 12, 2020

Extraordinario curso, sin duda contribuirá en el desarrollo de mi formación personal y profesional. ¡Muchas gracias!

By Deleted A

Dec 2, 2019

Ian Shapiro is very detailed in his lecturing of political theory. However the ebook in ?Cengage? link is expensive

By Aleksandra L

Jan 16, 2017

I strongly appreciate a clarity of the lectures. The course was prepared honestly and in an elegant way. Thank you!

By Sergey A

Apr 8, 2018

Very concise course in history of political philosophy. Cover a wide area and provocative questions for beginner.

By Marcello L D

Dec 12, 2017

Excelent Course. It introduces the mainly concepts in each tradition and give more deep discussions in each topic

By Martijn S

Nov 2, 2016

excellent course, very high educational value and insight. Would definitly recommend it to others

-Martijn Spruijt

By Fernanda d O V

Jul 10, 2020

Great course! I would recommend to those who appreciate learning more about the philosophical basis of politics.

By Aaron K

Mar 31, 2019

Fascinating and clear exposition of some of the deepest roots of the questions of morality inherent in politics.

By Aspasia B

May 24, 2020

Great course, I m sad it has finished. It helped me in a fun and easy way to understand basic politic concepts

By MARZIA B

Mar 29, 2021

Very useful course to learn about political philosophy. It helped me preparing an exam based on these topics.

By Antoine R

Dec 22, 2015

Great course and teacher! The format is really cool for the topic. Hope there will be some kind of "part 2".

By Emmanouela T

Dec 7, 2020

Very beuatiful made an eye opening! Thank you for this experience! And special thanks to Professor Shapiro!

By Ofentse L

Aug 10, 2020

I learned a lot in this course, was my favorite actually. The lecture makes things, everything was perfect

By ljdover

Sep 13, 2019

Wonderful class that helped to clarify the different political theories for me. I would highly recommend t

By Jeffrey H

Aug 3, 2018

Great and challenging course. Will provide you an introduction to the tools to analyze political systems.

By Miguelina R V

Jun 5, 2017

Very interesting course !! helped me a lot to know more about Politics !!! Thank you Professor Saphiro !!!

By Cristina A G

Mar 23, 2019

An excellent course with a perfectly sequence of ideas, the explaining of the professor is just suitable.