Chevron Left
Back to Moral Foundations of Politics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Moral Foundations of Politics by Yale University

4.9
stars
5,096 ratings
983 reviews

About the Course

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top reviews

SS

Jul 1, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 16, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 978 Reviews for Moral Foundations of Politics

By Konstantinos Z

Dec 11, 2017

I have studied dozens of courses from engineering and physical sciences to economics and finance. This was one of the most interesting and insig

By Marllon S

Oct 18, 2015

Excellent course provided by Yale University. It helped me to better understand the foundations of our modern society. I definitely recommend it.

By Thayná R d O

Jun 28, 2022

Um dos melhores cursos que ja fiz, simplesmente sensacional. A plataforma ajuda muito, alem das legendas e leituras que disponibilizam para nós.

By Шарлай Я С

Mar 24, 2022

Excellent course. My knowledge in the field of politics and philosophy in the context of activity has greatly increased. Thanks for the course.

By Helen S

Dec 30, 2020

Excellent course; professor adds to the material with insights that are making me reassess some long held prejudices. Thank you, Prof Shapiro.

By Sylvestre N

Jan 18, 2020

This program frankly is great. It will allow me to understand how moral foundation of Politics works and will strengthen my politics knowledge.

By Karolina M d O

Nov 9, 2020

um curso muito bom para quem tem interesse em política, saber a teoria e os clássicos é essencial para adentrar no ambiente de estudo político

By Poka C

Aug 9, 2017

has lots of interesting views and argument. He provided discussion and examples to demonstrate the intangible theory to be easily understood.

By John F

Oct 28, 2021

An excellent course with detailed instruction and a very interesting reading list. Most of the readings can be found online in PDF format.

By Jessical C

Jul 5, 2020

I think this Course is amazing, I have learnt so much and the Professor was very clear and interactive during the classes. very enjoyable.

By Sandini S

Jul 13, 2017

I didn't really know what to expect, but this course has been very interesting and ideal for anyone considering studying PPE at university

By Abdul R s I S

Sep 4, 2020

It was an enjoyable learning experience. I have embraced new concepts and ideas which I can utilize to explain issues in politics better.

By Henry J A T

Feb 8, 2016

What a wonderful teacher, and also a great performance from the students. Office Hours is one of the several highlights of this course.

By Hao Z

Nov 16, 2015

This course is both rewarding and a bit challenging. Strongly recommended for anyone interested in political issues and moral philosophy.

By Emil K

Jan 27, 2021

Useful course for political and economic thinking. Good supplement for Business Administration, Economics or Political Science students.

By MARELEN S P D L R

Aug 18, 2020

A passionate presentation of the moral foundations of politics. Highly enjoyable and remarkably well presented by the professor Shapiro.

By Vilmos F

Jun 30, 2020

This course made me understand the general political philosophies better. Prof. Shapiro explained all of the course's topics very well.

By Carlos F C J

Feb 12, 2016

Ótimo curso, o melhor do tema que já tive conhecimento, vou tentar completá-lo pela segunda vez. Parabéns professor, e muito obrigado!

By NALIN M

Sep 30, 2020

The Professor, course content and course structure are all absolutely brilliant. I would highly recommend this to everyone out there!

By Timothy B

Dec 26, 2021

Very engaging and entertaining professor. Reasonable and well-thought introductions to the various systems outlined in the syllabus.

By Neringa B

Jun 4, 2017

Great course, lively presentation, interesting ideas and one afterthought of mine: " Existential knowledge cannot be monopolised ".

By daren a

Nov 27, 2015

It is a wonderful course and the professor is excellent.

I really learn too much and I hope to take another course about this topic

By Bodoor K H F A O

Oct 3, 2021

This course is so excellent and full with life long information that exited me to study and learn more about the political field.

By Leila A

Oct 16, 2016

A very systematic and comprehensive course. Thank you for the new insights into the moral underpinnings of contemporary politics.

By Skirmante Z

Jan 22, 2020

Outstanding and very informative course, touching fundamental questions that every politician or research should ask. Well done!