Chevron Left
Back to Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
5,560 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to create a shared vision for your team and effectively communicate it to your teammates. You will also learn how to set effective goals and expectations in a way that best enables your team to attain the shared vision. Finally, you will understand the most important needs and drivers of performance across cultures, and will learn to align rewards with desired behaviors so that your teammates are motivated to attain the team’s objectives. Motivation represents a crucial challenge for contemporary organizations: A recent Gallup poll revealed that only 13% of workers worldwide exhibit high levels of engagement and motivation. We will show you why these motivation problems are not simply due to a “bad” or “unmotivated” team member. Rather, motivation is very much driven by what work conditions we create for our teammates, how we structure goals and objectives, and how we reward people for the accomplishment of those goals. This course will help you diagnose and solve motivation problems so that you can bring out the best in your people....

Top reviews

KG

Mar 23, 2021

Excellent instructors, material is reliable and more than sufficient, overall presentation of information is well-paced, and all activities, included peer-graded assignments have learning potential.

TD

Jun 20, 2017

Great course, but perhaps forewarn students of the feedback assignment in week 4 a little bit earlier - it took me nearly a month to get feedback from people on my team because we are pretty busy.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,205 Reviews for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

By Han P

Jul 7, 2020

Excellent course, I learn a lot useful knowledge which can immediately apply on my current position. Big thank to Coursera and Michigan University for bringing the course to us. I am a young woman living in a developing country, Coursera like a gateway for me to jump in the these worldwide quality courses.

By Donell T

Apr 3, 2022

Great course and very challenging. I learned a lot of new tools to use in management but most importantly learned a lot about many of my managment and leadership practices and received great information and tools to help continue in the development and strengthening of my leadership gifts. Thank you.

By Luis M C Z

Jan 31, 2016

Un gran curso!

Indispensable para todas las personas que tienen o desean adquirir un rol de Liderazgo dentro de las empresas.

Los subtítulos en inglés nos permiten, a los que hablamos español, practicar el idioma inglés y comprender con mayor facilidad lo expresado por los profesores.

Muy recomendable!!!

By Angel L S

Aug 8, 2016

Clear, to the point. Professors are great and provide tools that have, can and will be used daily. When your time is limited it becomes extremely valuable, and when you invest that time into something like this course and see that its worth every second of your time, WOW. Keep up the fantastic work.

By Dr N

Aug 20, 2020

What an excellent course structure. There was a lot to learn but you have manage to pull that through. Thank you to all the Professors for offering this excellent course to transform people not just us who have done it but the whole Team/ department. Thank you for giving it for free. Stay blessed!

By Salem A S

Nov 6, 2017

Excellent course with very useful knowledge on how to better aim your goals as a manager to develop the firm, also how to speak and express yourself in a matter to compel workers and the ways and styles to do such thing. This course also include non verbal communication and many other techniques.

By Alper S

Mar 10, 2024

Hello. I Founder of a Startup in the IT sector in Delaware, America. I have a mobile application called Favoritan: Just Favorites, available in Android and iOS stores. I hope to grow my Startup with the "Inspiring and Motivating Individuals" course. Thank you for everything, Mr. Maxim Sytch.

By Geeta M

Sep 8, 2020

This course has been like reflective feedback for me. I always remember a colleague telling me as you climb higher you will find lesser people with you and enough to pull you down. I have learnt to stay calm and never jump to conclusions. Healthy environment is necessary at your workplace.

By Raphael A

Oct 8, 2023

This course to me is one in a handful! There is no one word to fully describe this brilliantly crafted specialization. The beatitudes of the content being prepared are amazing. The clarity in the presentation is a handful! I would encourage every soul to read this course. Thank you all!

By Sujata R

Oct 26, 2016

It is wonderful course and has videos which shows practical demonstrations of the concepts. The videos are also not enacted specifically for the course but picked up from movies or news / documentary. Could relate to every concept well. Very effective. The peer mechanism is well defined.

By Masud K

Apr 23, 2017

Great course, pushed my thinking further in developing leadership. I also learnt new things even though I have gone through internal leadership courses in my organisation already. Really good stuff on performance appraisals, developing a vision and communicating it. Great teachers too.

By Carine W

Feb 1, 2017

Very inspirational course, a wealth of knowledge is presented in a captivating manner. The principles taught are backed by research. The knowledge gained is practical and applicable to real life situations. The course gives tools to inspire and motivate others in all spheres of life.

By Agustin C

Feb 14, 2016

This is my first interaction with Coursera trainning and I have been pleasantly surprised. The tool is great and this course in particular has been helpful for my career. The way the concepts are explained and the amount of practice that it has it makes it really useful for me.

Thanks,

By matteo m

Sep 2, 2017

excellent course, discussing hot topics such as developing your vision's organization, setting SMART goals, motivating your employees, rewarding them, recognizing the key drivers of performance, how to manage goals and expectations. overall very interesting and highly recommended.

By Ali T J

Nov 18, 2019

Excellent and very useful course which helps you to always remember the power of inspiring and motivating individuals and teams although you know some of the issues, however, the way presented and theory and research behind and updates are excellent for all. Thank you all. Ali

By Marcos S

Aug 29, 2020

Professors DeRue and Sytch form an incredible duo. I had heard of them, but in this course, they were exceptional. There's nothing to complain about, because the whole course is very well-developed. A single suggestion is to elevate the difficulty of the tests just a little.

By Hao G

Jun 17, 2016

It's hugely helpful. As an engineer, I learned many new stuff I would never have a chance to learn before . The two teachers are awesome. I really appreciate their teaching styles as well as the content. Many thanks to the teachers, Coursera and University of Michigan!

By Adolfo M d l R

Mar 12, 2016

I really liked this course. Its the second one I take on Coursera. I think Im ending the course with a lot of tools to work on my leadership. Very good examples, videos and explanations. If you need to improve your leadership, this curse will definitely will help you.

By Douglas B

Dec 14, 2017

The ideas covered in this course were not new to me, as they probably will not be to you, but they were presented in a way that made me rethink my previous notions about intrinsic and extrinsic motivations. Try this course and shed some new light on a classic subject.

By André L B

Apr 30, 2019

Course is good!! But I really dont like how the certificate shows up on linkedin. They all have the same boring coursera logo for all the course. Please, change this!! I really would like to have the logo of the university on my linkedin coursera certificate section.

By José J C

Sep 5, 2016

I'm not new to this subject, but definitively I liked the material, the way they conducted the course, the examples and videos. I liked the way they always resume and make the effort for recap each lesson.

I guess this is one of the courses which deserves the be paid.

By Fred C

May 9, 2022

I loved how Scott and Maxim approached their disciplines. I've learned a lot during this course and I've took some notes that I will review in order to master it. Even though I led people over the last 10 years, I was thrilled because some techniques were new to me.

By James M K

Mar 22, 2020

This is a very insightful course. There is so much I didn't know on inspiring teams, I have picked up a handful of ideas and will be implementing this on my daily work. I will keep revisiting the course to ensure the lessons remain on my finger tips. Thank you!!!

By Almpertos S

Feb 11, 2023

A great course for beginners on the subject of leadership, with many short and useful videos and exercises which make you think outside the box plus some really interesting articles which open your eyes to the new knowledge and which you can do in your own pace.

By Anand P

Apr 30, 2016

Thank you to University of Michigan and its professors Scott DeRue and Maxim Sytch. This has been one of the best online courses I have ever attended. The course brings into picture a lot of ideas and strategies to help evaluate, develop and motivate your teams.