Chevron Left
Back to Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World by University of Copenhagen

4.8
stars
620 ratings
185 reviews

About the Course

Learn what motivates the restive Muslim youth from Tunis to Tehran, what political positions Islamists from Mali to Chechnya are fighting for, where the seeming obsession with Islamic law comes from, where the secularists have vanished to, and whether it makes sense to speak of an Islamic state. Since 2009 there has been a renewed wave of popular unrest sweeping throughout much of the Muslim world. Secular, but generally repressive and inefficient autocracies have come under pressure or been swept aside entirely. At the same, the various Islamic Republics have not fared much better, but been convulsed by internal unrest, economic and social decline. Throughout the Muslim lands, existing constitutional arrangements are being challenged, often very violently. This course is a survey of the constitutional ideas and institutions that have developed since the mid 19th century throughout predominantly Muslim countries, but its focus will lie on the actors that have dominated this discourse and shaped its outcomes. We will look at the large body of classical writings on the Islamic state only in so far as it is necessary to understand the contemporary debate, but concentrate on the legal and political developments of the 20th and 21st centuries. Three common themes will characterise the course:  We privilege the study of the legal and social reality and seek to highlight where it is at odds with dogmatic stipulations, be they religious or constitutional.  We seek to illustrate the practical tensions posed by limited administrative capabilities and political legitimacy that resulted from the incomplete reception of modern bureaucratic statehood.  We seek to examine how popular dissatisfaction with the practical performance of Muslim governments has fuelled demands for greater accountability under the guise of cultural authenticity.  Ultimately, the course aims to equip participants to better understand Muslim contemporary discourse about the res publica, better contextualise the demands for religious law in public life, and to better ascertain the theoretical and practical feasibility of postulated religious alternatives to the still-dominant secular model of governance....

Top reviews

LP
Nov 21, 2015

This course is really interesting and informative. It gave me a much better understanding for the history and politics behind some of the issues we are all facing today, and really broadened my mind.

NP
Dec 27, 2015

The course was good. But the real situation has been changing drastically. A supplement or extension of course is required to cover the up to date situation about IS activities, syria Iraq etc.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 182 Reviews for Constitutional Struggles in the Muslim World

By Daithi M W

Apr 13, 2016

A fantastic course: immensely interesting, well-presented, relevant to the modern world, and very thought-provoking.

By Juan L P

Aug 21, 2016

Excelente, el mejor de los seis que he hecho en coursera

Excellent, the best of the six that I have done in Coursera

By Regina Z

Aug 11, 2016

Excellent Course. It can help you to better understand a region with a complicated past and a troubled presence.

By Mirza I B

Nov 17, 2015

Impressive analysis. This will truly push the intelligentsia to understand the core problems and ask questions.

By Kristin M

Jan 3, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and eye opening. Concrete historical information but also very theoretical.

By potsang

Oct 10, 2016

Lectures are long but provide very useful information for all that want to know more about the Muslim world.

By Shana

Nov 3, 2015

So far, an educational and enlightening course about the Muslim world and how it came to be as it is today.

By Armando B M

Jun 21, 2019

Excelent!!! Promotes knowledge about a very ignored region of the world. Very satisfying and rewarding!!!

By shakiba b

Feb 25, 2016

It has been an enlightening course that gives us a much more deeper insight into the Muslim World issues.

By Patrizia B

Jan 5, 2016

I would give this course 5 stars: it was excellent, both in content and in delivery. A true learning ex

By Yasmin A

Aug 21, 2019

This is a brilliant course, well delivered and very informative. I am thoroughly enjoying this course.

By Rizqan I

Sep 22, 2016

A very good instructor with a balanced approach in an overview in most aspects of Muslim countries.

By Victoria E A

Aug 7, 2017

It's amazing how much information is covered in these lectures. I enjoy the knowledge I'm getting.

By Vitelmo P

Jul 17, 2017

Excelente contenido, el contenido es muy bien explicado y ampliado en los documentos de consulta.

By Hassan S

Jan 10, 2016

this course helps a lot to understand the dynamic of constitutional struggle in the Islamic world

By Hafsa D

Jul 13, 2017

This was a very informative and well organized course. It holistically covered all the regions.

By Katsikaros E

Nov 5, 2015

Excellent mixture of historical, social, law and financial aspects of the areas examined.

By Gregg H

Sep 3, 2017

Very broad yet detailed description of a crucial cultural, economic and diplomatic area.

By Glen M

Dec 28, 2020

Very in depth thought provoking material delivered in a logical and compelling manner.

By Jenny O

May 22, 2017

A very good course that I recommend to anyone seeking an understanding of this topic.

By mo m

Oct 16, 2015

This was the best course ever in coursera or in any other university I have attended!

By Dr. V P M

Nov 26, 2015

Great course to understand the basics with in depth analysis of the Muslim world.

By Domenico M

Dec 14, 2016

Great overview on Muslim countries, between law, society and political change.

By Dana D

Jan 27, 2020

Excellent course. i am enjoying it tremendously! I loved using the app too.

By Miraz C

Jan 4, 2016

It was one of the greatest three months i have eve experienced. Thank you.