Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,822 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

PF

Mar 22, 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

MJ

May 24, 2020

It has been, in all, a wonderful experience taking this course, Prof Peggy is really good at what she does, wonderful content, stories, instances, and videos. Learnt a lot from this course, thank you!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 922 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Montse P

Nov 28, 2022

This course allowed me to learn about the brain in a very understandable way. Prof. Mason is a really good communicator and professional. A lot of questions come up after every single lesson, wanting to know more about all she explained. I enjoy it very much!! Thank you.

By Lara D d G

Jul 12, 2017

Excellent course. The teacher is so passionate about the topic that it makes you want to learn even more. Very well explained, short videos that help you remember the important concepts better and very well picked subjects. I wish there were more Dr. Peggy Masons around!

By Simon C

Oct 3, 2021

I loved Peggy's enthusiasm which was very communicative. The content is well structured and easy to follow. Many examples are given to illustrate the content. I strongly recommend this course for people interested in the brain who don't have any background on the topic.

By John C

Nov 15, 2016

As a retired prof with many years of teaching experience, I can safely say that Peggy Mason is an absolutely masterful teacher. She is passionate about her subject matter and she explains it beautifully. This is the best MOOC course I have taken--and I've had several.

By Jagruti P

Apr 15, 2021

Excellent course and very detailed description. The course gives a very good headstart for someone who wants to pursue a career in Neuroscience. The professor makes it really interesting and easy for the students to understand. I would definitely recommend this course.

By Yashika S

Oct 12, 2022

I am extremely delightful that I undertook this course. Professor Mason explained every concept in a very comprehensive and intersting way. The brain dissections at the end of modules were very helpful in understanding the anatomy of brain and its functions as well.

By Roman B

Sep 8, 2023

Awesome !! I enjoyed the course very much, it was completely awesome. I learned a lot of new and useful things that I can apply in my work and personal projects. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their skills and knowledge in this field.

By Miguel L

Apr 5, 2017

This course goes into minute detail describing the brain and central nervous system anatomy , while relating its function and ailments to many conditions we see around us or even in ourselves . Great learning experience , and professor Mason's lectures are a joy .

By Afia M

Sep 18, 2020

Prof. Mason has clarified my doubts systematically with her best explanation and informative illustrations. One should consider this course to broaden their understanding of the basics of Neurobiology and Neuroanatomy. It was worth investing time in this course.

By Mandy W

Oct 12, 2021

This was the best online course I ever took. I learned so much, and Dr. Mason teaches the material in a very compelling way. Finishing the course is bittersweet because I would love to continue learning from her! I wholeheartedly recommend taking this course.

By Krista H

Aug 22, 2020

Best class I have ever taken. I love love LOVE the professor--she's brilliant and extremely passionate about what she does. Great course for anyone, even high schoolers. I took this as a junior in high school and did great! It's hard but very very worth it :)

By Osborne P

Mar 8, 2019

This professor has beautifully and skillfully chartered out this course each module after the other. Anyone interested in neuroscience or even just wanting to understand the beauty of the most magnificient part of our body shoudl definetely take this course!

By Lianis O

Jul 2, 2017

One of the best courses and professors I have ever had. Dr. Mason loves neuroscience and it comes across in her videos. She shows great respect and sympathy for the patients and medical conditions she describes. I can only hope she does more online courses.

By Michelle B

Nov 10, 2023

This was a challenging course presented by the fantastic Prof Peggy who filled every module with contagious enthusiasm. I never thought the course would be so relative in my working life but every week I was using the knowledge to enhance my own practice.

By Gordana B

Oct 5, 2020

Professor Mason's enthusiasm for this endlessly fascinating topic is so infectious. I loved the format of the course, intertwined and supported by real life references and stories, a sure way for the learnt to be imbedid in memory. Thank you, prof Mason!

By Kevin R

Jul 4, 2023

I truly enjoyed this course. Dr. Mason made this otherwise dense material fun and accessible by injecting anecdotes from her own life into the class. I highly recommend this to anyone and I guarantee that you will learn a lot about how your brain works.

By Pawani C

Aug 5, 2020

This course was really helpful, gave me a good understanding of neurology and new perspective to view neuroscience. It helped me with deeper knowledge of neuro and it was truly great experience to be virtual student of Ms. Mason. i absolutely loved it!!

By Larissa L H

Sep 17, 2021

what a wonderful course! I am very grateful for it! The world is a better place because of Professor Masson, she is absolutely remarkable, it takes passion to make a subject as complex as neurobiology feel easy, and Professor Mason exceeds all the way!

By Rinata B

Nov 13, 2017

This course is just excellent. Interesting, modern, easy to understand and at the same time highly informative. I also bought a book by professor Mason, the one we can sometimes see on the video during the course and strongly recommend it to everyone.

By CaliDiva F

May 3, 2020

I enjoyed this course because it assisted my journey in the grieving process for my husband who passed away six years ago from a brain tumor. Dr. Mason has a clear and concise teaching style that works well for any student (medical and non-medical).

By Marziya

Jul 29, 2022

Amazing course with an outstanding person as a teacher, I had so much fun while studying it. I've learned so much about my Brain which I think is cooler than I expected, now I know why I had this and that problems and I know why I am the way I am

By Rohit P

Jun 4, 2020

I loved it. Learnt so much. Hope i return to human society something valuable from all that i have learnt here. Prof. Peggy is an adorable tutor. Her inter-disciplinary knowledge and easy communication skills are so helpful.

Thanks for everything!

By jyothi k

May 3, 2020

This is a wonderful course! My daughter has neurological issues. I started this course to understand her better and it is actually working! Even though this course is taking up my time, I don't want to give it up, because it's very informative.

By Basudeo R

Jun 24, 2020

it was really an amazing experience. she is the best neuro teacher till now. the way she teaches, creating with books and movies, and everyday example is just awesome.

I recommend this course to everyone who is seeking to learn about the brain.