Chevron Left
Back to Academic Listening and Note-Taking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Academic Listening and Note-Taking by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
774 ratings
209 reviews

About the Course

This course will help non-native English speakers improve their listening and note-taking skills for the purpose of listening to academic lectures. You will learn techniques for improving your understanding and skills for taking more effective notes, and you will get lots of practice in using these. If you're planning to attend college classes in English, then this class is for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Understand and follow a lecture 2. Take better lecture notes 3. Discuss courses with classmates and professors 4. Give an effective academic presentation Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

TA
Dec 10, 2018

It is very useful and very interesting course i learned a lot of skills from this course and these skills which i learned from this course will help me in my whole life regarding my studies

AR
May 16, 2020

I think this is very helpful for someone not used to learning in English. The content was very articulate and talks about note-taking methods along with assignments that help practice it.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 212 Reviews for Academic Listening and Note-Taking

By Alice L

Jun 12, 2017

What I got is more than I expect. The most wonderful issue is I forced to listen/watch the subject I didn't familiar. That gave me a great chance to know something I never touched before. And I found interesting. Even it was difficult, when I listened again and again, somehow I could figure out something. I felt happy.

By Hoang Y N

Apr 12, 2021

I'm so surprised because, after this course, my listening was better and change every day! Yesterday, when I join a class at school, I understand what the teacher talking about and I'm very happy about it. The lecture, the quiz of this course is very helpful and they really know what is the difficulty of students.

By Ái V L

Mar 12, 2021

It's great course to practice Listening skill, I feel like I can listen better because practicing and some benefit tips. But a small advise, you should know a bit about English academic before studying. If you are beginner and just start to study, it would be harder to understand.

By Fahd A

Sep 6, 2017

This course provided me with what I needed and that was to write fast enough in English when listening academic materials... and some other skills like knowing what to write and what's not... but my main goal was to write faster and I achieved it thanks to this

By Dr:Mahmoud E M

Feb 22, 2021

This the First course in English that i think it help me to improve my skills and experience and self-confidence. After taking it , i have more wishes to improve more more my skills, i think i can do it. Very nice courses, I'm so excited for finishing it.

By KEVIN H R F

Jul 27, 2020

Cordial Saludo, Me gusta mucho su forma de enseñar , pero voy abandonar el curso debido a que mi nivel de Ingles no me deja realizarlo, muchas gracias por la oportunidad, voy a buscar otro curso que este a mi nivel. gracias

By sepideh k

Dec 10, 2020

I really appreciate for providing the proper situation for improving skills specially for non-native English language learners. the content is really well planned. I definitely recommend it to my friends.

By TMU m

Apr 12, 2021

The course is so beneficial to students since it provides different techniques to help ESL students overcome the language barrier. I highly recommend this course to graduate and undergraduate students.

By paula m

Apr 26, 2021

Excelente curso, los principios y valores de Coursera se ven reflejados, independientemente de que fuera La Universidad de California quien lo dictara. Muchas gracias por la oportunidad de aprender

By Minh N T H

Sep 23, 2021

I would like to say thank you to the teachers who taught me and help me to complete this course. Now I know that note-taking is not too difficult and my listening skiill is better.

Thank you.

By jamshid y

Oct 2, 2021

That was a great course with great teaching method I really enjoyed and I would participate in many other courses too

Thanks from Coursera for providing this opportunity for me.

By Alejandra

May 15, 2020

I think this course helps to be in contact with a great variety of topics which really helps in acquisition of new vocabulary that belongs to a number of different areas.

By Jayeon Y

Oct 2, 2016

This course helped me a lot! Very useful and meaningful! Every week assignment made me a little bit busy and crazy, but those were also meaningful works for me!

By Aline P

Oct 22, 2018

The course is very complete and provides valuable techniques on note-taking, it really helped me to improve my strategies when watching lectures and courses.

By Sylvia S

Jun 26, 2018

I like this course, and I think it helped me a lot. I have learned efficient ways to do academic listening and note-taking. Thanks a lot.

By María A A G

Jul 17, 2020

Very useful course! It gives you lots of strategies to study and lectures on differentes areas. It is not not just for learning english.

By Yin M A

Jul 26, 2020

It's very fun to learn and so effective.By taking this course,I make my good use of time.I'll join other courses and keep learning.

By Mariela P

Nov 25, 2020

It's a great course. I learned to take effective notes and understand how do it better. The course is clearly and productive!

By Bilcag A

Jun 21, 2020

A highly effective course for non-native English speakers. You can improve both your English and academic note-taking skills.

By Amanda C F L

May 25, 2020

This course helped me to increase my english, soon I'll make another one. Thanks, Coursera and University of California!

By Laura Z

Aug 7, 2021

I apreciate your positive feedback in everything that i did it. I learned a lot of about you. thaNk you very much.

By Mohamed B S

Mar 28, 2020

thanks my lectures and coursera team it really help me to minute and note taking

one more thanks you very much

By Kryss F

Sep 15, 2020

Excellent course, the Cornel method is a very efficient tool to take notes in a lecture in another language.

By OviNiter

May 19, 2020

Thank you UCI University for give me such opportunity to join this course. And also thank you coursara.

By Soryan N s

Oct 16, 2020

It's so useful course , I learned a lot from it and I enjoyed . thank you all teachers for your time