Chevron Left
Back to Open Source Software Development Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Open Source Software Development Methods by The Linux Foundation

4.6
stars
834 ratings
182 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will define what open source software is, we will go over the history of open source software and what benefits it has provided to the world’s technology infrastructure over the decades. The course aims to teach you how to work in open source projects productively and gain a lot of benefits from it, and really understand what the advantages are. You will learn about collaboration best practices, and how to encourage diversity in open source projects. We will discuss the different licensing models that are available, as this will help you decide what the best license is for your project. We will talk about methods that are commonly used, such as Continuous Integration, and use of GitHub and other hosting providers as a central meeting place for open source projects, and we will provide some examples of successful open source projects....

Top reviews

AS
May 3, 2020

Honestly, this course provide introduces the world of open source projects and development to anyone. It's really explanative and helpful. I suggest this to anyone who want to understand what OSS is.

HM
Jun 22, 2020

The course contains comprehensive knowledge about development methods in Open Source Software. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in OSS and wants to have a proper idea of it.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 181 Reviews for Open Source Software Development Methods

By Rafa A

Sep 3, 2019

it's nice course but there's a lot of information and nothing practice

By Vaibhav C

May 18, 2020

theory was more make it little bit less interactive sometimes

By Parthkumar R

Jun 30, 2020

If some practice will be explained then it will be better.

By Yang Z

Mar 11, 2019

Too Brief and I think can be combined with other course

By Lalit M

Jun 22, 2020

Thanks for Explaning the terms of OSS environment

By Vladimir N

Mar 10, 2020

It was interesting course for me. Thanks.

By Hassan R

Aug 13, 2020

Good content but still more theoretical.

By KARNATI S R

Apr 24, 2020

It helps to improve the knowledge.

By Md. A R Z

Jun 10, 2020

it is very good basic course.

By Md A A S

Jul 19, 2020

Content can be expanded.

By Jayant R

Sep 15, 2020

Great way of teaching.

By SN G

May 30, 2020

good for very beginers

By Anup K P

Oct 2, 2020

It was a good course

By Divyansh R

Apr 4, 2020

Beautiful Course !!!

By Ahmed H M s

Sep 11, 2019

this course useful

By SHERWIN L

Jul 20, 2020

Very benificial

By Saurabh C

Aug 29, 2020

Less technical

By Federico A

Nov 6, 2020

Buen curso.

By Keerthivasan R

Mar 26, 2019

only theory

By Shashwat J

Jul 17, 2020

Too introductory. Peer graded assignments were good however too many exercises just lengthened the duration of the course. More time should be devoted to the core topics which require considerable understanding

By Harrison B

Sep 11, 2019

A great introduction to the idea of OSS, however this course is really let down by the number of group assessed projects and the fact that you can see exactly who assessed your work everytime

By Kaleem A

Jun 15, 2020

Very basic course probably aimed at novices who known nothing about open source. Some of the contents (e.g. github private/public repo cost) need update.

By KSHITIJ A

Aug 5, 2020

Needs to be more interactive.

By James

Aug 27, 2020

very high level

By Киба В Ю

Sep 22, 2019

...