Chevron Left
Back to Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
1,007 ratings
223 reviews

About the Course

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Top reviews

CG

Feb 11, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

Jun 25, 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 221 Reviews for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

By 赵子涵

Feb 02, 2020

This course gives me a brief understanding of cognitive science.I am now very curious about the term embodiment.I heard that merleau ponty also frequently use this term for his philosophical and psychological Analysis,I want search some book to know more about it.Thanks for the course.

By Richie P

Jun 10, 2020

The course was a bit short but packed a good deal of information about the philosophy of cognitive sciences. Be sure to use the supplemental material and doing some further exploration of your own. Overall, a fantastic course for anyone with a scientific or philosophy oriented mind.

By Ataollah D

Jul 24, 2020

It is a very useful course that introduces the participants with current major axioms of philosophical and psychological research in realms of cognitive sciences and artificial intelligence.

a very good starting point to find your specific passion in this field and build upon it.

By Filio R A M

Jul 21, 2020

Really amazing to broaden your perception of the mind and its relationship to the environment, it definitely gives you a deep sense of understanding the topics portrayed here and it is a powerful tool for any student interested in cognitive sciences

By Muhip T

May 30, 2020

Very fun, non-exhausting introduction to the very interesting subject of cognitive sciences. Video lectures are of high quality. It is relatively short and quizzes were extremely easy but this was exactly what I wanted so I'm not complaining.

By Thomas J H

Jun 27, 2018

Highly recommended. Clear on what is science, what is philosophy, and what the convergent areas of inquiry are. High on sense, short on bombast, and deeply intellectually responsible. (The anti-Daniel Dennett approach). Much appreciated.

By William F

Oct 19, 2020

The course was well structured and packaged with excellent presentations. While the content could be complicated, if you let it, the subject matter itself was presented in a simplified method which was an actual example of cognitions.

By David M

Dec 12, 2018

I enjoyed the format, it made it very easy to learn and you can read as much as you like with the recommended reading list. Very thought provoking and well prsented. I would recommend it for anyone with an interest in philosophy.

By Małgorzata S

Aug 06, 2017

An extremely informative course with a lot of optional readings for further study if one wishes to. Very accessible in terms of explanation. I can highly recommend to anyone interested in any aspect of cognition and perception.

By Renee K

Jun 17, 2020

I've enjoyed this course although I wish it was much more longer...The amount of information about cognitive science, evolutionary Psychology, Consciousness, and several other topics that are full of knowledgable information.

By Pablo G A

Jun 21, 2017

I think this course is a great introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. I recommend it to everyone who is interested in philosophy. Also, I took advantage of the course for practising English language. Thanks!

By Reshob R

Oct 02, 2020

WOW!! One of the most interesting topics concerning philosophy. This course along with Part 1 of the course tried to explain the beautiful confluence of two of my favourite subjects- Philosophy and Science. Thank you!!!

By alec g

Mar 03, 2020

This course provided a very complex topic in an easy to understand format while also offering resources to research topics of interest in depth. I recommend this course for anyone with even a mild interest in the topic.

By Glenda F

Jul 21, 2017

Muy interesante e ilustrativo. Te permite intriducirte en aspectos complejos de las ciencias cognitivas sin demandar una especialización en este campo. El sistema de evaluaiones por questionarios es efectivo.

By Kevin S

Aug 30, 2020

Highly interesting course. As a cognitive psychologist I've been in touch with these concepts before, but this course brings an interdisciplinary levels that I had not experienced and it was very refreshing.

By Chagari A P R

Jan 30, 2020

Mind blowing. Great amalgam of Philosophy and Cosmology and Biology. The great picture for unifying understanding. Excellent package and presentation by Edinburgh University. Proud to have been exposed.

By Manuel O A

Oct 18, 2017

The professors in this course reveal very clear and fast the recent advances in evolutionary psychology and the consequences in the approach to related sciences, and the way we perceive the world.

By Luis E B H

Jun 10, 2020

so far one of the most interesting courses I've ever taken. A valuable contribution for students who want to understand a little more about the brain and the world around them.

By Simone P

Mar 30, 2020

An interesting and complete course, which opened a gash on a frontier of epistemological research that had always fascinated me and that now I am even more stimulated to deepen

By Aaradhya S

Jul 12, 2020

brilliant and informative course on psychology and cognition . I highly recommend this to those who like to ask questions and are courageous enough to find their answers .

By PATRICIA A A C

Oct 18, 2020

Interesting and well designed course with great instructors! Recommended for us who just start studying about this subject. Thanks a lot for this useful course.

By Narayanan M V

Feb 06, 2019

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

By Naz Y

Sep 01, 2017

A perfect introduction course ! Lecturers, subjects, and slides are intriguing; the sources and further readings at the end of each week are amazing and rich.

By Biani P S L

Aug 03, 2017

It is a simple and clear introduction to the current topics of philosophy of the cognitive sciences. Videos and additional readings are very interesting!

By Eric R P

Jun 13, 2018

Los temas son fundamentales para iniciarse en el estudio de la cognición, a parte de los videos, las lecturas complementarias me parecieron excelentes.