Chevron Left
Back to Introductory Human Physiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introductory Human Physiology by Duke University

4.8
stars
3,460 ratings
804 reviews

About the Course

In this course, students learn to recognize and to apply the basic concepts that govern integrated body function (as an intact organism) in the body's nine organ systems....

Top reviews

LL
Jun 1, 2016

I'm a high school student interested in human physiology.\n\nThis course is AMAZING! Though sometimes I felt overwhelmed and couldn't remember everything, I think it was worth every effort and energy.

VB
Sep 11, 2020

Very informative, straight forward, and was practically free too! The teachers were very easy to understand, had a real passion for their subject, and I really learned a lot. Would totally recommend!

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 791 Reviews for Introductory Human Physiology

By CLEMENT R

Jun 2, 2020

good

By JITHENDRA C

May 15, 2020

GOOD

By RANAKISHOR P

May 13, 2020

good

By JAMNESH P

Apr 17, 2020

Good

By Patsarachaya C

May 14, 2018

Good

By Seros S

Mar 16, 2018

Epic

By Jorge A Z L

Nov 5, 2015

good

By MD M A

Sep 20, 2020

Yes

By Anna Y

Feb 14, 2017

非常好

By Bassam A

Nov 21, 2020

..

By Ayşe A

Jun 30, 2020

<3

By Lema P

Jul 31, 2020

.

By Monique M -

Sep 4, 2015

I

By RegulusCentauri

Nov 27, 2016

Overall the course was very helpful and I was able to understand it without prior knowledge (except for my high school biology class). All the case studies examples often helped to understand the problem further and I appreciated all of the graphic content that was crucial for imagining the ways the systems work. I finally understood some of those things, that are just sort of "known" as for example why contraceptives might be bad for women, or how could drinking too much water actually kill someone.

I was a little bit disappointed with all the gramatical mistakes in presentations and many mistakes in english subtitles that were provided (in names of organ parts/hormones etc.) ow switching the names of certain hormones/parts in spoken language, which often made it harder to understand or connect something. Furthermore some of the quiz/test questions were more like "just guess it" or up to the student to research the problem further, which is fine but it kinda disrupts the quizzing process.

Many thanks to both great teachers that have put this course together, it's definitely worth enrolling in!

By Jia X

Jun 28, 2020

Some lessons might be a bit confusing sometimes. I feel that some parts may not be very well-organised, especially the expression can be a little convoluted/wordy so I find it hard to grasp the crux of the sentences or what the lecturers were trying to explain sometimes. If possible, it would be even better for some parts of the lessons to be more succinct. Anyhow, I think the lecturers have done a good enough job which I truly appreciate.

However, I gained a lot of knowledge from the lecturers most of the time. As compared to learning alone from the textbook, it makes the chapters more interesting when learning from someone. Also, it is very helpful to be able to refer to the questions that other students have asked in the discussion forum, both the lecturers are vey responsive and helpful in clarifying the doubts.

By PROF D P K R

Jun 1, 2020

Video sessions could be truncated a little. Respiratory system would be an ideal example in this regard. Use of models and charts to reduce theory material on slide and could convey ideas much faster. Attempt to include latest updated knowledge comes with the slight disadvantage of extra long video sessions, moderate to difficult question sets, which I feel should be simplified a little for non medical students to attempt the same. Organs functions could include virtual reality videos for clarity and future technological advances in this field

By Piyush G

Jan 12, 2021

Quite a good course however, for someone with no formal background in biology or physiology, it can get a bit difficult to follow sometimes, however, I understand how tough it can be to compress basic physiology in a medium sized course. One thing that stood out was Dr Jakoi's participation in the discussion forums. Never before I have seen any full time professor answering questions in a discussion forum of an online course continuously. I salute her zeal for teaching. Teachers like her are very rare,

By Pat K

Mar 18, 2016

Very comprehensive course. However, I found one professor to teach above the level of an introductory course. This is kind of a misnomer. To me, this course was not introductory. It was very difficult. Although, it would be good for someone that is taking the MCAT's. My points are: Very comprehensive, quite a lot of information (if you don't have chemistry and microbiology backgrounds it is easy to get lost), quite difficult tests and quizzes, rewarding if you can finish it.

By Aaron B

Sep 11, 2020

Very well put together, i started with no prior knowledge so it was pretty hard, but everything gets explained and what i really like is every week builds on explained things from the previous weeks. Especially in the end it was extremely difficult for me because everything i didn't fully grasp came back again to bite me. But as long as you keep rewatching things until you understand it its doable. Again very well put together course, thanks a lot.

By Nathalie A

Oct 19, 2015

All the content provided is very good and the tests are of a good level too.

Was just sad that the course on GI system didn't say a word about the extra organ represented by our microbiome, that nothing was said about the immune system, hematopoiesis, developmental physiology and genetics, the detailed functions of the liver (nothing on the prduction of urea and the detox mechanisms), and some behavioral aspects could be interesting.

By Mohammad " G

Mar 27, 2020

This course was very well organized, instructors were both great as far as knowledge and presentation. I was able to follow through the chapters without any problem or errors. Very satisfied with this online presentation. I only believe that the material was a lot and very condensed for an introductory course. Overall the course very helpful for me, my goal was to learn material improving my biofeedback practice.

Thank you

By Glaceia H

Aug 15, 2020

It was really in depth and the instructors really knew how to explain it. I would only ask for better diagrams and slides because it would be nice to see more authentic photos of the parts of the body they are talking about and designed slides that more accurately represent the part of the body they are talking about to create greater connection with the subject.

Overall, I love their teaching! Great Course! Thank you!!

By Meri I K

Dec 4, 2020

Great course, plenty of enlightening material about the beauty of life !

Some more information about how the experiments and observations are made leading to all this knowlege would be better. Also, some basic concepts, terminology, anatomy knowledge could be provided at the begining of each chapter. I found that the course was addressed to non-beginners. But it was still great fun!

By Sue C

Jul 14, 2020

A lot of ground is covered in this course, and includes what feels like a lot of biochemistry. Having studied physiology as part of sports science and cardiac rehab, I found this helped in some areas. The depth that it goes into seems to be more than at an introductory, but it was interesting, challenging and I appreciated the efforts of the lecturers.

By Marguerite A

May 9, 2016

Some of the final exams included information that was not in the lectures, so there were a few times I felt the need to refer to outside sources just to pass a lecture. I have no previous medical knowledge or training, so this course may be better suited for someone who is a pre-med student and at least understands some of wha