Chevron Left
Back to Psychology of Popularity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychology of Popularity by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.7
stars
854 ratings
225 reviews

About the Course

The level of popularity you experienced in childhood and adolescence is still affecting you today in ways that you may not even realize. Learn about how psychologists study popularity and how these same concepts can be used in adulthood to be more successful at work, become better parents, and have a happier life....

Top reviews

JD
Feb 20, 2016

This course has been absolutely terrific! The knowledge and insight this has briefed me with has been very useful, and makes more than a lot of sense. Thank You Mr. Prinstein, and Thank You Coursera!

HC
May 10, 2018

This was amazing, really interesting, well presented. A good insight into how our friendships while of school age can impact on our adulthood and how this is so often repeated down the generations.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 222 Reviews for Psychology of Popularity

By Gianfranco M R

Jan 31, 2016

good course

By patricia m m

Feb 8, 2018

Excelent

By Patricia M

Apr 5, 2016

Excelent

By Ignacio A G M

Oct 24, 2020

Nice!

By Nalla s

Jun 10, 2020

Good

By MAISSA

Mar 15, 2019

I learnt a lot, about growing up, popularity and how it affects us, I really enjoyed it, and I managed to take it while studying at university, the time is so manageable, a BIG THANK YOU for the teacher and how he made things very simple , I had no idea or resources in psychology before this but I understood it all. I wish we had an other part of exploring how to break through from popularity of growing up and change that in our work place, or university... and our relationships as well

overall I LOVED it, I would surely recommend it.

THANK YOU

By Mateo G

Oct 25, 2016

Although I really liked this course (not having paid for it, just watching the videos and the discussions), I think you guys make way too much emphasis on child psychology. Not that this is a bad thing, I actually loved the way you approached the problem of how popularity and its conceptions changes over age, I think you could add some other examples of popularity in adulthood. I would love to see how this conception of popularity affects the workplace, peer relations and romantic relationships further in adulthood.

Thanks, a lot.

By JANE S 1

Apr 19, 2020

I personally feel that this course has given me deeper insights into the ways in which popularity could influence an individual even later in life in much-unexpected ways. As a person who had my own doubts on how my level of popularity at school might have influenced me, this course did provide input to my understanding of the same. I also felt that the teaching style used by Professor Prinstein in the course is very engaging and kept me interested in the topics that were presented in the entire duration of the course.

By William K M J

Aug 16, 2016

Was expecting a course geared towards how popularity affects adults in day to day life and how to improve one's own popularity. This course expands upon the various studies done with respect to children and adolescents. It also provides a few examples of how popularity in early life extends to adult life. Still a very useful course if you have children or wondered what it took to be popular as a child, but due to the difference in expectations, I'm giving this course a 4/5 instead of a 5/5.

By sherryzhang

Jan 10, 2016

it will be better if there is some form of text or readings that can be shared in the course.

When speaking of the examples during the lecture, I wish there is a real video of the experience rather than just the prof speaking of it. I wish I could have my own understanding in responding to those experiences. However, overall I learnt a lot through out the courses, it is really easy to understand, and usually I watch the videos when I want to take a break from whatever I was doing.

By Radhika M

Jun 25, 2020

The course explores a variety of studies done on Popularity, mostly in American context.

The course is short and easy. Even those with no background in psychology can take it up.

The course is highly reflective. It will challenge your biases and make you reflect on the kind of person you were during your pre-teen and teen years.

I would recommend this course to all those who want to understand the notion of popularity from different lenses.

By Jean R

Apr 17, 2017

Very interesting, as long as you do not undertake the course to become popular ! I learned a lot, but at the end of the course, I felt that the course was too much oriented on the problems that can arise for young people, especially if they are not popular. Good course anyway

By Leah O

Jan 9, 2017

Good and insightful. Felt there were some assumptions being made that should be questioned, but, overall, it was a very enjoyable class with an enjoyable teacher. Gave me some information I'm passing onto my daughter on her journey through middleschool also.

By Maite P

May 23, 2017

Es interesante y, al menos a mi, me ha descubierto muchas cosas que no sabía. Te ayuda a entender algo mejor el porqué de comportamientos en la edad adulta que vienen pre-establecidos por cómo viviste tu adolescencia.

By Leo P

May 17, 2017

I personally would have preferred this course to have more practical applications of the content presented which students could use in everyday life, but the course is still very interesting, and very useful.

By Benjamin M V

Oct 3, 2016

Pretty awesome course, everything is crystal clear, it's fun and simple, but it doesn't involve any additional coursework besides exams, so there's not much extra learning from peers.

By Айана Е

Jun 18, 2020

It is good course (except the last two weeks weren't as much useful imho) Made me realize that all relationship problems with my peers that I have are one of two biases HAB or RSB.

By Rik d G

Dec 14, 2016

The course is great. I learned a lot about popularity and the affects on adults. It would be even better if their were some whitepapers or books added to the course.

By Saúl E T H

Aug 12, 2020

It has interesting information, the only thing is that the teacher's way of explaining is a bit boring, and the tests have very elaborate questions

By Tian Z

Apr 25, 2017

The material is good and the professor is clear and knowledgable. Hopefully there would be more reference documents recommended.

By A. E H

Apr 22, 2018

I liked the course only that I wasn't able to take the quizzes without paying. Thank you for the information, very interesting.

By Luiza C C

Mar 24, 2020

Interesting points of view about popularity, how it affect our lives, and what you can do to improve your kids lives.

By Luka O

Jun 19, 2017

This is a good course. Contains a lot of interesting information. However, I found it boring and long at times.

By Lucas D P M

Nov 14, 2017

Very informative, but can be a little hard to follow when many pieces of research are analyzed.

By Sheila T

Oct 4, 2020

This course was interesting and enlightening. The quizzes were challenging, but helpful.