Chevron Left
Back to Psychology of Popularity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychology of Popularity by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.7
stars
858 ratings
226 reviews

About the Course

The level of popularity you experienced in childhood and adolescence is still affecting you today in ways that you may not even realize. Learn about how psychologists study popularity and how these same concepts can be used in adulthood to be more successful at work, become better parents, and have a happier life....

Top reviews

JD
Feb 20, 2016

This course has been absolutely terrific! The knowledge and insight this has briefed me with has been very useful, and makes more than a lot of sense. Thank You Mr. Prinstein, and Thank You Coursera!

HC
May 10, 2018

This was amazing, really interesting, well presented. A good insight into how our friendships while of school age can impact on our adulthood and how this is so often repeated down the generations.

Filter by:

201 - 223 of 223 Reviews for Psychology of Popularity

By Sheila T

Oct 4, 2020

This course was interesting and enlightening. The quizzes were challenging, but helpful.

By María d C O R

Dec 28, 2017

Aprendí muchos aspectos desconocidos, me gustaría saber como revertir las tendencias.

By Philipp A

Nov 7, 2016

Interessting Course. Many "Nice to know" moments and very well produced

By Gintaras A

Dec 1, 2015

Educational, interesting, although a bit simple. Recommended.

By Derrick J R

Aug 5, 2017

This course was fascinating on many levels! Who knew! Lol!

By Engin E

Dec 27, 2016

Useful information

By NIKHIL M

Apr 7, 2017

It's really good

By Shoxruh A

Nov 21, 2020

Excellent

By Dr. S M

Apr 16, 2020

Very good

By Giancarlo A D N

May 13, 2020

Not bad

By Morten R H

Mar 10, 2016

Interesting overview of group psychology - but in essence just a bunch of definitions and statistics.

I would have liked more focus on how the group dynamics works and how to influence these - and break the circle of unpopularity, the tools to overcome the aggressive stamp etc.

Also, I found the quizzes often had unclear and ambiguous wording.

Generally happy to have taken the course - but did not quite meet the description or my expectations. Off to the next :-)

By Muhammad F K

May 16, 2020

It started off really really interesting and I was looking forward to all kinds of information I'm going to learn about. The start was very scientific, an example would be how we learned about different SPI and understood the minds of different category kids but eventually, it got boring and repetitive. I believe the course should have cut shorter because there's not much material there. Although it was a nice course to learn.

By Eileen O

Jul 10, 2018

The presenter was very articulate and clearly passionate about this topic. However, much of the research cited was approx 20 years old. Given the significant changes in technology during that time and the rise in the the use of social media, it seems to me that the content of the course is not as relevant to todays young people as it could have been.

By Michaela G

Nov 28, 2020

The speaker was very good in his delivery and presentation. However, I didn't expect the course to be predominantly focused on popularity in childhood and adolescence. That would have been alright as the first half, but more information about popularity in the adult setting or even in social media, would help strengthen the course.

By Srinjoy D

Apr 15, 2016

I wish they could let us take the quizzes without having to pay to verify that we have understood the lectures. However, the topic of the course and the lectures are clear and on point. Love the lessons so far!

By Mia M

Jun 5, 2020

I like the studies used in the course and the professor's way of presenting them. I think the quizzes could have been more challenging and that there should be more interaction with the professor and students.

By Sherine A

Mar 16, 2019

Pretty ok in terms of the depth of topic and the instructor engages your attention.

Would've liked to see more recent research; most of the research was from the 80s and 90s.

By Itay a

May 5, 2020

Very interesting course, not being able to take the tests without upgrading hurts the experience

By Mushfique U M R

Apr 23, 2020

The same topics repeated over and over. Could have a focus on how to solve some issues

By Aleks L

Mar 3, 2016

The course is way to basic and easy.

By Anusree B

Jun 30, 2020

Very helpful.

By Chelsey M

Feb 19, 2020

Not enough peer support. There was absolutely no activity on the discussion board.

By iolanda m

Mar 26, 2020

Not too many new nor useful information, some confusion in the data presented, frequent errors in the presentation.

There is free access to the videos, but not to the quiz at the end of each week.

Try it for free I order to figure out if the course is good for you.

Would not recommand.