Chevron Left
Back to Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Graphic Design by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,624 ratings
640 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Graphic Design, the second course in the Effective Communications Specialization. Over 70 different companies have provided this specialization to their employees as a resource for internal professional development. Why? Because employers know that effective visual communication is the key to attracting an audience, building a relationship, and closing the sale. This practical course gives you the tools to create professional looking PowerPoints, reports, resumes, and presentations. Using a set of best practices refined through years of experience, you’ll: • make your work look fresh and inspired. • apply simple design “tricks” to begin any project with confidence and professionalism. • receive and respond to criticism and revise your project from good to great. "This course is fantastic. It teaches a great amount of starter graphic design information but it is broken down into easily understood videos and quizzes. The quality was top notch and the interaction was as good as you would get in a brick and mortar school. I did not feel like I was missing anything by taking it online." - a recent Graphic Design student All of the course assignments can be completed with basic presentation software such as Microsoft PowerPoint, Google Slides, or Apple Keynote. You’ll also have opportunities to explore and apply more sophisticated tools, such as Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign....

Top reviews

DC
Apr 10, 2020

I loved it its not on photoshop or any application but on the practicality on how to use everything is any design related work or medium\n\ngot to learn on maybe new minute things I used to ignore

RC
May 13, 2020

I think that the discussions would be more useful if students had detailed instructions on how to create the images in Microsoft Word or PowerPoint and then take a screenshot to make a jpeg image.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 639 Reviews for Graphic Design

By sangay c

Aug 16, 2020

i am beginner to learning graphic design and in this course i learned so many feature that need to make the graphic more presentable to the audience.

By Joelle N

Nov 15, 2020

Coursera is a very useful website

Very organised , very simple to use

It gives you lots of important and (strict to the point) informations

I love it

By Giedrė Š

Jul 25, 2020

Very informative course not only for those who want to be designers, but also for those who have to do presentations, write their cv or paper works!

By Ahmad A H

Sep 7, 2019

My field of study is a director and I have a lot of experience in graphic design but this course has given me new information !.

Thank you very mach

By Shyam P

Mar 17, 2019

Great course, to the point and focused on the very basic yet important element of graphic design. I use these skills on a day to day communications.

By Adel s a

Jun 17, 2018

Excellent and makes you open to wider ways in design. I hope to put the explanation In the subject on the side of the video when the lecturer speaks

By Donna C

Jan 12, 2021

Great course! I learned so much. I can 'see' better now, everywhere I go my eyes are drawn to designs in buildings, poster, nature, clothes etc.

By Victoria M

Aug 2, 2020

Excellent course! Loved what I can do thanks to this course. I'm Looking forward to the public speaking and writing courses related to this one.

By shveta s

Jul 31, 2017

One of the best courses I have gone through! The course effectively de-mystifies the process of designing effective presentations and documents.

By Ravi D

Jul 6, 2020

I am clearly understanding the various concepts like color, choosing the correct typeface, and even words like kerning, tracking, leading, etc.

By Irene D

Nov 2, 2020

Very informative. Quick lessons but accurate in details. Good materials for learning that we can have our copy as well for future references.

By Hajar A

Oct 9, 2020

the scope of the course was very relevant and easy to understand. It was enjoyable and will surely help me to polish my graphic design skills

By Gina R

Sep 14, 2017

Learned some great basic skills and some tricks to help improve my design and the way I approach projects with visual elements. Great course!

By Suha M

Aug 1, 2020

Provides basic knowledge about Graphic design. Good course to start learning about graphic design for those who are interested in the field.

By Diane W

Feb 28, 2020

just the right pace for beginners

plenty of practical exercises to apply learning along the way

easy-going and informative presentation style

By James A

Mar 25, 2018

Excellent course! Really enjoyed watching the videos and working on the projects. Will carry the use of Design tricks with me going forward!

By Ahsan R

May 24, 2020

This it the most helpful course i have found, it's actually better than any others graphics course you have found anywhere. I just love it.

By Pranav P

May 17, 2020

A great course which is great for beginners.

It teaches you the basics and how using them correctly can significantly improve your design.

By Raúl A M

Aug 18, 2017

Excellent and detailed course, experienced and knowledgeable teachers who have learned over many years. Thanks to Coursera and intructores

By Sebastian G

Sep 29, 2020

Facil de entender y con videos explicativos muy buenos. Los ejercicios y feedback de compañeros ayudan tambien a mejorar la experiencia.

By Dennis R

Sep 28, 2020

The names of certain terms were unknown to me, even though I have been using it for many years. I enjoyed the course for its simplicity.

By Karina D S

Mar 31, 2019

Excellent - learned a lot and am very thankful for the clarity and depth of messages that the teachers transmitted. Well done team!

By Mohamed Y M

Dec 27, 2018

BEST COURSE EVER HAD THANKS LECTURERS AND ALSO WHO OTHERS WHO APPEARS THIS COURSE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED I LOVE EASY AND EXPLAINING

By Tosin T

Oct 11, 2016

There were many elements of design I though I was familiar with but this course has helped me understand a lot more about design.

By Kwame A B

Oct 16, 2019

I really enjoyed this course to the maximum and advice anyone to get enrolled in this course if you are a fan of graphic design.