Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
3,344 ratings
755 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 732 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By 李纪玺

Oct 01, 2016

非常好!

By Juan P S

Nov 01, 2017

Exellent introduction to the topic

By Siddhant D

Jan 10, 2018

Excellent introductory course!

By Xuanshao W

Sep 12, 2016

Very useful and well explained.

By David H

May 17, 2017

the assignments, especially the practices in R studio, are really helpful!

By Oliver W

Dec 28, 2016

A very well prepared course!

The videos' length is optimal, the course book is free of charge and easily understandable.

If you expect a mathematics lecture, you will be disappointed though.

By Iuzbashev A

Jul 26, 2017

Very useful for beginners who want to start increasing skills in statistics

By Brian F

Oct 13, 2016

Exceptional introduction to probability and Bayes' Theorem.

By Anil J

Nov 03, 2016

Very informative and helped clear up the basic concepts from Probability, Sampling and the inference. Very lucid and easy to understand instructions. Introduction to R Studio was a little daunting for me, as I am unfamiliar, but hugely satisfying to grasp the basics and what all it can do for Statistical inference.

By Juan J S G

Nov 15, 2016

Muy útil para retomar los conocimientos básicos de estadística. / Very useful to recover the basis on statistics

By Zhiyin P

Aug 12, 2016

I like this course. The material is presented clearly. The home work is well defined.

By Yohko T

Aug 01, 2017

Good introduction for beginner. Assignments helps us to learn practically.

By Carlos C

Oct 21, 2016

I really want to thank the responsible for this course. It really helped me a lot to clarify several things that previously were unclear to me, due to bad explainations

By Sana

Sep 21, 2017

Very clear explanations and step by step examples and labs, even for beginners in R

By Raj K P

Sep 17, 2017

Liked it

By janghan c

Jan 03, 2018

Best course to understand what is statistics

By Hisham

Jan 08, 2017

Very high quality lectures.

By Vincent H

Sep 18, 2016

extraordinary lecture with clear explanation and examples.

This course is way much better than the Johns Hopkins Data Science certification. I suggest you taking this course

By Richard F

Jun 01, 2017

Excellent pace. Excellent examples. Learned a lot during the course and when reviewing other people's work.

By Mohamed A

Jan 12, 2017

Thanks

By Sanju S

Aug 12, 2016

Excellent course. Very engaging. The amount of effort the team has put in is very evident. The quizzes in the lecture make you pause, think and reinforce the concepts. I am currently doing John Hopkins data specialization as well, but this is way better. Thank you!

By Matthew L

Aug 09, 2016

Professor Cetinkaya-Rundel's explanations are clear and she gives many examples, the quizzes are fair and I think it is an excellent idea to have a lab in R to get students familiar with that tool.

I recommend that students read the book chapters and do the practice problems there, it's very helpful.

My one criticism is that the amount of R taught in the course is not really enough to do a good job on the capstone project, because the data in the given database is formatted very differently. I think maybe the course staff could reformat the database to make it more user-friendly for beginning R users, but in the meantime you may want to study a little R on the side at, say, DataCamp.

By Minasian V

Aug 11, 2016

Very usefull and interesting.

By Yiping W

Sep 04, 2016

Great intro course, Thanks for the amazing R markdown file, It is very enjoyable.

By Roland

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing I feel like a statistician already.