Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,654 ratings
1,108 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Jan 23, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

BB
Sep 3, 2019

Very clearly explained and the pace is awesome! I really enjoy each deadline and l can already see how it is impacting my day to day work and life. I ook forward to completing the course! Thank you.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,084 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Mohammad A S

Aug 10, 2016

I am an O Level graduate and the course is perfectly designed for anybody to start learning basic statistics and R. The quizzes and assignments make it more interesting.

By Shibaprasad B

Jan 4, 2021

The course is quite great. It introduces basic concepts of statistics and then the applied part of the same. The project at the end of the course was even more helpful.

By Ravi K K

Apr 15, 2018

A beatuifully designed course for beginners. This course explains in great detail the basics and various prinicples of statistical analysis required for analyzing data.

By Royden A L

Mar 13, 2018

SO helpful for understanding basic stats. Really appreciate that the text is free. The R lessons are a very good intro with excellent examples. A very helpful resource.

By Miguel C O

Feb 8, 2018

The Introduction to Probability and Data course is a nice step into the world of statistics and a good refresher course for those of us rusty with statistical concepts.

By Carlos C

Oct 21, 2016

I really want to thank the responsible for this course. It really helped me a lot to clarify several things that previously were unclear to me, due to bad explainations

By Xinyan L

Apr 28, 2020

This is a great starting point to master R and use it in data analysis. Not much pre knowledge is needed. The course is instructed in a way that is easy to understand.

By Antonio L d S C

Aug 3, 2020

The course was excellent!

The topics covered in the Introduction to Data Probability with R course were enriching to obtain more practical and theoretical knowledge.

By Karan R

Jan 3, 2017

A highly demanding and challenging course. Perfect course material and instructors. It was extremely enjoyable and amongst the most satisfactory courses on Coursera.

By Dani R

Jul 8, 2020

The course is very well designed and taught greatly. The madam delivered the lectures in a simple and understanding manner and made the learning very interesting.

By Matt S

Jun 22, 2020

Really good overview of basic probability theory and R. Like the focus on practical applications and real life studies that were done instead of just toy problems.

By Mustafa M

Jul 13, 2020

Very well put together course with good introduction to R programming and basics of statistics. Lectures are excellent, logical, well-organized and easy to follow

By zhang j

May 17, 2020

Great stuff, well organized lectures. From zero experience in using R to having some idea with it only took me a week to complete this course. Highly recommended!

By Dimitar D

Apr 18, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the videos, the special book accompanying the lectures and the R exercises. My particular favs are the book and the R assignments. Great job!

By Sergio B

Nov 8, 2020

Very good course to start with statistics. The project is very challenging but encourages you to study harder. I am very thrilled to continue the specialization.

By Omar V P R

Nov 4, 2020

Muy buen curso, contiene mucha información que se explica de manera sencilla. Requiere de buen tiempo de dedicación pero se repasan y adquieren muchos conceptos.

By Steve A

Dec 29, 2020

Good introduction to data analysis with R. Installation of RStudio and downloading the markdown files was slightly tricky at first. But after that its all good.

By David B J

Jun 12, 2019

Most of the content is useful. Some of the probability exercises do not seem necessary for someone going into applied statistics, but they were fun nonetheless.

By WEI L

Nov 23, 2018

The course is VERY helpful, I used all the things I learned from the course in my daily study, I feel more confident and committed to finish the specialization!

By alessandro r

Apr 2, 2018

The material and the presentation are very clear and informative. The quizzes are not difficult but not trivial either. The final project is quite interesting.

By John H

Nov 30, 2017

This was a great reintroduction to statistics for me, and with the added benefit of learning to use R, or at least a beginning. I will be continuing for sure.

By dale r

Jan 12, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken so far on Coursera. Great lecture content and excellent accompanying text (Open Intro to Statistics). Highly recommended.

By Harshit A

Dec 16, 2019

Very well structured course and gives a headstart if one wants to go in Data analytics or Data Science. All topics are explained in the easiest way possible.

By Laura C C O

Aug 4, 2020

i loved the content, excellent classes and teachers. Excellent course to iniciate the use of Rstudio and to improve basic statistics and probability study.