Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,777 ratings
1,141 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Feb 24, 2021

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

AM
Feb 7, 2021

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,116 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Syed M K S

Oct 11, 2020

I think there is need for to make assignment with R from week 1 to week 4 more advance to cover more R content or add another course in specialization data analysis with R

By Siddharth T S

Jul 6, 2020

Great introduction to statistics. Dr. Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel is a wonderfully capable instructor, and she is thorough and clear in her explanation of statistical concepts.

By Moein R

Feb 2, 2018

The course absolutely great. However, I hope that almost all the materials be reviewed in the next courses since they flee so easily.

Thanks a million

SIncerely

Moein Razavi

By Ayisha N

Aug 5, 2020

This course was very challenging but I came through successfully. The course was excellently structured and made me understand a lot about probability and data analysis.

By Christopher T

Feb 14, 2017

The readings and videos were a great overview of Probability. The labs and data project worked well at teaching the student how R can be used for this type of analysis.

By Bicheng Z

Dec 29, 2016

Instructor explains the course material very clearly, course materials is comprehensive and homework assignment with DataCamp is the state of art online homework system.

By Mohammad A S

Aug 10, 2016

I am an O Level graduate and the course is perfectly designed for anybody to start learning basic statistics and R. The quizzes and assignments make it more interesting.

By Shibaprasad B

Jan 4, 2021

The course is quite great. It introduces basic concepts of statistics and then the applied part of the same. The project at the end of the course was even more helpful.

By Ravi K K

Apr 15, 2018

A beatuifully designed course for beginners. This course explains in great detail the basics and various prinicples of statistical analysis required for analyzing data.

By Royden A L

Mar 13, 2018

SO helpful for understanding basic stats. Really appreciate that the text is free. The R lessons are a very good intro with excellent examples. A very helpful resource.

By Miguel C O

Feb 8, 2018

The Introduction to Probability and Data course is a nice step into the world of statistics and a good refresher course for those of us rusty with statistical concepts.

By Carlos C

Oct 21, 2016

I really want to thank the responsible for this course. It really helped me a lot to clarify several things that previously were unclear to me, due to bad explainations

By Xinyan L

Apr 28, 2020

This is a great starting point to master R and use it in data analysis. Not much pre knowledge is needed. The course is instructed in a way that is easy to understand.

By Antonio L d S C

Aug 3, 2020

The course was excellent!

The topics covered in the Introduction to Data Probability with R course were enriching to obtain more practical and theoretical knowledge.

By Karan R

Jan 3, 2017

A highly demanding and challenging course. Perfect course material and instructors. It was extremely enjoyable and amongst the most satisfactory courses on Coursera.

By Dani R

Jul 8, 2020

The course is very well designed and taught greatly. The madam delivered the lectures in a simple and understanding manner and made the learning very interesting.

By Matt S H

Jun 22, 2020

Really good overview of basic probability theory and R. Like the focus on practical applications and real life studies that were done instead of just toy problems.

By Mustafa M

Jul 13, 2020

Very well put together course with good introduction to R programming and basics of statistics. Lectures are excellent, logical, well-organized and easy to follow

By zhang j

May 17, 2020

Great stuff, well organized lectures. From zero experience in using R to having some idea with it only took me a week to complete this course. Highly recommended!

By Dimitar D

Apr 18, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the videos, the special book accompanying the lectures and the R exercises. My particular favs are the book and the R assignments. Great job!

By Sergio B

Nov 8, 2020

Very good course to start with statistics. The project is very challenging but encourages you to study harder. I am very thrilled to continue the specialization.

By Omar V P R

Nov 4, 2020

Muy buen curso, contiene mucha información que se explica de manera sencilla. Requiere de buen tiempo de dedicación pero se repasan y adquieren muchos conceptos.

By Steve A

Dec 29, 2020

Good introduction to data analysis with R. Installation of RStudio and downloading the markdown files was slightly tricky at first. But after that its all good.

By David B J

Jun 12, 2019

Most of the content is useful. Some of the probability exercises do not seem necessary for someone going into applied statistics, but they were fun nonetheless.

By WEI L

Nov 23, 2018

The course is VERY helpful, I used all the things I learned from the course in my daily study, I feel more confident and committed to finish the specialization!