Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,724 ratings
1,128 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AM
Feb 7, 2021

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

AA
Jan 23, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,104 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Harshit A

Dec 16, 2019

Very well structured course and gives a headstart if one wants to go in Data analytics or Data Science. All topics are explained in the easiest way possible.

By Laura C C O

Aug 4, 2020

i loved the content, excellent classes and teachers. Excellent course to iniciate the use of Rstudio and to improve basic statistics and probability study.

By Deleted A

Aug 9, 2019

A little bit hard for someone that have zero knowledge about R and only a few notions about statistics. But is a very interesting challenge, great course!

By 赵思奇

Jan 16, 2018

The lectures and reading materials are all good, but I do think more detailed instructions on R basics could be helpful, especially for rookies such as I.

By Andre G L O

Jun 20, 2016

Very enjoyable and useful. The material is very well explained and the final project is challenger and fun.

I learn a lot on the peer-review processes too!

By Caio C M B

Aug 15, 2017

The metodology of the course is great! The videos and exercises in rstudio are extremely helpfull. I'll definitely come back to the full specialization.

By Saishankar S

Jul 25, 2020

A fabulous course and a great starting point. Whilst I had these concepts already covered in my regular courses at UCL, learning R is a good take-away.

By RAFAEL A R R

Jul 22, 2020

This is the appropiate course for people who want to begin in the world of data analysis. The methology is great and the explanations are well defined.

By Jonathan S

Mar 10, 2018

Great introductory course; I recommend taking the time to read the textbook as well as it gives you a much more thorough understanding of the concepts.

By Hossein R

Jun 14, 2017

Amazing course for people interested in statistics and R. Great instructor, everything is explained perfectly and simply! Great quizzes and assignment.

By Scott M

Jun 3, 2016

The mixture of well thought out videos, an online book, and rmarkdown lab templates made this a great experience. I plan to complete the entire course.

By Suneha K S

Apr 13, 2020

The course is well knit and the practice material given helps a lot!! This is an excellent introductory course for anyone who wants to go from basics.

By Lisa H

May 8, 2020

I very much appreciate the instruction in the course by Dr. Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel. I learned a lot about R, which was my goal for the course. Thanks!

By Richter J

Jan 25, 2021

Honestly, I really enjoyed the professor's explanations and examples on the topics. It made complex topics less complicated. It is a 5 star from me!

By Eric P

May 31, 2017

Fantastic instructor with a great energy. There are plenty of examples to drive the concepts home and the textbook is fantastic. Highly recommend.

By Emmanuel E

Jan 9, 2020

Wow, I would totally recommend this course to just about anyone but mainly to those seeking to have a thorough grasp of Probability and Statistics.

By Nitin P

Oct 31, 2019

This course is a good starting point for someone to learn probability concepts.I really enjoyed this course along with e-textbook. Thanks Coursera.

By Lakshmi m

Apr 18, 2018

Helpful !! learnt solving problems with probability perspective .. which is will give more confidence while solving real time analytical problems

By Robyn C

Nov 20, 2018

Really enjoyed a refresh on statistics, and using relevant packages and examples in R. It wasnt easy but exactly what I wanted/needed to brush up!

By Suyash D

Jun 15, 2017

Awesome professor, awesome explanations and awesome project in the last week!! Taught me so many things that I couldn't have learned by myself. :)

By Gaurav P

Dec 3, 2019

Excellent techniques and methods involved in this scores. Learnt a great deal in R and doing analysis with hand on project was a great experience

By YUJI H

Dec 7, 2017

Ad:

Lecture is clearly understandable! I can enjoy studying every day!

Disad:

I want to more explanations about data analysis assignments in week 5.

By Benjamin E

Jul 12, 2020

Good reminder / introduction to foundational probability and statistics concepts. Accessible, simple introduction to using some R functionality.

By Gustavo V D

Feb 8, 2018

Muy bien organizado, ciertamente una gran introducción no sólo a R, sino a la estadística básica, tanto descriptiva como inferencial. Muy buena.