Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
5,569 ratings

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Feb 24, 2021

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

AM

Feb 7, 2021

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,309 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Ayushmaan D V

Jun 28, 2020

This course was very helpful in teaching the basics of R and Data Analysis. Also, the labs and the final project give you a taste of how research is carried out in the real world.

By Artur I

May 21, 2020

Amazing! What I most liked about this course is that apart from introduction to probability concepts it also gives GREAT introduction to R programming and R studio.

Good Course!!!

By Julie F

Dec 23, 2017

I gained basic understanding of analysis using statistic concepts and R language. The professor presents the materials in a clear way and I enjoyed the class very much. Thank you.

By kuo j

Oct 8, 2021

The lecturer of this course is very attentive, the content of the course is very substantial, and the project proposition is creative. It is of great help to my analytical skills

By Zhang R

Nov 1, 2019

This course helps me a lot to build a basic understanding of statistics knowledge in probability and data. I am looking forward to continue this series of courses in the future!

By Nitin K M

Jul 7, 2019

The Course provides a brief intro of using Python to clean and analyze data. This course is awesome for beginners who want to embark their journey in the field of Data Science.

By Achal

Mar 8, 2018

good course but a R project should start from basics for people who are not even aware of the tool.

Please also include a little more about ggplot and its associated functions.

By Michael K

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent lecture videos and presentation of materials. I do, however, would like to note that perhaps the course would be enhanced if R language is presented in more detail.

By Festo O

Jun 6, 2017

The course offers very good introduction to statistics. The course facilitator is very good in this field and she's excellent in compressing and conveying the course content.

By narges n

Aug 16, 2023

I really loved the course's fundamental approach towards the statistical concepts, however, its extent and depth of R programming instructions didn't seem sufficient to me.

By Howard L

Jan 18, 2022

Content is useful and workload is adquate. It covers not much on R but more on basic statistics. The R part is more for self discovery even though the final project uses R.

By Glauco d O G F

Aug 24, 2020

Incredible course!!! Definitely one of the best courses on Coursera. Amazing material, professor, lessons and final project. Congratulations for the great job and thank you!

By Himanshu D

Jan 30, 2017

It was my first online course on coursera. It was nice learning at coursera. The content provided in the course is very well constructed. Instructor videos are very helpful.

By vincent h

Sep 18, 2016

extraordinary lecture with clear explanation and examples.

This course is way much better than the Johns Hopkins Data Science certification. I suggest you taking this course

By Vivek K V

Aug 22, 2016

Great course. I am a begainer, I learned how to start with R. I also acquired knowledge of probability. Course methodology is great, you get to learn and apply the concepts.

By Syed M K S

Oct 11, 2020

I think there is need for to make assignment with R from week 1 to week 4 more advance to cover more R content or add another course in specialization data analysis with R

By Siddharth T S

Jul 6, 2020

Great introduction to statistics. Dr. Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel is a wonderfully capable instructor, and she is thorough and clear in her explanation of statistical concepts.

By Moein R

Feb 2, 2018

The course absolutely great. However, I hope that almost all the materials be reviewed in the next courses since they flee so easily.

Thanks a million

SIncerely

Moein Razavi

By Ayisha N

Aug 5, 2020

This course was very challenging but I came through successfully. The course was excellently structured and made me understand a lot about probability and data analysis.

By Christopher T

Feb 14, 2017

The readings and videos were a great overview of Probability. The labs and data project worked well at teaching the student how R can be used for this type of analysis.

By Bicheng Z

Dec 29, 2016

Instructor explains the course material very clearly, course materials is comprehensive and homework assignment with DataCamp is the state of art online homework system.

By Mohammad A S

Aug 10, 2016

I am an O Level graduate and the course is perfectly designed for anybody to start learning basic statistics and R. The quizzes and assignments make it more interesting.

By Nubia J L B

Jul 21, 2021

It is a very interesting course. The final work is very demanding, at least in my case because I did not know the R, but I learned a lot doing the final work. Thank you

By Shibaprasad B

Jan 4, 2021

The course is quite great. It introduces basic concepts of statistics and then the applied part of the same. The project at the end of the course was even more helpful.

By Ravi K

Apr 15, 2018

A beatuifully designed course for beginners. This course explains in great detail the basics and various prinicples of statistical analysis required for analyzing data.