Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,539 ratings
800 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 778 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By Nikhil S

Apr 24, 2018

Very easy to understand and the topics have been explained very well. Even the additional resources are great for self study. Thank You!

By Arun I

Feb 23, 2017

Great course. Loved the energy of the instructor, the general flow, tutorials and the best part was the Open Stats textbook. Keep it up.

By Jorge A S

Jun 17, 2018

Fantastic course. Explanations are great and detailed. The quiz questions have the right level of difficulty. Instructor is very good.

By Setia B

Jan 13, 2019

Highly recommend course which provide a firm descriptive stats and probability foundation.

The assignment is quite challenging though.

By Jose N d l R

May 25, 2017

Probably the best introduction to probability and exploratory data analysis; easy to follow and lots of learning behind this course.

By Yaw O

Jan 02, 2017

Great course. I really enjoyed the lectures, Dr Mine is a great teacher. The assignments especially the labs were also very helpful

By Kostas S

Dec 01, 2016

Very good course to get you started with R and the basic statistics concepts. The peer reviewed assignment is very interesting too.

By Li J

Mar 22, 2018

Both video lecture and books are good, big thanks to teachers who are reply our questions in time. I highly recommend this course!

By Ahmed

Feb 28, 2018

the content is straight forward ,short and informative and also the resources were pretty useful for furthering my knowledge 10/10

By Honey H

Dec 19, 2016

Well laid out and illustrated. I used this as a review of basic statistic concepts. Really enjoyed the course! Thanks!

Honey H.

By SABIN S

Jun 26, 2019

I think the approach to learning with the basic knowledge of statistics and later it's implementation in R is really fruitful.

By Archana T R

Apr 09, 2019

Loved the course! Well taught and the labs support the learning process. I would definitely recommend this course to friends.

By Nithya N

Jul 13, 2017

The course was a good introduction to statistics. The last week assignment was really helpful to recall all 4 weeks learning.

By Federico C

Jun 05, 2016

Loved this course. The material is presented in a way that makes it easy to understand and the examples are very interesting.

By Wojciech R

Sep 01, 2019

T

h

i

s

i

s

r

e

a

l

y

great training. Balance between theory and practice is one of the best in my experience. I strongly recommend it.

By Deniz B

May 24, 2018

Great introduction to probability as well as statistics. Usage of R is exercises and projects is intuitive and instructive.

By Saurabh K

Aug 14, 2016

This course is highly rigorous and requires you to put in hard work and time. It is a perfect course to build foundations.

By Anuradha S

Mar 20, 2020

Acquired the knowledge about how to use RStudio in real world data analysis rather than looking into theoretical aspects.

By Haoqiang Z

Apr 19, 2019

Good statistics 101, also the project is very helpful for me to hone up my R and mathematical thinking skills. Thank you!

By Aidi B

Aug 12, 2017

It is a good course. I learned some basic statistics knowledge. But I hope it can teach more about R statistical command.

By Dishyant

Aug 03, 2017

This course is well designed by the instructors. The concepts are taught to give a clear understanding about the subject.

By Saph

Apr 24, 2019

It's a very helpful course who are preparing for Data Science. She cover all the topics of statistics. I like the video.

By Cormac C

Jul 08, 2017

Lots of good well taught content on statistics in addition to the R tutorials. The book was also an excellent resource.

By Volodymyr F

Dec 18, 2019

Thanks for the excellent course. The whole "Statistics with R" specialization is a perfect introduction in statistics.

By Yunjae C

Oct 11, 2019

Good real-world materials and insight teaching for understanding basic statistics.

I recommend this course to everyone.