Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
3,365 ratings
760 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 739 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By Manikanta D V

Sep 04, 2018

Good for high level understanding of probability

By Guillermo U O G

Sep 04, 2018

It was a good introduction and very informative

By Juan F B

Aug 24, 2018

Great course, clear explanations and very good exercices to practice.

By Mariana E

Sep 06, 2018

Very interesting curse, I learnt a lot, but I also invested a lot of time learning R for the final work, but this is a good practical approach if you are interested in the thema. Txs to Duke University !

By Wilfred M S

Sep 07, 2018

This is an excellent course with well articulated methods of teaching, visual presentation with well prepared learning practices. Learning is flexible provided the learners provide time in the course of the week however busy. It is simple to follow and enough support provided at any time online for the learner.

By FangYiWang

Aug 28, 2018

I really think this is a great course to learn something about statistics as a beginner. It's quite easy to understand and also very practical.

By Farbod E L

Aug 27, 2018

Mine I great & the course is awesome!

By Mohamed E

Oct 10, 2018

excellent course

By MinCheol L

Oct 15, 2018

Excellent intro-level course for Probability and Data

By Alain C

Oct 20, 2018

Excellent!

I have tried many many stats courses over the last few decades - this was the best one.

By Belgore Y

Sep 12, 2018

awesome, I feel renewed....

By Thoffy

Sep 12, 2018

very well-structured course! the lab is especially good for practicing R!

By Juan H

Aug 19, 2018

Great intro course. You can complete it in way less time if you fully dedicate your time to the course.

By Jabberwoo

Sep 26, 2018

Love this course!

By Hunter B

Oct 08, 2018

Great course - great guidance through RStudio coding. Would be great if the instructor could slow down a bit during lectures to make taking notes easier. Otherwise very happy with the course.

By Jorge I F R

Sep 09, 2017

Excelente para entender R y probabilidad.

By Craig D

Sep 11, 2016

Loved the final assignment, challenging and really put to test the things we learned

By Erika

Oct 12, 2016

Used this course of review and it was much better taught than any statistics course I struggled through at university.

By Anna D

Apr 03, 2017

Best statistics course I've ever taken. So many Aha! moments I can't count them.

I have struggled for years to understand and get the hang of statistics, at uni, with online courses and at work. With this course (and the following courses) I think I have finally gained a DEEPER understanding of some of the basic but very important concepts of statistics. Lots of detailed examples and no overly complicated maths gibberish (although still mathematically sound!).

The R programming bits run in parallel to the statistics lectures and can be followed (necessary for a certificate) or can be ignored (if you only want to grasp the concepts), but are overall very easy to understand and follow. There is only little background to R as a programming language and the different types of data, lists, matrices etc. To me that's a good thing, as it allows you to use R right away (which in turn makes me more motivated to go back and learn more about R).

I whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone who wants to understand and use statistics!

By Duncan W

Dec 06, 2016

Great primer!

By Wenbo D

Dec 28, 2016

Very practical course to start

By Marina C R

Jul 31, 2017

Excellent course and teacher.

By Noah

Oct 01, 2017

This is a very good course to learn (or review) the foundations of statistics and how R can be a great companion tool to augment a solid understanding of the topic.

The instructor speaks clearly and at a fast enough pace that there is no time to pay attention to anything else. I appreciated the lectures, slides and there is a free PDF book which is also well written! I am looking forward to the other courses in this series!

By Marshall T M

Sep 28, 2016

Probably the best statistics course I have ever taken....... Why we even do Stats is now beginning to make sense.

By Richard N B A

Apr 13, 2016

Interesting, information-dense and well presented lectures by someone who obviously has a deep understanding of the topics and who is passionate about teaching the subject. Added to that: a great course textbook and useful R tutorials with a focus on commonly used libraries such as dplyr and ggplot. Beginner and intermediate statistics students, as well as teachers interested in the presentation of statistics theory and practice, can't go wrong with this course.