Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,466 ratings
786 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 763 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By Andre G L O

Jun 20, 2016

Very enjoyable and useful. The material is very well explained and the final project is challenger and fun.

I learn a lot on the peer-review processes too!

By Caio C M B

Aug 15, 2017

The metodology of the course is great! The videos and exercises in rstudio are extremely helpfull. I'll definitely come back to the full specialization.

By Jonathan S

Mar 11, 2018

Great introductory course; I recommend taking the time to read the textbook as well as it gives you a much more thorough understanding of the concepts.

By Hossein R

Jun 14, 2017

Amazing course for people interested in statistics and R. Great instructor, everything is explained perfectly and simply! Great quizzes and assignment.

By Scott M

Jun 04, 2016

The mixture of well thought out videos, an online book, and rmarkdown lab templates made this a great experience. I plan to complete the entire course.

By Eric P

Jun 01, 2017

Fantastic instructor with a great energy. There are plenty of examples to drive the concepts home and the textbook is fantastic. Highly recommend.

By Emmanuel E

Jan 09, 2020

Wow, I would totally recommend this course to just about anyone but mainly to those seeking to have a thorough grasp of Probability and Statistics.

By Nitin P

Oct 31, 2019

This course is a good starting point for someone to learn probability concepts.I really enjoyed this course along with e-textbook. Thanks Coursera.

By Lakshmi m

Apr 18, 2018

Helpful !! learnt solving problems with probability perspective .. which is will give more confidence while solving real time analytical problems

By Robyn C

Nov 20, 2018

Really enjoyed a refresh on statistics, and using relevant packages and examples in R. It wasnt easy but exactly what I wanted/needed to brush up!

By Suyash D

Jun 15, 2017

Awesome professor, awesome explanations and awesome project in the last week!! Taught me so many things that I couldn't have learned by myself. :)

By Gaurav P

Dec 04, 2019

Excellent techniques and methods involved in this scores. Learnt a great deal in R and doing analysis with hand on project was a great experience

By Yuzi H

Dec 07, 2017

Ad:

Lecture is clearly understandable! I can enjoy studying every day!

Disad:

I want to more explanations about data analysis assignments in week 5.

By Gustavo V D

Feb 08, 2018

Muy bien organizado, ciertamente una gran introducción no sólo a R, sino a la estadística básica, tanto descriptiva como inferencial. Muy buena.

By Caio H K M

Jun 11, 2016

Really good introduction for anyone who doesn't know probability nor R.

If you already know the basics of both, maybe this course is not for you.

By FangYiWang

Aug 28, 2018

I really think this is a great course to learn something about statistics as a beginner. It's quite easy to understand and also very practical.

By Neilay S

Jul 03, 2017

Great introductory course. Content is conveyed very nicely, so it's easy to understand. Labs are really fun since it's based on real life data!

By Dave S

Jun 13, 2019

Great course, good material and presentation, final assignment requires a bit of extra work but it's worth it for those who want to learn R.

By Jason

Dec 06, 2017

Great course,a very good way to get familiar with R programming as well as statistics,much better than the course "R Programming " from JHU~

By Ngoc N

Dec 12, 2016

Wonderful class for statistics and R. This R practices help you step by step, which is less overwhelming than R program from John Hopkins.

By Brian C

May 13, 2019

Good introduction - the pace of work is appropriate for someone working full time, yet wanting to learn more about probability and data.

By Nikhil S

Apr 24, 2018

Very easy to understand and the topics have been explained very well. Even the additional resources are great for self study. Thank You!

By Arun I

Feb 23, 2017

Great course. Loved the energy of the instructor, the general flow, tutorials and the best part was the Open Stats textbook. Keep it up.

By Jorge A S

Jun 17, 2018

Fantastic course. Explanations are great and detailed. The quiz questions have the right level of difficulty. Instructor is very good.

By Setia B

Jan 13, 2019

Highly recommend course which provide a firm descriptive stats and probability foundation.

The assignment is quite challenging though.