Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
3,365 ratings
760 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 739 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By Juan J S G

Nov 15, 2016

Muy útil para retomar los conocimientos básicos de estadística. / Very useful to recover the basis on statistics

By Ben G

Aug 29, 2016

Excellent introduction to Statistics and Probability. The course progresses at a nice pace - not too much too fast. The textbook is a great resource, and it's written in a very easy to digest way, making the concepts clear and approachable. The videos further reinforce the textbook and help clarify the material.

This class is highly recommended.

By Vijay G

Oct 25, 2016

Its a good start to the series. My only complaint is that the quiz and the lab assignments needs to be much harder. Its too easy to pass them. You dont get a feeling that your are being tested thoroughly.

By Christopher O

Aug 08, 2016

Great

By Arjun B

Dec 29, 2017

Concise and well-made introduction to the basics of statistics with practical examples in R.

The peer-review assignment is very interesting and makes you think and apply statistics that you learn from the videos.

By Andre G L O

Jun 20, 2016

Very enjoyable and useful. The material is very well explained and the final project is challenger and fun.

I learn a lot on the peer-review processes too!

By Joseph

Nov 28, 2016

Good

By Chhaya J

Mar 31, 2018

thanks ..it was nice course ..very interesting and important.

By Emmanuel N A T

Jun 16, 2017

very informative, learnt a whole lot.

By Jingru T

Sep 08, 2017

very fundamental knowledge of probability and data analysis.

By Gregor O

Nov 20, 2016

A very good course, the topic is presented in a very understanding way

By Заров Е А

Mar 28, 2018

This is nice and comprehencive course.

I have learnd a lot about Probability and got a nice practical experience.

By Patricia B

Aug 03, 2017

This course was built in a very objective way. All the important concepts, sometimes forgotten in other courses, are provided. The lab exercises are well made and help to master R.

By 孙林

Oct 30, 2017

Very good, so helpful to me

By Jonathan S

Mar 11, 2018

Great introductory course; I recommend taking the time to read the textbook as well as it gives you a much more thorough understanding of the concepts.

By Gencay I

May 07, 2018

10/10, Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel is really fantastic instructor

By Pawel P

Sep 19, 2017

I like the simplicity of the course. It encourages the student to explore the subject further.

By ShuaiZhao

Jan 26, 2018

Nice course. It is friendly for a newbie.

By zhangyaxu

Oct 26, 2017

easy to understand

By PAUL M

Nov 16, 2017

Very good introduction to R Programming, although the R-project felt like baptism with fire!

By 张石磊

Nov 20, 2017

G

By Shivli D

May 01, 2018

A good course to start with the basics of R

By AMINU T J

Jun 11, 2018

i enjoyed the faculty and the teaching technique adopted. highly informative, educative and applicable course

By Sam M

Oct 24, 2017

Excellent introductory course. Refreshed a few concepts and clarified several key concepts in probability.

By 陈宬

Oct 08, 2017

very good