Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
3,344 ratings
755 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 732 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By Candice

Dec 16, 2018

Good!

By Wang Q

Dec 16, 2018

This course is very helpful to people who want to start to learn R. It combines the probability and R exercise to help us to learn. The teachers are also very nice to our questions.

By Durgadas K

Dec 17, 2018

thanks

By Gopi K D

Dec 20, 2018

Very Nice

By EthanKwon

Dec 04, 2018

Thanks to this course, I was able to develop my knowledge of statistics and get basic skills in R programming.

By Henri M

Jan 09, 2019

Excellent course. Great instructor!

By Olga

Dec 28, 2018

Great course! Thank you!

By Akash R

Dec 26, 2018

It was a highly interesting course in which we learnt topics at an easy and understandable pace. The understanding of the project was consolidated further using examples. Lastly, the peer reviewed project had us apply all our understanding on real world data set which is greatly important in the long run.

By Percy S B

Dec 28, 2018

Greatful course! I learnt a lot!

By Timur T

Jan 12, 2019

Excellent. Would appreciate more in-depth teaching of R, but it is fine.

By Setia B

Jan 13, 2019

Highly recommend course which provide a firm descriptive stats and probability foundation.

The assignment is quite challenging though.

By Sharan S

Jan 01, 2019

Excellent course for starters.

By 倪仲望

Jan 01, 2019

Have a simple understanding of data analysis, as well as a simple use of R language tools.

By Ryan M

Jan 16, 2019

This was an excellent course, I found it easy to follow and I learned a lot that pertains directly to my career. I look forward to the other courses in the Statistics with R certificate

By shankha m

Jan 16, 2019

The best learning happened through the peer graded project and reviewing others' work. However, the course focuses more on statistics. If the learner wants a good grounding on R this may not be the best course to take.

By Felipe G P

Feb 16, 2019

Até o momento o curso está muito bom!

By Dongliang Z

Jan 23, 2019

Terrific! The recommended textbook is also good!

By Jeni R

Mar 22, 2019

Excellent course!

By Oluwajuwon S O

Mar 27, 2019

it is indeed a good way to start a data science journey

By Andrea P

Jan 28, 2019

Very nice and well explained material. Suggested!

By VAIBHAV S

Feb 10, 2019

Very well explained with great examples and so simple to understand

Thank You So much for putting this together !!

By Yaya B

Feb 10, 2019

Good job

By James P

Feb 12, 2019

really good course, learned a lot about statistics and the R coding part is really well done.

By Atul V

Apr 02, 2019

Perfect Course to teach me toughest subject of my educational life ...!!

By Jacob T

Apr 05, 2019

Fantastic intro course. Gives you all the tools you need to succeed. Great for learning statistics and also R.