Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,528 ratings
1,074 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Jan 23, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

BB
Sep 3, 2019

Very clearly explained and the pace is awesome! I really enjoy each deadline and l can already see how it is impacting my day to day work and life. I ook forward to completing the course! Thank you.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,051 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Yeonhwa A

Oct 26, 2020

Thank you so much Dr. Çetinkaya-Rundel and Coursera! I was able to learn the foundation of probability with great video lectures with readings. It was not easy for me to complete the R project at the end, and I learned a lot from the final project and peer reviews.

By Sanju S

Aug 11, 2016

Excellent course. Very engaging. The amount of effort the team has put in is very evident. The quizzes in the lecture make you pause, think and reinforce the concepts. I am currently doing John Hopkins data specialization as well, but this is way better. Thank you!

By DoubleJ J

Sep 21, 2020

Really good introduction to the principles of probability. The lab is really useful as well because it requires you to learn how to use R. Sometimes the 'simplest' things can be challenging because of how R functions & knowing these intricacies is very useful.

By Raghav A

Jul 17, 2017

The Course & Slide Material is nice.The examples used help in getting & applying the theory matter taught in the previous videos.It's great.

Only suggested thing is if the instructor could provide a word or handwritten material it would be an icing on the cake.

By Marcellus R

Apr 18, 2020

Great course! Dr. Mine is a great instructor and the course structure is good. The final project is a bit challenging, especially for those who don't have prior R knowledge like me. However, I think this is the best way to learn a new programming language.

By Sky E G

Apr 20, 2020

a bit fast paced for people with no background in statistics, but for those who have the basis, it is great. Mine is a great instructor.

what bothered me a bit what the way the R part and the statistics (lectures) par was unrelated and almost independent.

By Valeriy K

Oct 24, 2019

I couldn't be more happy with this course. Super rich course materials, diverse tasks, hands-on labs, and many more. I really love the textbook, Open Statistics - the best statistics guides I've seen so far. Huge thanks to the professor Çetinkaya-Rundel!

By Zhou C

Aug 24, 2017

A great course by Professor Çetinkaya-Rundel whose teaching is very easy to understand. It was really instrumental and interesting to join this course especially when I dealt with those related assignments and ran R in the lab. Strong recommendation!!!

By Sarah W

Apr 27, 2018

Excellent course! I learned a lot about probability, and it was clear that a lot of work went into this curriculum. The slides were already perfect for taking notes from, and the examples were great. The instructor spoke very clearly and was awesome.

By Bruno R S

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent introduction to statistics. An good refresher to whom have already taken such a course long ago. The course content is mostly focused on basic statistics and math, so the R programming is quite challenging if you are a complete newbie to R.

By Tae K K

Apr 19, 2016

I have not taken Statistics 101 and Probability Theory 101 since college. This course was a great refresher course for review! I highly recommend this course as a refresher/review course to jump into real-world-application courses down the road.

By Khaled A I

Dec 12, 2019

The course is very organized and informative. explanation is very clear.

the only issue is that the final project requires R skills that are not taught during the course. The labs during the course is extremely primitive compared to that project

By Charly A

Nov 26, 2016

The professor is fantastic and the content is top-notch. A great mix of theory and real-world application. The course is not math-heavy but provides enough additional material for one to delve into those details. I highly recommend this course!

By MD A S

Sep 2, 2020

This is the best R programming course I ever came across on Coursera. It is very interactive and real life application based. The assignments and projects helped me to have a better understanding of technical aspects of both R and statistics.

By Corina S

Jun 12, 2020

This course helped me break into the world of R programming pretty easily. I also really enjoyed the course material. The only thing I thought could use some improvement were the instructions for the final project. They were a bit too vague.

By Lindsay C

Dec 13, 2018

This course was a good introduction to basic probability, experimental design, and data structure. The labs and final assignments made great use of R Studio and markdown. This course is best suited for someone who is proficient in R already.

By Prashant S

Aug 22, 2017

The course was structured and explained in easy to understand fashion. The project submission at the end of the week was a challenge for a beginner like me, but having submitted it and gained a good grade on that is a satisfying experience.

By Yu L

Apr 17, 2018

Useful course! very clear to make points. The instructor is very good at teaching. recommend. One thing I don't like is that for the peer review project, you have wait to long before some one else review your work and get the certificate.

By Muhammad F

Mar 29, 2020

The course give me a basic understanding of basic statistics and show me how to employ statistical calculation and visualization by using R studio. One of the most exciting things is the project assignment which analyzes real-world data.

By François P

Jul 26, 2016

A very nice intro to the topic!

The course is problem-oriented and introduces important concepts in relation to questions that will interest the student. It also gradually introduces R and its use for statistics analysis. I recommend it.

By Saransh A

Jun 26, 2016

Absolutely wonderful course

With the basics of Probability and Statistics to it's implementation in R

Everything is very simple and the text book is very much in accordance to the course, also the lab exercises are very well planned out

By James H

May 5, 2016

Interesting and enjoyable. Very clear explanation of concepts in the videos and text. Begin using R in the first week, with exercises that allow you to pick up a few commands fairly easily and start analysing data and creating graphs.

By Ignacio S U

May 28, 2017

I've been using coursera for over 4 years and never had I seen a course as good as this. It is pretty concise and integral. It plays between theory and practice and recommends a handful of references. The course is totally worth it.

By Wang Y

Oct 18, 2016

A great course to start learning about probability and statistics, as well as basic R programming. The final assignment is quite challenging for an introduction course, so plan ahead to make sure you have enough time to complete it.

By Guerville J

Mar 19, 2020

Great explanations - it was good to review all the foundations and learn R in the process.

The final assignment was very long to achieve.... more 8 hours than the 2 hours advertised.

But I really learned how to use R in the process.