Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Music Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Music Production by Berklee

4.8
stars
1,999 ratings

About the Course

Explore the art of record production and how to make recordings that other people will love listening to. This course will teach you how to make emotionally moving recordings on almost any recording equipment, including your phone or laptop. The emphasis is on mastering tangible artistic concepts; the gear you use is up to you. You will learn to develop the most important tool in the recording studio: your ears. You will learn to enhance every aspect of your own productions, both sonically and musically, by employing deeper listening skills. Assignments will include posting your own recordings for peer review, and reviewing your classmates’ work by employing specific tools and strategies. If you use a digital audio workstation to record and mix, that’s great, but as long as you can record into your computer and post an MP3, you can complete the assignments. As you learn about the art of record production in this 4-week course, you will also learn about yourself and who you are as an artist and producer. It is not necessary that you read music or play an instrument to take this course....

Top reviews

RM

Jul 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I learned how to create my very first music song all on my own using an interface. I am independent and ready to make lots more music in my home on my own time by myself.

BD

Aug 21, 2018

Really enjoyed this and got a lot out of it.

Great curriculum, great delivery. Meaningful assignments, great community. Highly recommend if you want to reflect on and hone your artistic vision.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 597 Reviews for The Art of Music Production

By Esmailin C

May 29, 2017

Excelente content. Helped me not only to understand new technical skills, but also to understand myself as artist/producer. So now I can use the right skills to convey the emotions properly trough music. Thank you very much!

By Deleted A

Jan 25, 2017

Great, great course, I wish I had had this course ten years ago. Not very technical, but aiming to shape the good practices for making good music ! Stephen Webber is really a great teacher, giving a lot in just a few weeks.

By Dan C

Jun 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I like Steven as an instructor. This is the first Coursera course I have taken and if this is an indication on the quality of the rest of the Berklee Online courses, then I am a huge fan.

By Ryan D

Mar 12, 2019

This was a fantastic course. Whether you're new to music or have been doing it for some time, I bet there is something in here for you. Even if you're not a musician, this course is truly about music as an artform.

By Thiago A C M F

Oct 22, 2020

The Course The Art of Music Production gives you a lot of support including the assistance of the members of the community, I think its the best I had ever had, so organized! I like to being study here very much!

By Thomas J M

Mar 8, 2019

The course did a nice job in the time available in conveying the basics of how to listen to music in a different way and how to begin to produce music in a way that uses the technology to convey a desired emotion.

By Vinicius C

Jul 12, 2017

Great introduction to the subject. The peer graded assignments are really helpful for learning and growing as a producer. I recommend taking this course along with a DAW course if you haven't yet mastered a DAW.

By Carlos A P

Feb 19, 2018

The course was very valuable to me, providing a lot of information about the aspects that have to do with the emotionality when come producing music. it also covered some technical aspects. Highly recommended

By Maxime C

Nov 23, 2020

An essential course for all musicians, beginners or experienced.

Stephen is an inspiring and passionate instructor who will teach you how to listen to your own music and give meaning to your musical project.

By Raquela M

May 10, 2017

So far so good.. I would like to know why when I'm writing my feedback I'm not able to space my wording? Not happy that is has made it complicated to express my comments. Please advise how this can be fixed!

By Michał R F

May 9, 2020

This course is great!! But only if you're feeling good with hard work on your own music and you're ready for understand your limitations and go beyond them. Thanks to Mr. Stephen Webber for great lectures.

By João M d S

May 21, 2020

Fantastic course. Kept me motivated from day 0.

It reaches a wide spectrum of things a DIY musician should know.

The peer to peer activities are wonderful and I've learned a lot with my peers.

Thanks a lot!

By Henry S

Jul 20, 2017

I am not able to find a link to look at the reviews of my work. Where are they located. And where am I going to find the answer to this question. Perhaps send me an email

hschniewind@earthlink.net

Thank you

By Artyom P

Dec 9, 2020

I was inspired by Steve in the true meaning of this word. He says not much, but puts the right accents straight to the essence and I was able to make tough decisions on my current album work. Thank you!

By Mwangi D M

Nov 16, 2018

I just love how this course opened my eyes and ears to Music production basics. Been searching the internet especially YouTube but here lies the answers. And its enjoyable. All the material is relevant.

By Yolanda M

May 18, 2018

This course is absolutely amazing. It's incredible what you can learn when you put your mind to it and it's really great having input from other people such as your peers. I would do it all over again.

By Rashida M

Jul 29, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I learned how to create my very first music song all on my own using an interface. I am independent and ready to make lots more music in my home on my own time by myself.

By Raoul S

Apr 18, 2018

I really enjoyed learning about music production also discovered how fun it is to create from the heart!

I will most surely be taking more from this class, in the next coming weeks!

Thanks so Much !

By Arthur B

Nov 26, 2023

I learned a lot and it will help me immensely recording as it is all new to me, I made my first ever recording of one of the many songs I have written. Now I am working towards an entire album!!!

By Logan Q

Aug 18, 2020

This course was absolutely fantastic! I really love how well organized and thought out all of the lectures and assignments were. This has really helped encourage me to continue pursuing music =)

By Rodrigo V S

Dec 30, 2021

Si haces paso a paso lo enseñado, realmente aprendes mucho y abre tu mente, te pones mas creativo y te enfoca de manera profesional para comenzar el proceso de convertirse en productor musical.

By Yan Y

Aug 30, 2020

Brilliantly brought by Stephen Webber, this course does it's best - developes you as a musician and as a producer. Music serves to convey emotions, this course serves to convey music in you.

By Al W F

Jan 23, 2019

In this section I've learned a great deal about music as art form. I can now appreciate music much better and challenge myself while listening to a song or watching a singer or performance.

By Chris M

Dec 12, 2018

Excellent! Congratulations to Coursera and Berklee for bringing us these practical tips that surpassed my expectations really worth it and I will share with everyone this great content.

By Yuriy G

Feb 19, 2017

Очень интересный и познавательный курс. Stephen Webber сумел заинтересовать и передать интересные навыки, появилось много идей, которые я намерен реализовать. В общем - спасибо большое