Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
2,800 ratings
658 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG

Feb 10, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

ST

Jul 19, 2017

Very well prepared materials and videos.\n\nsimulation was really helpful and not too lengthy or detailed\n\nInstructor was very knowledgeable and seems to know to say the right amount of information

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 649 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By ISABEL L M

Mar 05, 2019

GREAT!!!

By Christian S

Mar 06, 2019

Very helpful information!

By Leeuwin G

Mar 10, 2019

Great skills

By Eunice V

Mar 12, 2019

Very useful, very practical... one if the best courses I´ve ever take.

By Muhammad A

Mar 12, 2019

This is course is useful especially applying the theoretical part on a real case (role-play)

By Tyler C

Mar 13, 2019

Amazing presentation. This course is full of great information for first responders willing to learn how to talk to their patients. As a paramedic and EMT instructor, I am going to start recommending Psychological First Aid to my students as supplementary training to their psychological emergencies didactic learning.

By Emilia

Mar 13, 2019

What a brilliant course!! Thank you so much!

By MaiAnh

Mar 17, 2019

Engaging and explicit content; with appropriate assignment difficulty. The content is concise but proper, easy to understand.

By Francisco E

Mar 18, 2019

Practical and informative. Well worth the time.

By Theresa C

Mar 20, 2019

Great summary of Psychological triage and skills that can be used in the field. The steps were simple but not diluted and helped me to be able to put them into practice immediately. The course centers around a practical scenario so that it is easy to translate the knowledge and information into praxis.

By Karen M S B

Mar 20, 2019

Es un curso muy bien estructurado con muchas herramientas que incitan al alumno a seguir adelante, me encantaron las simulaciones donde aprendes la mejor técnica para manejar una crisis , ya que hay una simulación de lo que no se debe de hacer y una de lo que si.

By Donovan L A B R

Mar 20, 2019

Great course and content!

By Nosheen s

Mar 26, 2019

two words: Amazing Course!!!! three more words: Don't miss it!!!!!!

By Педдер В К

Mar 21, 2019

Обязателен для прохождения каждому!!!!

By Alicia A J

Mar 23, 2019

This is an excellent course on PFA. Dr. Everly explains the RAPID model very well. Glad I took the course.

By mohamoud a o

Dec 21, 2018

thank you

By Lubna A

Dec 06, 2018

It was great

By Kirsten J A

Apr 01, 2019

T

By Cheryl H

Apr 02, 2019

I highly recommend this course for anyone living in today's society

By Andrés F G T

Feb 05, 2019

Best invested time in my life. Thanks and greetings from Bogotá, Colombia (SouthAmerica)

By Eleni K

Feb 08, 2019

Very interesting course.

By Sarah N

Feb 19, 2019

this course was really helpful, I've learned a lot of new techniques, and a lot of added information, enjoyed every lecture and always found great information to use i my career. thank you

By Sasmith R M

Jan 26, 2019

Loved the course. It was very detailed and well taught.

By Katie A M

Jul 20, 2018

The instructor was easy to follow, and very understanding! I have learned a lot with this course! Thank you for offering it, and I hope to see more courses on Psychology from John Hopkins University!