Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
2,808 ratings
661 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG

Feb 10, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

KM

Jul 20, 2018

The instructor was easy to follow, and very understanding! I have learned a lot with this course! Thank you for offering it, and I hope to see more courses on Psychology from John Hopkins University!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 652 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Vitaliy A

May 20, 2017

Now I need to know more about PFA. This time I have an interesting start in PFA. I will continue

By Waldemar Z

Mar 08, 2016

It's an excellent and really helpful course!

By Allan G

Feb 26, 2016

Good course that gives valuable tools to anyone, who occasionally have to handle people in life-crisis. Not only related to major disaster events

By John P

Dec 27, 2017

This course not only talks about the technical aspects of helping others who are suffering from their loss, but also provides videos of good and bad examples in a real scene. Meanwhile, on a general point of view, it is also a good introduction to talking with others, especially with the ideas of reflective listening and paraphrasing

By Nelson X D L

Jan 13, 2016

Exceptional course! Lectures were engaging, informative, and insightful. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who might be thinking about providing assistance in a crisis situation. Furthermore, there are skills taught in this course that prove not only useful in crisis situations but in everyday life as well. Needless to say I am excited to practice what I have learned from this course into any and all situations I may be involved in!

By Muhammad M K

Mar 15, 2016

Many Many thanks to Dr. George and Coursera for that I have learned how to behave with people who will go through disasters. It was really meaningful course. My idea has changed now. I feel different.

Thank you. I am proud of Coursera.

By Corinne S

Feb 17, 2016

Great class and something valuable to all people. Very interesting and I highly recommend it.

By 林云

Sep 30, 2016

Fantastic course!

By David G

Oct 04, 2017

Excellent

By Catherine S M

Mar 29, 2016

Very good lectures and videos! Recommended for all those interested in helping people.

By Neha K

Jan 19, 2017

very interesting and loved watching all the lectures

By Erika H

Mar 23, 2018

Excellent

By Anna M

Aug 11, 2016

Great course!

By JOYCE M

Mar 14, 2016

A very informative course!

By Emily M

Apr 04, 2016

I loved this, so much fun to learn!

By Helen N

Sep 12, 2017

A brilliant course, well presented with good variety of interactive media e.g. video interventions, quizzes, lecture and summaries. I also bought the book that goes with this talk and it has been very useful in the field. I would highly recommend this course.

By Kevin R P

Aug 15, 2016

Excellent course! Delved into the realm of crisis intervention in a comprehensive and logical fashion.

By Kshama J

Jan 20, 2017

It helped me learn about PFA and grow as a person. I think everyone should take this course in the interest of mankind, and in the interest of the community. The course material is so so good. Thankyou to Dr Everly and the great team from John Hopkins University Bloomberg school of Public health.

By Yola L

Sep 27, 2017

The videos where very clear and nice to watch. George is very good at making the lesson videos to the point, interested and very clear. No nonsense. Really like to watch them.

By Armando V M

Feb 14, 2016

Amazing course! Exactly what I expected, and more. Thank you for take the time to create a good and understandable course in an engaging way. If you are thinking to make another specialized on this, count me in!

I look forward to hear about new courses from Johns Hopkins University.

Thank you!

Armando

By lukasz k

Mar 13, 2016

Thank you for this course, it was really interesting. I will come back to all the materials. Even in everyday life, some of the techniques seem very useful.

By Zara J

Oct 17, 2017

A great course giving insight into first responders' dialogue with trauma victims. It was very enjoyable.

By Koenraad D

Jan 25, 2018

Excellent introduction course. Well-structured, clear explanations and realistic examples. I enjoyed this course very much and have gained much knowledge on the subject.

By Simona S

Feb 01, 2018

clear and to the point

By Matthew P

Apr 12, 2016

Incredibly useful course.