Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
2,789 ratings
658 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG

Feb 10, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

KM

Jul 20, 2018

The instructor was easy to follow, and very understanding! I have learned a lot with this course! Thank you for offering it, and I hope to see more courses on Psychology from John Hopkins University!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 647 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Kristine A J T

Feb 12, 2017

Really helpful!

By SHROQ M I H

Jan 16, 2018

The course was very helpful and I learned a lot of skills related to providing psychological support services to survivors. Thank you very much

By Taras H

Apr 17, 2016

Simply excellent!

By Ingeborg S

Jun 03, 2017

Good information, well told

By Erica D

Apr 10, 2016

The course teaches ways to help victims in a disaster situation. Professor Everly's course materials were easy to understand and enjoyable. The quizzes always related directly to the course material, and I feel that I learned what the course set out to teach me. Thank you Prof. Everly!

By 包亮

May 02, 2018

This course is very useful and helpful, thank you Dr.George!

By Nicholas T

Aug 30, 2017

This is a clear, concise and insightful course on Psychological First Aid as a parallel in taking care of mental health needs, along side physical health needs, in the wake of disaster or severe trauma. It provides useful basic, initial interventionist steps that any person should understand or be aware of at least.

Dr Everly delivers each presentation at a good pace, peppering the more technical details with personal injects that showcases his own experience in this field. All in all, I enjoyed his style in balancing the seriousness of the field with some levity and earnestness.

By Marilana R

Jan 31, 2017

The course was interesting, accessible, and the content was presented in a way that made it practical and useful. I only wish that the class went more in depth and was a bit longer!

By Hilary A

Jul 18, 2017

Very worthwhile course and useful for today's world. Thank you so much for offering this to ordinary people.

By Rana F B I

Aug 08, 2017

very amazing and useful course I highly recommend it

By Susana A B

Jul 28, 2017

This is a very useful course. The contents are clear, easily understood and it offers a valuable tool for the primary psycholoogical care of victims of catastrophes or violent situations. The quality of the examples show the mastery of the teacher, his years of practice and his wise empathy. Thank you for sharing so generously your life experiences and your method.

By Marc-Antoine G

Jun 02, 2017

Excellent course!

By Rebecca L W

Nov 20, 2016

This course is easy to follow with a mix of resources making it engaging and inspiring. I found the RAPID PFA model to be an effective and proactive response to dealing with adverse situations. It is very interesting to learn that this technique is found to be more effective than that of a series of post disaster psychotherapy, so this can be taught to non medical aid workers and possibly alleviate some of the sometimes unnecessary strain on medical and/or psychological resources. It is all about going back to basics, a need to reach out to others and a need to communicate and not suffer in silence.

By Gerardo S

Jun 24, 2018

Great course, easy to get and to understand, as well as to apply, highly recommended!

By Dianna B

Sep 16, 2017

Highly recommended for everyone

By Stacey

May 30, 2016

I enjoyed learning this course. The course materials and videos are easy to understand.

By Darshan D

May 08, 2017

Very well crafted course which helps students to know how to deal with the psychological damage caused by disasters. Also helps to increase the EQ (Emotional Quotient).

By Avi O

Oct 02, 2016

Short and to the point!

By Fabienne B

Nov 10, 2016

Great insight in how to listen, talk to and help people who have just experienced the worst day of their life.

By Chenlei Z

Mar 21, 2017

This course is elucidating to beginner students in Psychology.

By Rukhsar K

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent resource for first responders/ community workers and even faith based counselors. This is something that can even be useful to protect your family or friends in their distress and psychological adversity. I had a friend who was in depression and was thinking to commit suicide but speaking with her and comforting her, showing compassion and being there for her, helped her and slowly slowly she started improving. This course has helped me a lot to speak with my clients at work who calls after natural disasters or auto accidents. :)

By Celina S

Jan 31, 2016

Wonderful course! The material discussed is applicable in all kinds of scenarios not just crisis!

By Karlheinz S

Jan 29, 2017

very goog in combination of speaking and showing (video)

By Marilyn K M

Jun 15, 2017

This course is versatile in application, I can see PFA being used in multiple fields outside of law enforcement, first responder, or even disaster aid groups. I would recommend it as a set of self skills for individuals to be able to use it to help themselves and their local community. The main point is that Psychological First Aid is not therapy and an individual is not attempting to diagnose a person, they're working to help be a touchstone during a point of crisis in life to help focus a person onto a path of recovery and provide information and resources as needed. Even for anyone that is looking to study more Psychological or Mental Health courses, this is a good addition to help add to that knowledge base. The course is nicely spaced out so as not to be overwhelming whether one is taking it by itself or along with other courses at the same time. The break down of examples through the video simulations allows for a better grasp of right and wrong applications for the use of the RAPID model. Plus it provides a progressive flow to digest each section over the course of 5 weeks for the RAPID model in application and practice.

By Bilge K

Feb 06, 2017

Thank you George for explaining each and every step in a simple but profound way. Simulations were really helpful to understand the essence of the first aid and I found myself several times stopping the video and thinking about the possible ways of supporting and listening.