Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
12,838 ratings
1,979 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

Jan 14, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,905 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Alie E A A O

Mar 22, 2019

i don't enjoy with this course at all. this course is not good . i don't like copying code and paste it into other place. also to explain code was written before is not good for beginner the code must be written live to understand whole code . Also the assignment wasn't clear at all. you had to search to know what they want exactly. I hope to improve it for next people who will take it

By Connor H

Jun 11, 2019

It's a great toy introduction to database technologies - I wish the assignments involved more than just running starter code and making a few lines of modifications.

By Peter B

Sep 06, 2018

Instructor is engaging, conceptual overviews were excellent.

Here's what I would do to improve:

(1) I don't think it would cost you much or take you much time to add honors content. That would be helpful for anyone just brushing up on the material that wants to go a little further.

(2) The last assignment is absurdly easy. I've never had a programming assignment where the criteria is simply to run code someone else has already written. That's just lazy and it hurts the brand name of Coursera and the University of Michigan.

I'm sure some of your students ('ahem) would be happy to produce some honors concept and rework the final assignment.

By 齐振

Feb 11, 2019

sql语言的内容偏多

By Paula P B

Jan 27, 2019

Really good and interesting material! Also the activities are fun and easy to achieve.

By Amro M M

Jan 28, 2019

AWESOME! You want to learn how to use relational databases with python. This course is your best friend.

By Anja K

Jan 14, 2019

Great class! Loved it!

By Hamza a

Jan 17, 2019

Exceptional course

By Omar E

Jan 17, 2019

Awesome Course

By Vishal V

Jan 17, 2019

Well taught course. Learned a lot about databases. Thank you Dr. Chuck.

By Sandra H

Jan 31, 2019

Great But a little difficult.

By Mert D

Jan 22, 2019

Great course!

By Max B

Jan 21, 2019

Another great course from Dr. Chuck. Have you ever wondered how to read data and build databases using Python? Then this course is for you. Easy to follow along, good lectures and material and (quite) easy but good assignments. Two thumbs up!

By Ephraim K

Feb 04, 2019

Great intro to SQL and understanding of Databases together with Python

By Nattawat B

Jan 22, 2019

Course 4 give a bigger picture after suffering from course 3

With this course things makes more sense and SQL is really useful

By Alexeis F F

Jan 22, 2019

Very well course!!!

By Rajneesh G

Dec 31, 2018

Brilliant course. Dr. Chuck is the best for Python.

By Jensen L

Jan 02, 2019

Had a lot of fun with SQL + Python!

By Nicolas S

Jan 03, 2019

This course by Charles Severance is one of the best out there. It touches upon many topics just enough to get us look deeper while maintaining clarity and simplicity. A must do!

By Adrian V

Dec 18, 2018

Useful

By Mohammad K

Dec 18, 2018

very useful and concise course.

By Dao X H

Dec 19, 2018

Good

By Rudy H

Jan 04, 2019

Great Course by great Instructor, thank you Dr. Chuck.

By Alexandre A R

Jan 06, 2019

really enjoyed the course!

By Ignacio A G H

Jan 10, 2019

Great simple explanation of databases! SQLite is a great tool