Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
21,230 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material

(143 Reviews)

Top rated instructor

(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

Jun 16, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 3,204 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Robert S

Mar 15, 2016

I learned much more about what programming is used for and how it works. This last part of the course built on the 'building blocks' of the earlier modules and thought it went a bit fast in the final stages it left me feeling a real sense of achievement.

The materials are really well organised and engaging. When I look back I see that I've come a long way.

By Sastry D

Dec 23, 2016

An amazing course that concludes the Python set nicely. Dr Chuck does an excellent job and his textbook adds considerably to the convenience. The test questions and programming exercises are thought out well. They help to consolidate the material nicely without having to spend tens of hours but at the same time requiring some thought. Highly recommended.

By Feras M

May 4, 2020

It is a great course! This course is considered another proof of that Python has powerful tools and the flexibility to deal with different kinds of data sources. Thank you Dr. Chuck for everything, you made every thing simple and easy to grasp, I will continue with more advanced Python topics with the same mentality that I have learn during this course

By RUTVIK B P

Jul 9, 2020

I loved all the 4 specializations, they were well taught, great for beginners to get a hang of coding, and especially Python. Loved the Instructor and his codes/explanations. Dr. Chuck has been one of the best teachers I've ever had in my life and this comes from the heart.

100% recommend it to anyone wishing to upskill or/and learn Python programming!

By vishal g

Dec 12, 2016

Dr. Charles makes these modules much more interesting than I have ever seen before. I am a Masters graduate from a reputed university, which is one among top 10 in the world, but I can strongly say that Dr. Charles is something different and I would love to study forever under him.

The way he connects technology to real world is something fantastic.

By Yash J

May 4, 2020

Nice course...!!

I really loved the course structure designed and the coding standards/approaches used.Teaching style of the Instructor is really Nice.

I just want to suggest that week 5 videos are not up to mark and should be updated as per new Google API and the Instructor must explain how we can add our own desired location from Google maps and See it on the Map of where.html File used in the Assignment because I spent too much time in Week 5 assignment but still was not able to understand the code.

I think Some more explanation can be included on Normalization as how we can create relational tables more precisely as it was used in code example and also on how to use Primary and Foreign key in Databases table with Working example and demonstration.

By Adam M

Nov 14, 2019

TA was EXTREMELY rude when asked a question about command line vs IDE. Refused to back down on the point, even though it was pointed out that the class allowed for it as per a reading in an earlier course in the specialization. This treatment was inappropriate and frankly disrespectful, and it soured the entire course experience.

By Patrik K

Jan 19, 2021

I'd give this course 5 stars but explanations were quite vague, I'd like to learn more how to code than just from pre-written codes. But in general, Dr Chuck is a great teacher and I like his teaching skills and there are many things what can be improved. Also more exercises would be useful, especially from 3rd and 4th course.

By Sevin F

May 18, 2021

The course was overall helpful and I've learnt a lot in the ways of SQL. However, the problems were fairly rudimentary and did not pose a challenge as most of it was written prior.

By Srdjan J

Jul 7, 2021

Assignments were too easy for this level.

By Matthew B

Apr 25, 2016

The course was informative and some of the material regarding databases will be useful towards my current job. However, I felt that in classes 3 and 4, Python was really an after thought. I believe I could have completed this course without ever taking the first two classes because the assignments only required slight modifications to existing code. I was more analyzing patterns rather then truly understanding the code. I would rather see the course continue to expand upon basic programing knowledge so that I can write the code by myself instead of seeking examples to cut/paste all the time.

By Deepro B

Nov 10, 2022

Not letting me to resubmit the failed exam

By Deleted A

Dec 31, 2015

This course is not challenging at all.

By Katrin K

Mar 31, 2016

Very basic, rather simple

By sidnei f

Jan 29, 2024

As a seasoned learner on Coursera, I enrolled in the "Using Databases with Python" course offered by Michigan University with high hopes of gaining valuable insights into database management and Python integration. However, my experience with this course was far from satisfactory, leaving me utterly disappointed and regretful of my investment in both time and money. First and foremost, the course content lacked depth and coherence. Instead of providing comprehensive explanations and practical examples, the lectures seemed rushed and poorly structured. The instructor failed to elucidate key concepts effectively, leaving students grappling with confusion rather than clarity. Furthermore, the assignments and quizzes were poorly designed and often ambiguous. It felt like the course materials and assessments were hastily put together without proper consideration for the learners' comprehension levels. Also, the grading methodology employed by the staff proved to be not only inconsistent but also incredibly frustrating for students. The criteria used for grading assignments seemed arbitrary and ambiguous. Despite adhering to the provided instructions and guidelines, many students found themselves receiving inexplicably low grades with minimal to no feedback provided.

By YACHA V R

Jun 24, 2020

I didn't copy anything but if they think that I have copied then they should reset my assignment again and give me one chance so that I could update my work.

Waiting for the assignment to be reset.

By Eslam A

May 9, 2021

I wrongly submitted the wrong files and they sent me a plagiarism note without even understanding or discussing the case with me.

By Laurent M

Apr 7, 2019

excercices were not challenging, just few lines to add or adapt, should be a bit more difficult

By Karl K

Mar 4, 2016

Verbose, wandering. Instructor takes too long to do too little. No value add over a textbook.

By Boris B

Mar 5, 2019

The home tasks do not teach you anything

By Emma A

Jan 10, 2022

No help in terms of Technical Support

By HanThu L

Nov 10, 2023

You don't need to highlight the name of the program. You need to highlight the added location in your output. You need to open where.data in your programming text editor (Atom, SublimeText, Brackets, etc.) and add a new location that is not already in the given data set. Save the change, then run the code as instructed. #1 should have shown the output of geoload.py including the highlighted added location. #2 should have shown the output of geodump.py including the highlighted added location. #3 should have shown the added location zoomed in on the map. When requesting a reset on the discussion forum please copy and paste this note as proof that you've read and understood it. Mention in the thread title that you have a note from the instructor. Please reset

By Hui C H J

Mar 31, 2021

I have enjoyed this course as much as the other 3 courses before it. I had fun learning how useful Python can be in gathering data into a database then analyzing it with SQLite. The examples provided during the lectures showed me how versatile Python can be. I'm looking forward to the last course for this Python specialization.

I would recommend this 4th course in the Python specialization if you finished the other 3 courses and still enjoy it so far. Dr. Chuck continues to do a great job explaining the material so I didn't feel overwhelmed. Learning python has been a very enjoyable process.

By CHAMAL D R

Jul 9, 2023

I'm glad to hear that you found the "Using Databases with Python" course helpful in your learning journey. Recommending courses to others is a fantastic way to share knowledge and support fellow learners. It's wonderful that this course offers a comprehensive understanding of Python programming, specifically tailored for working with databases. Whether you're a beginner or an experienced programmer, this course provides a valuable foundation. Keep up the great work and continue exploring new horizons in your learning path!

By Mario C

May 30, 2021

The course does a great job at introducing relatively complex concepts in a simplified yet accurate manner. It is exactly what one would expect from a "beginners" course that's meant to be "for everyone".

However, one should also note that the topics of visualizations and using databases are very broad. In this context, this course serves as a great first introductory step into the world of databases. You would definitely need to take additional courses later on to gain a more in-depth understanding of such topics.