Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
16,544 ratings
2,486 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

Jun 17, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,416 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Mike T

Jan 16, 2016

Professor Chuck is my new hero. Ok, some would say that the course is very easy. In truth, it was for me, but I'm a professional programmer who fell in love with Python a few years ago and I'm always looking for excuses to just have fun with it. And although for someone with my experience it is was not a difficult course, I still learned some things from it, and the instructor is a great, down to earth lecturer who is clearly very passionate about teaching and Python, and well, traveling the world. ;) So even if you are an experienced programmer, then unless you are sure that you absolutely can't learn anything more about using Python to access SQL databases and you don't want to have a lot of fun, then take this course!

By Christopher T

Jan 05, 2018

I have been enjoying my journey through these courses by Dr. Chuck immensely. My only criticism is that sometimes the instructions for an assignment are a bit odd in wording, counter intuitive, even unclear. This issue may be more true of the previous course than this one. But the remedy if confused is the active and helpful forums. The mentors and teaching assistants are amazing, and often make pinned posts to guide students over hurdles, such as with the final assignment of this course and a problem with Google's API key. Still, the set-up, the skills learned, and most of all Dr. Chuck's engaging, easy to understand, and humorous lectures are well worth the time and price of admission.

By Charlie R

Mar 13, 2018

Lots of moving parts in this course! It ran the gamut of all the Python for Everybody courses so far, from file handling , line parsing, APIs, SQL, JSON, and html. -- My AHA! moment was looking at a restaurant review in nytimes.com. The article had a google map: I looked at the html code and sure enough, could spot the html script containing the JSON file listing the title, address, latitude, longitude, etc. That was very exciting to see our class work reflected in real world application. -- I look forward to the next course, the Capstone Project. I am very confident and excited for this next step in my education.

By liu x l

Jan 02, 2016

Same as the 3 previous courses in this specialization, this one is also very informative. And the explanations are very clear.

Only one thing I realize after these 4 courses -- exercises are all very simple, or rather, the difficult part of the exercises are already made, and we only need to add very simple part of the code. This way we don't get much practice. As a result, when i wanted to program something myself, i needed to search for references constantly. But probably the final project of the specialization is exactly there to cover the practicing part. Looking forward to it.

By Daniel M C

Jan 15, 2016

It's still a good series of courses, and now they are breaking down the lectures into shorter chunks. That makes it easier to download and easier to manage my study time.

The slides and screenviews are still hard to see. Tiny purple text on a black background just *does*not*work*.

Up to week 2 I'm finding the explanations are not deep and detailed enough, and the assignments are too easy and superficial.

But I guess that's OK, it's a short course and it gives you a quick overview of a bunch of different technologies. It is very good at that.

By Ashutosh D

May 15, 2017

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Informatics”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 2.

By Anand B S

Oct 17, 2016

The Teacher made me thirsty of more work. Especially in the last chapter, I was looking for more challenging work. The way the assignment was designed and the topics were taught made me think, the assignment for the last week was quite easier and I was expecting something more challenging. This proves the beauty of this class. I wish I have a trainer like this always with me, at least as long as I cannot go out and look for work myself.

Thanks a million to Dr. Charles Severance. This is a very positive experience.

By Kieran M

Feb 02, 2017

Dr. Chuck is very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about ensuring that everybody know how to program. Further to this, the information that was provided in this course, along with the specialization's accompanying courses, gave me enough knowledge to begin my own venture into scraping, cleaning and storing web content. Add this to the University of Michigan's specialization in Data Science and you'll definitely have solid foundational knowledge of how to collect, manipulate and analyze digital data.

By Christina O

Jan 01, 2016

Dr Chuck makes the daunting look less daunting. Subjects covered include exploration of API, grounding in data scraping etiquette, basic data modeling economical database normalization, continuation of Google API geocoding, use of Python for scraping and cleaning data. The course assumption is that if you made it this far, you can handle a speedier pace of content delivery. The discussion forums are more valuable too, as one learns what libraries and functions differ between Python 2.7.x and Python 3.x.

By JIANGHONG Y

Jun 21, 2019

I'm going to recommend THIS course to everyone, to me it's like the core course of the whole bunch of stuff. It's very easy to find syntax about Python on the web, cause you have Python in your mind, after all that what you're pursuing. But modern programming is more than that: you need storage to store all information/data you gathered. That's why you need to learn this course. All basic concepts are covered, SQL, primary key, etc. Even if you don't use Python, databases are still of most importance.

By Edward F

May 31, 2017

I took the Python Specialization, which included this course, so I'm going to provide the same review for each of the component courses.

I think this is an excellent course for beginning programmers. Python is a great language for someone starting out - easy to learn - with a lot of power available for more advanced projects (e.g., machine learning).

But, most of all, you have to love Dr. Serverance. I can't think of a more entertaining and enjoyable person to teach programming. Thanks, Dr. Chuck.

By Nestor R

Jan 13, 2016

As having completed all coursers of introduction to python environment, I can fully recommend this series of courses to anyone interested in learning how to program. Is it not an impossible task, just a little time and commitment. Thanks to Dr. Chuck, he is the best teacher and he really knows how to lay these subjects in an easy and understandable way. I hope in the future there will be more courses like these to become a better programmer and student and to learn new and interesting things.

By Mustafa K

Jun 03, 2017

I had a basic knowledge on SQL and database. This course gave me opportunity to use these skills in a programming language Python. Course provides not only dealing with SQL but also other web data exchange tools such as xml and json. As all you know from former courses, Dr. Chuck makes a great job and keep everything simple by giving key points and ideas to students and encouraging them to explore more of it. Thanks a lot for this great course series and highly recommend to anyone.

By JieZhang

Mar 05, 2020

Overall good. However, I often feel incomprehensible during the lecture. Teachers often mention things that have not been taught before. And I have no foundation in computers, which leads me to not understand what the teacher is saying. There are too many codes that have not been taught in the code examples. Although I can roughly understand what those functions are, I can't clearly understand the meaning of each line in a program, which makes me feel frustrated and confused.

By Vadim Y

Feb 21, 2016

As with the previous courses in this series, this class is excellent. It builds on what what was discussed in the preceding courses and combines it all to show students how it all comes together to create practical applications. Not only that, but you will learn about how databases work as well as best practices for building databases. Charles Severance has a way of making seemingly complex concepts very simple to understand. One of my favorite instructors thus far.

By Joseph D

Jan 28, 2016

These courses, taught by the well spoken Professor Severance, is fantastic for beginners in the Python language. I feel like I've learned more from these than any book I just picked up and started reading. Charles Severance not only explains how to work with Python but the full spectrum of W's(who, what, when, why).

I'd recommend signing up for this if you are interested in Python. In fact, I've touted its usefulness to quite a few people in conversation.

By Alexander P

Mar 05, 2016

This course does an excellent job of blending a basic introduction to relational databases and SQLite with some important tools in Python. Folks comfortable with SQL can probably skip most of the lecture in weeks 2 and 3, as the content is focused on learning SQL and using the SQLite browser as opposed to using Python with these tools. This was a great way to bring together the fundamentals from the first three courses in this specialization.

By Anastasia K

Jun 30, 2020

Since I have informed my family that I started with Python and ohhhh I will be finally programming, they kept saying "yeah that's cool but you also should learn to treat databases". I was like "what are databases? why databases?"

And after this course I will definetely go further for them! SQlight is so convenient and cool!

I like Dr Chuck's style of teaching very much and always follow him. This course is worth the highest grade ever!

By Mykhailo K

Feb 28, 2020

Great course to make students familiar with databases fundamentals, data retrieving from API and data mining concepts. Prof. Severance excellent teacher and tells about history of information technologies and about databases fundamentals in that way to interest the students.

For me it was a little bit easy class, because I'm already familiar with the databases, but the rest of the course was new for me, useful and very interesting.

By Mladen R

Dec 26, 2016

This course gives a great introduction to SQL and how it can be used inside of Python for communicating with Databases. The pace is good and the exercises are explained well, though the quizzes can be a bit more difficult. Final exercise was good, but I think it can be more challenging by giving less suggestions how to do something and by giving more independence to students. Overall, the course was awesome and I learned a lot.

By Yash B

Oct 15, 2016

This course is as awesome as the other ones in the series. I love the way things from all the courses(SQL, accessing data from web API's etc.) merges together in the end. This course complements the others and the series as a whole teaches one enough to develop some useful programs.

I wish there were more of coding exercises rather than just code completion. Overall, a great learning experience with Dr. Chuck, the Pythonista.

By Juan J C

Mar 03, 2016

The final course in the amazing Python for Everybody Specialization by UMich and Dr. Charles Severance. Really glad I took part in these series, which improved my skills in Python programming. Real hands-on approach to show the basic and essential concepts about how to interface with databases using as a tool the embedded sqlite, how to correctly define normalized tables, and how to implement important design patterns.

By Andres F A H

Oct 31, 2016

The course is amazing, the professor gives you right examples an amount of information for understanding the topics. After you finish the course you are not an expert but you have the right concepts and knowledge for developing your projects. Furthermore, the additional material (interviews) are pretty interesting. I audit the course but I did all the homework, you must do the homework to really understand the topics.

By Kaloyan A

Aug 10, 2019

I definitely recommend this course! It advances one's knowledge not only in Python - which is the purpose of the whole specialization - but also in domains such as databases, data management systems, and pretty much all the basic knowledge one needs to obtain basic understanding of a company/product data infrastructure. It' a must-take! And of course, as usual, Dr. Chuck makes the whole experience a true enjoyment.

By Brett S

Sep 26, 2018

This course provided an thorough conceptual introduction to Databases, their basic structure and function, and insight into how they can be incorporated into practical applications. A few of the problems were challenging, but worth while once the solutions became apparent. If you have already completed the first three courses in the series i would advise you give this an effort. It should prove to be beneficial.