Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
21,228 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material

(143 Reviews)

Top rated instructor

(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

Jan 13, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 3,204 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Jindrich C

Apr 30, 2016

There is no other option but to give "5 stars" to dr. Chuck's db's & python. Glad I could participate at. A highly recommended for everyone wishing to receive some insight into sql-like db's from pythonic perspective. Funny and insightful - just perfect.

By Jorge E P C

May 4, 2020

The course is amazing because it allows to the students to get to know more about SQL, the level of importance of the language, and also how it is related to python in order to retrieve the data from a website in a database and some other cool features!

By Dimitrius S

Sep 5, 2017

Great instructor, very clear on his statements and it was great to have the most important functions reinforced during the lessons. the course gives all the fundamentals you'll need to keep learning and build your own applications using Python and SQL.

By Florian P

Apr 16, 2020

Dr. Chuck is a treat to listen to! I learned a lot and felt reasonably challenged (this might also be because I took this course without knowing that it was the last in a serires of courses).

It was a lot of fun! Thank you very much for the experience!

By Salahuddin K

Jun 11, 2023

Thanks you SIR, Charles Sevarance

Indeed The depth knowldge is really remarkable. So easily you cleared the concepts on different aspects just as playing soccor.

I wish, one day I meet personally to say THANKS.

Yours Student (A proud for me)

Salah ud din

By Oscar A

Feb 6, 2021

Muy buen curso para aprender las bases de la creación de un modelo de datos para consultas con SQL y enlazarlo con Python. Incluso encontré explicaciones que no me habían dado en una completa especialización de SQL que había tomado. Súper recomendado.

By Karthikeyan G

Dec 26, 2017

Excellent teaching by Dr.Chuck once again and thoroughly enjoyed taking this course.

Good support from teaching staff in the forums too.

Suggest that the assignments(especially the final one in visualization be bit more tough than what it is right now).

By Vladimír N

Oct 19, 2023

As always from this Instructor. Well described material from lecture at very detailed level. Lots of code examples available, lots of exercises. And lots of bonus material to get more insight about history that is in relation with lecture material.

By Mohamed R E

Jul 17, 2023

The course was really interesting and engaging, it covered the topics very well and I gained strong knowledge about databases in python from it, I would highly recommend it for anyone who is interested in databases with Python, Thank you Coursera!

By Thommes T

Jan 10, 2019

I had some experience with SQL from many years ago and a little practice in php for web programming. Even without this knowledge from before I think that this course gives a good introduction into working with databases with Python. I enjoyed it.

By Jarrod J

May 31, 2017

This class was great for starting down the road to use Python for true processing of data, particularly for populating databases with data scraped from the web/similar sources. Looking forward to applying what I have learned to my day-to-day life!

By David B

Dec 26, 2015

The course completes the series and does it well. I work for one of the RDBMS vendors, so I've been around SQL for a long time, and this course does an excellent job at the basics, plus how to use python along with the basics. Highly recommended.

By Tahereh A

Feb 14, 2024

This course simplified complex concepts and enhanced my understanding through practical exercises. It covered basic to advanced topics like data visualization and as a result boosted my confidence in working with databases. I highly recommend it.

By Roengrut R

Dec 8, 2022

This is an awesome course. !! I have learned a lot from this course. Dr. Chuck's teaching style and explanations are super great and very interesting. I have had a lot of fun learning and working on assignments. Highly recommended to everyone !!!

By Jerry E B J

Mar 24, 2016

I enjoyed the lectures, and the overall focus on understanding the information, not such rigidity in structure of class, testing, time limits. This seems to be a better innovative freedom based way of learning that I seem to learn better within.

By Marco H

Jun 9, 2019

Some of the assignments were a little easy (usually just do a small modification of the provided code), but I think I still learnt enough to get started with using databases . The presenter is engaging enough and explains concepts very clearly.

By Prince Y

Feb 25, 2017

Enjoyed every lecture. Dr. Chuck does an excellent job in explaining the concepts covered. Not too challenging assignments were also key. The bonus videos are very inspiring to see all those really smart yet humble people talk about their work.

By trashant r

Nov 29, 2019

This course has added to my knowledge of python, how to use database SQLite in particular, SQL commands, processing and data visualization. Thank You, Dr. Chuck Severance, for this beautiful course. Looking forward to completing the Capstone.

By Max B

Jan 21, 2019

Another great course from Dr. Chuck. Have you ever wondered how to read data and build databases using Python? Then this course is for you. Easy to follow along, good lectures and material and (quite) easy but good assignments. Two thumbs up!

By Matthew C

Sep 24, 2016

Fantastic course! Thank you so much to Dr Chuck, you have done a great job of creating this course, and making it accessible, educational and entertaining at the same time!

Thank you s much and I do hope you go on to make more courses

Thank you

By NoneLand

Nov 12, 2017

An introduction for database concept, but only a introduction. The sparking point is the use of python to manipulate the database, in detail sqlite. Thanks Chuck for this wonderful course, making me think that database is not that difficult.

By Prasanth T

May 16, 2017

Very useful course in the process of learning Python & Databases with Python. Learnt about lot of cool stuff such as OOP, Classes and Objects, Inheritance data bases, SQLite, Database Modeling, Relational Database and Using Google Maps API.

By Daniel T

Aug 11, 2016

This course cut away a bit from the Python-only track and ventured into beginner SQL territory, which was an excellent choice. In this course the pieces really started to come together. I was expecting a bit more difficult exercises, though!

By Corey M

Aug 14, 2023

This was a good course, not too easy not too hard. Very fast paced, and many concepts introduced in this course. Very informative and has fairly good structure in the way the information is communicated. You learn things in a logical order.

By Rishi K B

May 26, 2016

Professor Chuck have continued his brilliant course series right up to the final lecture, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The lessons and assignments were one of the best. Thanks for making this journey so incredible. On to the capstone now ... !!